You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nasty individual on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I am sooo tired of this kind of crap here on steemit and I am a newbie here! Is there no other way than flagging them and having them retaliate to get them off our platform? These types just get worse...

Sort:  

Apparently it's free speech I've been told, quite disapointing.

Yeah everyone seems to have a different opinion about people who spend their time trolling here. At least that's what I'd call it (trolling). I had a brief run in with the individual in question in your original post and it seems like that person is merely trying to piss people off, which I consider trolling. I think it has no place here but there will always be people who defend this type of behavior.

I posted something yesterday about flagging vs trying to educate new users and I was called a bully by one person in a kind of roundabout way. This despite the fact that most of the post was about how it's better to try and explain to a person what they are doing and how it endangers their reputation bc if a bigger fish comes and flags them their reputation will suffer (so I'm trying to be HELPFUL). I don't think the person who left the comment understands the expected etiquette here so I checked the user profile and sure enough its a brand new user with one blog post thus far.

I think some ppl don't understand that we're not The ones who make rules here and there are no formal rules except what experienced users / people with a lot of voting power expect to be common practice / etiquette.

We're just trying to make this a platform a more civilized place by trying to prevent personal attacks. But some people consider that to be offensive / abusive and say that we are violating the rights of people who's sole intent is to hurt others and make people angry.

I'd like for this to be a civilized place to engage and communicate with other people but unfortunately there will always be those whose sole purpose in life seems to be to make others feel bad about themselves. And there will always be people who defend that type of behavior as well. Hopefully the accounts with a lot of voting power who make it their mission to patrol the platform will get around to all the trolls.

I tried explaining that most of us on Steemit joined for the community and the escape from the mindless hurtful trolling on other social media sites and Steemit is a platform I love and I never want it to slip into the drivel you see elsewhere.

I'm not trying to censor anyones free speech but I do feel abusive behaviour and needless nastiness should be discouraged, as I tried explaining to him if he presented his content in a non abusive manner I would probably be following him now but all I got from him was name calling, abuse and slander so I have no time for that kind of rubbish I wasn't the first person to flag him and I wont be the last.

Yeah if the people who are screaming "censorship" had some troll following them around and harassing them for no good reason they may think of it a little bit differently. I like that people are, for the most part, intelligent and civil here. Hopefully that won't change too much.

I've used all of one flag out of the hundreds of votes I've cast since I've been here. And it was due to needless nastiness like you've experienced.

His time on steemit is literally being spent trying to find content he knows will piss people off, that is trolling.

Oh I know. I look at it from time to time just to see if his reputation is still above 25. Surprisingly it is.

I don't get why people do that other than they're miserable human beings and they want others to feel bad too.

I'm not engaging with him anymore, I suspect he's a kid possibly because he sounds like an angry teenager. Adults don't start a converstation insults and end it with "go kill yourself you piece of shit" he seems to just try to insult anyone who doesn't agree with his opinion.

Free speech doesn't have to be full of hatred or filthy. There other ways to express oneself...

Yes you are speaking of civilization. The most important part of civilization is it must be civil. Without some rules we would tear each other apart as a species.

The problem with completely free speech allowed to go on unchecked is that humans never stop at a happy medium, hurtful speech progresses to hurtful actions, hurtful actions lead to violent actions and so on.

I am afraid so...

There is a mute button but they would rather try to bully people into not posting stuff they dont like by crying victim.