To stay or not to stay on Steemit. I'm an oldskool person and I have some doubts!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow bloggers! Since I returned home from vacation I've spent a lot of time on Steemit. But I'm not convinced I should continue blogging here. Of course, the idea of earning money by writing whatever I like and whenever I feel like it, is... like a dream come true. But... I don't feel happy after spending several hours reading and writing on this platform. I feel like I'm being tricked into something. Like I will become addicted. Just like I was addicted to my iPhone. I wasted so much time on Instagram, Vine, Vimeo, Facebook, WhatsApp and so on! I don't know about you, but I don't have the self control to limit the use of this great gadget so... I went cold turkey and got rid of it.

Oldskool.jpg

But I still feel I waste too much time on the internet. Of course I don't want to get rid of my computer and I don't want to quit using the internet, but... why is it so hard to limit it to, let's say, two hours a day? I want to read books and newspapers, I want to hike an hour a day, I want to go to an art show at least once a week, I want to go to the Zoo once a week, I want to visit friends in real life, I want to draw and paint and write, I have to clean my house and so on. Why is the internet so addictive?

Sort:  

Me too! I tend to forgot the things that I should do because I was too busy surfing the net. Huhu. But I believe you can overcome that ma'am! Do what you love to do and do what makes you happy, fighting! :)

I want to do what I love and become better at doing it. That means I have to put time and effort into it. On the internet you get quick and easy rewards ('likes', 'replies' and now 'money' which is even more tempting!). To become really good at something you have to work hard and not let yourself be distracted by anything. That's the only way to become really happy in your work, I believe.

Yes very true indeed. Because if you really love what you do then, you'll surely put an effort in it. And if you are doing what you love, it'll also make you happy for sure. :)) Then you just have to find what you love to do and do it, I know you can. :) I'll be cheering on you. ^^

Thanks for this open-hearted post. I'm only here for a couple of days, but already encounter kind of the same mixed feelings. I'm gonna give it a try though, the next months. Invest in a real , genuine following and only post about the things I really care about. If this doesn't work then I'm gonna spend my time elsewhere. Good luck nevertheless!

People spend hours on other useless chatting sites speaking with imposters and catfish and they get absolutely nothing in return except for embarrassment and loneliness. Steemit is offereing handsome amount of something for your spent time, it's up to you how you make it count. As far as doing other things is concerned I think and it's just my suggestion. Do your daily activities and spend a few hours on Steem it before going to the bed, force yourself to take a day or two off every week from the internet so that you can do fun things in real life. Internet is addicting it's a proven fact but people still uses it and manage to get things done. :)

You are absolutely right @kissofearth I know I have to get a hold of myself!

same here. lots of $0.00's on my posts

I do know what you mean.

This site has become such a big distraction from all the other things I feel I should be doing.

But hey - it's not a waste of time if you enjoy the time you waste!!
:)