And The Fat Baby Screams

in #steemit5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--277845361.jpg

Last night for the seeming bajillionth time, I was approached in the discords.

Sadly, this time it wasn't a saucy Eastern European lady with flirty fingers.

Nah, it was just some dude who I vaguely recognised as having downvoted some days before.

There was little foreplay with this chap and it was straight to the main course, as described below.

Fannybadger: Hey, meesterboom. Why did you downvote me?

Me: hey chick. Nothing personal. It's because you used a bidbot. Which defeats the point of manual curation and ultimately affects the viability of the whole Steemit platform.

Fannybadger: What?? I'm not a fucking chick, man. I'm a dude. And that's fucking bullshit man and you know it.

Me: I don't think it's bullshit.

Fannybadger: It is bullshit. You are the one killing the platform. Forcing people to leave.

At this point I had to presume Fannybadger was masturbating and was slightly delirious with the pudding pulling.

Me: I think more people left when bid-bots were in the ascendant.

To be honest I don't think I have ever said in the ascendant before but sometimes I like to bait people by being an arse.

Fannybadger: That's bullshit man and you know it.

Damn. The ascendant comment never really worked. I figured I would have to make more of an effort.

Me: I don't think it's bullshit.

Fannybadger: It's fucking bullshit. Why don't you downvote shit content with no effort put into it?

Me: I thought I was.

Fannybadger: What? What's that meant to mean?

Me: Quack.

Fannybadger: I use bid-bots so that curators don't get fucked over by the HF-21 changes

Me: Quack?

Fannybadger: and for promotion to help get more eyes on my posts

Me: Quack quack?

Fannybadger: asshole

Me: Quaack?

But the conversation seemed to be over. I can only presume that they had used me for sexual purposes and had ejaculated by this point.

I have had a fair few of these exchanges all of which are depressingly similar.

Which reminds me of a wise saying that I made up minutes ago and attributed to an ancient philosopher.

Pull away the tit and the fat baby screams.

Such wisdoms. :0D

Sort:  

I think it was actually Shakespeare who said those words.

As from the mouths of babes the tit does get pulled, out yelleth the voice of the deviled tongue.

If I am not mistaken, it was a scene from, The bidbot of Venice

Ah, the bidbot of Venice!! It was. He knew how to coin a phrase that man!! :OD

Thus far, I have had no contact from upset people in Discord, but as I'm trailing curangel with their 'reward pool balancing votes', I have received a couple of retaliatory DVs (20x the size) and been told to suck a dick. Charming bunch!

How charming of them! Do you think they went to finishing school? :0D

I get discord ones a lot. I think people think I am nicer than I am... Lol!

Boomy isn't nice? :O

Hopefully the remaining vote-sellers will give up soon and we can have a surge in price to cheer people up.

Nice to those I like! ;0)

I was hoping they would give up but I don't think some of them will. They must be losing piles of cash though!

Imagine a platform without them. I find the idea quite exciting!

It's tough to predict, i think there will always be some with STEEM to promote content without earning anything but eyes/DVs.

We live in hope!

Hope eternal!!

It will happen I'm sure of it and then moons andblambos and all manner of fun shit! :0D

I just want some bricks, in the shape of a small house :)

quack quack... haha!! I'll have to remember that one.., not had discord moaners... yet!

Once they pop, it seems like they can't stop!! In the past all of the discord DMs I got were good. Now they are drab and repetitive!

That is why I have been so busy as finding down votes takes time, but something we should all be doing. I can't believe all the crap we have to deal with these days as everyone expects you to be politically correct and crap and I am most certainly not.

Thats the position I find myself in too. People expect to be able to rage at you and call you names and if you do it back they scream and cry for their mothers!

Keep fighting the good fight!

I suspect the current abysmal market price of STEEM is a direct result of two primary factors, viz.

  1. Bid bots selling votes and then liquidating their gains for Bitcoin, and,

  2. Spam-happy losers buying votes so they could liquidate their gains for Bitcoin.

Nothing helps the platform more than downvoting spam, plagiarism, and bid bot abuse.

o7

I salute you, sir, and thank you for your service!

