Why Do I Upvote Good Comments and Reply to Each Comment?

in #steemit7 years ago

In my 2 months of the beautiful Steemit journey, no Steemian has commented on my posts without receiving a suitable reply. Comments from bots like @steemitboard are an exception. I not only reply but also make an effort to continue the discussion as long as it can go.

image

There's a sense of human connection when someone takes out time to comment on my posts. I really appreciate that effort and find a way to reward that effort.

If it's just a comment, I will certainly reply to it. But if it is a wonderfully crafted comment which adds value to the discussion in the post, I must upvote it with 100 % power.

I think it is important to reward efforts of others. Think of it in your own terms. When you create a good post, don't you want to get rewarded through good upvotes? In my opinion, well crafted comments take both reading and writing. Therefore, they must be rewarded.

It is my normal practice that I upvote good comments wherever I find them; on anyone's post. However, it is easiest for me to have access to the comments on my posts. That's why I reply to each comment and look for the most valuable to give my upvote as well.

It may be a small contribution from my side to the author of comments but I love the interaction and wish to reward it. Minding the fact that I regularly used to get more than a hundred comments on my posts, replying to every comment becomes hectic.

But I still do it because it matters to me.

If you leave a comment, you will get a reply. If the comment is valuable, you'll get an upvote too. That's my way of encouraging the most important part of Steemit community; the interaction.

resteem, upvote, follow

Sort:  

You lay the foundation and we all build upon it to create a great community.
I enjoy the give and take of learning about each other.

I think give and take comes naturally. Most of the times, the people who get the most are the people who are looking for nothing. They just enjoy doing what they like to do.

Learning is no

My first comment is about where you are and those rocks. Is this an ancient ruin? I'm interested in them and megaliths and it seems like those rocks would not have gotten there by themselves.

It looks like a very nice peaceful scene you find yourself in. I'm in Bangkok and we don't have that here. It's all city all the time :)

Second, I'm new for about 7 weeks and still trying to understand the place. I have been posting a few times a week and commenting many times per day. I'm really stunned by how few replies I get from all that commenting but I'm still doing it.

Today a post told me to upvote my own comments at times, but did not say why. So I am upvoting my comment and your post. Any advice you can give, I will gratefully receive.

The answer to your first question is in this post. Malam Jabba is a beautiful place in Swat, Pakistan. I was on the way to Malam Jabba when we stopped. This picture is from that stop.

What I can advise you is to keep posting regularly and keep commenting despite the lack of replies. To make the efforts more fruitful, follow good people who care and talk back. There are plenty.

Upvoting on your own comments is not advisable as per my opinion. However, comments with more upvotes (rewards) are shown above other comments. It means more visibility and a better chance to be seen and replied.

Your progress for 7 weeks is great. Keep going. I'm sure this all in one guide will help you.

Thank you so much for the advice, the compliment, and especially the guide. It's just a bit overwhelming here for me, so I will read and pay attention. I stopped upvoting my comments after I posted here. I want those votes for the posts I visit!

I will definitely keep on with those who reply. I have made some good friends here in just this short time and that means a lot to me. I'm actually meeting someone in person tomorrow as he is passing through Bangkok. This is a first for me in all my years of social media! I have tried to meet with people before but it has never worked out.

It seems like I am in a good place even if I am often confused. Thank you again :)

Very good article! A community lives from communication. I also enjoy the helpful comments I receive as I am definitely not a computer or crypto wizard.

Thanks a lot @kathill. I agree. A community can thrive only if there is enough communication. My idea of replying and upvoting promotes healthy communication on Steemit and I too love when

This is the spirit of steemit I signed up for - It's always far more valuable for me to receive a well thought out comment than a 'nice post' vote fishing blurb, especially if I know it'll take a few minutes to properly read its content, and the post has been up for 5 seconds. Keep steemin - the way I like ;)

Thanks a lot for your amazing comment. My natural reaction after reading good content is to share my thoughts in form of a detailed comment.

When I receive a good comment, I really like it. Short comments seem like a burden which was unburdened by a person on my post.

Steem on!

And thank you, sir, for responding to my comment :)

Getting upvotes is great, but getting comments is even more awesome - I agree with you, I try to reply to all comments as well. Good reminder, thanks!

Thanks @marty-art. Receiving comments brings such a great feeling. It makes us connected to other people. Comments and posts are the only form of human interaction on Steemit in terms of words because

because... it can be an awesome platform? :)
Thanks, cheers!

Haha. Don't know where the words went. Thanks for completing the sentence.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilyastarar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

it takes time write something .you are right one should be appreciated. keep on working 1 day you will be appreciated.

Thanks a lot for your comment.

Good philosophy. Nothing like speaking into the void and getting a response.

Thanks for your comment. I like it when I get a reply so

Yeah - good on you. Key word is engagement and quality.

Mirrors my sentiment in this post - not the usual 500 Followers Announcement.

Defo on the right track!

Thanks a lot robocop. 😜

I will check your post out soon.

Thanks :)

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Yeah, you always respond in a nicer way! Upvoted

Congratulations @ilyastarar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i would like to say you are man of principles. Your practices are very useful for steemit community. I have learned a lot of things from you & still my journey is going on !

Thanks a lot for your feedback.

Great one.. Keep it up dude.

I realize this is a old post, but having been here only 9 days and trying to learn I agree. So far I reply to every comment on my blog. I am a people person online and offline. Its nice to show respect by acknowledging people that took time to shout us out or comment.

That's very nice, I wonder if u're still gonna see this comment an reply it :p

How do you find new comments on multiple article to reply to them? I haven't seen such feature on Steemit.

I still watch and reply at times but quarterly I guess. :D
You can find others' comments under Replies tab.