My Job as a Steemit Blogger and Addict (WARNING: Heavy Steemit Use Inside)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

rx-steemit470cd.png

I don't work a 9-5 steady job, with an assured income. I don't freelance for an agreed upon payment either.

I don't work a traditional job.

I Steemit.

We all have to survive, we all have to do something.

We have economic survivability. That itself isn't bad. It affords us freedom from having to do everything ourselves. We can get more done together if we distribute labor, master skills and "share" through economic exchange. But it's coupled with codependency forced upon us, as we do not have the option to own free land, so economic survivability is not an option, but a requirement.

I write and create content that may or may not grab someone's attention, and give them something to think about in life. I used to create unique high quality content for free on my own blog.

Then Steemit came into my life...

love-steemit40c68.png

Some people get disillusioned and maybe feel disenfranchised at how Steemit works compared to their expectations.

And some people get ADDICTED to Steemit!

And some of us try to become a success, and help Steemit become a success in turn.

Sometimes you get a good post return, where the value reward goes up. While other times, the value reward is not there.

It's often hit and miss, and there is no set formula for information people are interested in each new day.

Sorry for the upcoming low quality images of my "screenshots", they aren't real screenshots. I got carried away in taking pictures with my phone and didn't take actual screenshots instead. :P


The day breaks, or not yet for the sun... but... something is stirring in the darkness, it's... it's... it's a @krnel!

This is a picture of what it looks like when I wake up:

krnel-wakeupe7e8f.jpg

So I get up at around 5:30am to 6:30am. It's still dark.

krnel-timeaaaa9.jpg

On the computer goes.

krnel-powerup8af37.jpg

Checking outside, still dark as if it was night. Though, the sun is slightly peaking behind the horizon.

krnel-outsideded45.jpg

Then I start.

Open steemit.com, go upvote from the last 20-40 followed posts, posted the night before. Read any replies to posts, reply myself.

krnel-notif7ed61.jpg

And then it's time to get writing.

Yes, I write everything in Notepad++. I'm that high tech :P

krnel-writingcf3c1.jpg

Here I am making an image for my post TIL about the Christmas Truce - Proof Most People Don't Want War and the Real Spirit of Humanity:

krnel-imageb50cf.jpg

Finish writing before it's time to post, or maybe already have a post ready ahead of time. Otherwise, keep writing until it's done and get it out ASAP! LOL.

krnel-posted8ee93.jpg

And then I repeat writing more things throughout the day, working on multiple ideas and write-ups during the day. Some things get put off and I come back to them days or weeks later. I can be posting something fresh I wrote up that day, the previous day, or older.

Of course in between I eat breakfast, lunch, etc... but all I can see is Steemit everywhere...

steemit-breakfast070fd.jpg

Still later in the day... all I see is Steemit!

steemit-lunch9239b.jpg

My Steemit addiction has me hallucinating Steemit everywhere!


Steemit is life!

Read, think and write. Repeat. Write my posts. Read other posts. Read comments. Write comments.

That's the my job on Steemit. And that's my life as a Steemit addict :D

I was doing curating of all new/created posts from the past 24h, and I started a coding project (SteemKURE), but I've really gotten into writing more lately.

Steemit Blogging as a Job

Don't think Steemit is a dreamy breeze to make money.

The pay isn't constant.

There are no guarantees.

You will start off with nothing, and work to get attention for your content and get recognized.

It demands time, effort, energy, dedication, determination and persistence to make a mark (I have no previous following or popularity).

If you have learned things about life, or can write, then you can eventually succeed on Steemit, that's almost a guarantee. It depends on you, largely, to at first create content.

Each person is different, and that applies both to content creators, and to those who upvote and generate the rewards for your content.

There is no magic formula that I have found. Upvotes and rewards are not constant.

This is not a day-job where you get a guaranteed paycheck for doing certain tasks.

Although some people have success on Steemit early, they usually are already popular in some capacity.

You likely have to work hard, and probably harder than a regular job. I do. A regular job is 9-5ish. I end up being on Steemit from morning 'till night, unlike a 9-5 job :P Writing 3-4 posts each day takes a lot of time and work.

But you have more independence and self-determination in your day. You can write in the morning, afternoon, evening or at night, or all the time.

It's up to you to manage what you create as content.

There is no boss telling you what to do for you to get paid. You have to figure it all out on your own.

Before you quit your job to make money on Steemit, make sure you know you have quality content to share with people. I knew I did. I've been learning for 10 years, and sharing knowledge on my sites for 3 years. I know the value of the content I create, even if other people don't. If you don't know the value of your content, or that you can even create content, then please asses your skills before making life-changing decisions.

It's possible you put in time, energy, effort, and output quality content, but no one cares, at least for a short while. Eventually you get recognized, if you have the quality or skills. Or knowing the power players (SP "whales") can get you high rewards no matter what you post... LOL.


That's my story, and I'm sticking to it!

