The future of the Steem and Steemit: a question that needs to be addressed now (My fears)

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello friends. The question of the future of the steem and the steemit is a topic that must be solved now. Although I'm a beginner here, but many reasons make me worried. Now I will share with you my fears.

  • The first fear is the "overpopulation" of the steemit because of the thirst for easy money. Every day thousands of new users are registered, many - in order to earn. But, probably, 99% of them will never earn serious money here, without the notion that a steemit needs quality content, that the community here is more than choosy - do not earn it. Yes, I did not receive big rewards myself, but I do not have such a goal. I like the community of the experience, its responsiveness to my records and to my work (@bot-helper). I like it here.
  • The second thing that makes me worry is the big gap between the whales of the community and the newcomers. Yes, HF19 has very much corrected this situation, but still the gap is even more than huge.
  • The third item on my list is the quality of the content. In just a month of my presence here in the tape, more and more just came across a photo, obviously not the author of the recording, funny pictures and other similar things. When I recognized Steemit, everything was more serious.
  • One more, the fourth item is fast-growing automatic robots. And no, I'm not talking about robots like my @bot-helper and similar to him. I'm talking about robots that go for users and vote for their actions, making profit to them and taking it away from others. It turns out the usual business of making money.

These are the thoughts that I have today. I apologize if they are slightly incoherent - but when in a tape of 50 entries only 2 with normal content - it really makes me sad. If you have an opinion on this or how you can improve the situation - write in the comments. Have a nice day!

the_fears_series__fear_of_madness_by_jasminenightshade-d4suump.jpg
Image source

Sort:  

plagiarism is bad here I have notice, with people adding images not their own and not crediting where they have found it or straight up articles. I unfollowed someone yesterday (the first one, so far for that reason, and will again for that reason when I see it) At the top of the post there is a flag that you can hit to report plagiarism. If more people who are taking the time to write original content and citing their sources went ahead and flag it too, maybe that can help Steemit improve in that area.

LOL Btw I found this article because of a bot resteemed it. lol

Resteem I made by hand so that as many people as possible leave feedback here.
In occasion of a flag - a disputable question. For me, this is an extreme measure.

I haven't flagged anything yet, being new I am afraid if I do I won't get views. But I wanted to flag it. I won't lie, I work hard thinking up original things to post and it feels like cheating to copy and paste, specially when they are not giving credit.

there are many people behind this who are working tirelessly and making it a great platform dont worry

You know, not everything can be foreseen. That's what worries me. I'm afraid that Steemit is not a third-rate site

Looks like they're being outnumbered by shit posters and please upvote me commenters

it will be underpopulated as neebies get frustrated with the jargon and nuances.

Is really over-population a major issue or how to decipher an original content creation?

As you already hinted at and many commentators rightly pointed out the problem is users posting pictures/videos/articles that is not their own original content. Now if someone shares a vid/pic with some sort of qualified explanation why this might be useful to others and credits/links the original source fine.

All others instant delete, at least in those cases where you can be 100% sure that it's not original. It spams the entire entry list. At the beginning I was really thinking about how to credit images I used (probably less than 1% of my posts contain an image/video that's not my own and that is usually for a reason) and then I realized no one seems to give a shit and worse it gets resteemed/upvoted.

Serious issue here no doubt! Thanks for highlighting this!

You now got my vote which seems to be worth more than yesterday :).