Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 07 : Potato-Leek Soup - rustic, hearty, vegan

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

I'm finally getting a second entry in for the week! Two days ago, I made leek pakora. When it was announced that this week's theme ingredient was leeks, the first thing I though of was a creamy potato-leek soup. I mean, it's a no-brainer, right? And that's partly why I went with the pakora instead. But I had leeks leftover, and I do love soup. So how can I distinguish a leek soup from the norm? By not blending half of it...

IMG_7772.JPG

I was thinking about this vision of a rustic leek soup and what would go along well. I decided to embellish it with chunks of vegan sausage and rough-cut croutons of pumpernickel. So I gathered my stuff:

IMG_7766.JPG

I made the vegetable stock two days ago in anticipation of this meal. I wanted a good chunk of leftovers after feeding three of us, so I used about seven cups of stock, three leeks (cut lengthwise and then into relatively large chunks), two carrots (peeled and thick-sliced), 1.5 lbs of tiny potatoes (the smallest few left whole, otherwise cut down to an inch or so), some garlic, salt and oil.

You start a soup like this by sweating the leeks and garlic in oil. I'd normally use butter, but since I was using vegan sausage, I decided to make the whole dish vegan. So I used olive oil and sesame oil in about a 3:1 ratio. Once the leeks were limp, I added the carrots and potato, stirred it up.

IMG_7768.JPG

After a minute or two, I poured in the stock and some salt and brought it up to the boil. The potatoes took a little over ten minutes of simmering to soften up. While that was happening, I fried the sausage in a skillet with some peanut oil:

IMG_7769.JPG

After letting the sausage sit on a paper towel for a few minutes, I added it to the soup at the very end of the cooking, turned off the heat, gave it a stir and let it sit for a few more minutes. At that point it was ready. I served it in bowls and topped it with croutons of pumpernickel bread in olive oil and smoked paprika.

IMG_7773.JPG

IMG_7776.JPG

IMG_7774.JPG

It was a great soup. But bear in mind the stock I used was already seasoned and quite peppery. So if you were using canned stock, you'd want to season the final soup more than I needed to.

Sort:  

looks so good!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 20:48:41
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 109.75/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

looks lovely !

Very nice soup

@Clweeks in force with the Leeks theme! Sounds lovely btw!
That dash of sesame oil must really do some wonders in this amazing rustic vegan soup my friend! So happy that you did not go with the usual creamy soup made with leek and potatoes!