I hope you enjoyed a sneak-peak into my life ;)

Here is my computer, my "work-station", my life, etc. :P

krnel-setup5d4c9.jpg

P.S. Those are vitamins and minerals. You can see B and C labels for those vitamins... hehe. Some I don't take often but they stay there and take up space...


Thank you for your time and attention! I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Take care. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:

Upvoting, Sharing, and Resteeming below.

Follow me for more content to come!


@krnel
2016-12-11, 9:25am

Sort:  

You get it!

The people who are puzzled about why they are not earning from their writing don't.

This is proving to be an awesome platform and those who get it and its potential will be here in the future, still Steeming it!

More power to your elbow ;)

This definitely resonates on pretty much ALL levels of a Steemit addict. Yes, I may need an intervention as I've literally forgotten to eat while curating and writing for Steemit! And... I was just offered a PT job (15-20 hours a week) and in the back of my head I'm thinking.... but....STEEMIT! LOL Yes, I may need an intervention.

LOL. Yeah take the job. Steady money, and you can still do Steemit the other part time. I was not working anyways, so Steemit is a better use of my time... just maybe... too much lol.

can i ask why you were not working?

I chose not to while I had money to live. Was studying Cisco CCNA certs and did one exam to go back to work, but then I landed upon Steemit and pushed that off.

Your comment on my post made me check you out. I love this blogpost, it's very inspiring and it feeds my Steemit thirst to learn. Thank you. Upvoted and resteemed!

Hahah! Awesome, thanks for the feedback!

You're welcome!

I totally understand and identify with this post. I've been making my living from the Internet since 2008 and it's absolutely the best decision I ever made.

I worked in the hospitality & travel/tourism industries for twenty years until I got kicked to the curb like a piece of trash in 2008 just because the company decided to "save money and eliminate my position."

I decided right then and there that I would NEVER again work for anyone else besides myself. It can be tough sometimes when business is slow, but I'll take it over working for someone else any day.

I don't want to insult anyone, but anyone who works their ass off to make another person rich is just plain foolish. If you are going to bust your ass, make it for your own benefit.

Yup to corps we're just numbers in the end... hehe. Thanks for the feedback.

Truly inspiring. In fact you and I are pretty much in the same boat. I am working like 99% on steemit and 1% elsewhere and I'm sure it will be totally Steemit soon. I hope innumerable people are able to do this in the coming times.

You have motivated me to write my own daily routine. Cheers :)

Thanks for another insightful post.
Which made me think, you have so many top-quality posts, can every of them still be upvoted and therefore generate more income over the coming years?
If so, as you have a lot of unique but also a bunch of very broad topics which might get more people to look into and upvote in the coming years. This could generate more Steem than you earned the last weeks / months with it.

"Which made me think, you have so many top-quality posts, can every of them still be upvoted and therefore generate more income over the coming years?"

No, and that's a HUGE flaw in steemit.

Totally agree. This should give the writer real attraction to write top quality but not what is "trend" but also what is googled often, of broad interest, creative or inventive.

Great post. Really hits at the reality of working from home. If you're not a self-starter, better keep the regular old 9-5 job. But, if you're into taking control of your life and willing to take responsibility for yourself, then work the internet for all it is worth! Steem on, @krnel.

hehe yup! Thanks for the feedback :)

Very encouraging! I respect your work ethic. That's hard to pull off in your own sometimes. I'm lucky if I can get out out 1 to 2 posts a week. But for me that's fine. I'm lucky in that i found a job I like and hobbies I like so if my output is low...enh

One of my favorite moments on Steemit is reading your articles. Thanks Kris

:D LOL Thanks for the feedback

This is awesome, especially bc i'm trying to use Steemit as the core of my own econ/finance blogging. What i've been doing with twitter for the last few years I'm expanding on here. I used to run my own libertarian blog about a decade ago, but the payouts were horrible compared to Steemit, and i like this tech much better overall anyway. I guess the key is consistency, integration with other platforms to draw in the audiences i've build elsewhere, and ultimately growing the audience on here. It's exhausting, but a ton of fun!

Hehe, yup, lots of work but fun. Good luck!

I appreciate the insight into what it takes to make it work for you.

"Of course in between I eat breakfast, lunch, etc... "

Haha, loved that line!

Haha, thanks. I tried to make it a funny post :D

gostei de sua postagem

Are those nootropics you have next to your computer or prescribed meds?

Vitamins and minerals. Don't know what nootropics are... lol

Too much of a good thing can be a bad thing. Someone said that once. I like to keep it simple, one post per day and some curation is enough. I don't want to grind too much.

STEEMON!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

this was very informative and interesting! I like knowing the details behind the people! So, you write 3-4 per day now? That is impressive.

@krnel is living the dream!
go for it! : )

Haha. It's more what I want to do, than going back to a regular job. I was putting out info before, for free, as my real job and passion in life.

You'll end up being an inspiration for some steemians, I guess.
I wish you all the best. I totally support your decision.