I completely agree with those two points. It is literally just being used as a cash machine by the bots and their customers which is why they are so pissed!

And I wondered why they were all big fat babies, makes so much sense!!

Tit-munchers! It does make do much sense in that context!!

Hi @meesterboom what's your why -upvote my post what's my wrong...?

Screenshot_2019-10-23-12-30-09.png

Bid bot usage

I will not use it. Please refund your downvote and support me on your valuable advice...?♥

If you don't use them in future then you won't get them on future posts.

If you don't use them
In future then you won't get
Them on future posts.

                 - meesterboom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

What can i do now. Tell me brother..?

Well you can't really get bidbot votes removed so I would just chalk it up to experience.

I use bid-bots so that curators don't get fucked over by the HF-21 changes

Huh!? How does that work?

Me: I thought I was.

BURN! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, the curator thing was a good excuse wasn't it!! They will genuinely say anything if they think it justifies their position!!

It would be an even better excuse if it made any sense! 😆 Curators have been better off since the last hardfork.

Posted using Partiko Android

They have indeed. That's the thing I hate the worst about the bot abusers is that they rarely know anything about the platform or what's happening!

Like @nosdos! He was a big abuser of bots for his pretend charity. But he got caught! Haha!

Saying that nosdos was no legit and honest project is a simple lie. Spreading these false information is just trolling. I was a supporter of their project and bought upvotes for them. I was in contact with some of the shelters they worked with.
If you had any information about this project you would have known that it was no "he" but a "she" and she ran the project with her clear name.
But people like you are the reason for Steem never going to be a success. Stakeholders playing god is out of interest for any kind of honest people. You can prove me wrong and show me official accounts on Steem from organisations. But those stay away from here because of that fact.

Why would someone so honest and true log on each day to steemit and downvote lots of people?

Doesn't add up.

Therefore I don't believe you

Also. At least have the honesty to answer from your real account and not an alt

I remember way back, and I am sure you do as well, when there were no bid bots. There were nio delegations and bid bots could not exist. I wonder if Dan had foreseen all this mess? I wonder how high the coin would be today if there were never any bid bots...

I remember that well. It was a vibrant place. Bid-bots have wrecked the place and no mistake. It annoys the hell out of me that they waited so long to do something about it.

I wish there was no ability to delegate. It's at the heart of the problem. In a side note, I think delegation might have been Dan's idea as I am pretty sure that Freedom is Dan's account and not the silent mystery partner they always claim!

No way really? Huh, I never thought about it could still be Dan's last string. Interesting.

I have to be honest and say, I am awaiting Voice. It pains me after all the hours of effort put in here. Regardless of all the many missteps by StInc, I think it was doomed fundamentally by being under capitalized. The fact that they had or chose to sell steem to fund operations doomed it from the get go it seems.

I think voice will be a damp squib personally. From the point of being a rival in a way to this place for earning.

Considering all the hype and then nothing. Not even a beta or anything and they couldn't decide if it was to be tradeable or anything. Sadly, I think Dan is too hung up on his personal animosity for Ned/Steemit and wants to be seen to kill it to appease his many rabid fans.

No business should start by saying they are going to kill the opposition then not produce anything. The word of as well that it would be yet another desktop affair. They have to think mobile or it will always be doomed.

Ooft, that's just my opinion though :0)

It certainly had a poor start and could have done with some business acumen in the room at times! I still have hope. It all depends on the cryptosphere. If it keeps taking everything crypto based except for bitcoin will die

Aloha!!!

I like a point of view a sharing!

I think that they did affect the viability of the platform because they increased the perception of Steemit from the outside as one big rigged stramash of a ponzi in which you had to hand over money to achieve anything.

Plus the fact that they werent really being used for promotion but in actuality were being used to buy cheap steem. Essentially, send me 1 steem and you will earn 1.2 back. The people that were the worst abusers of this were quite literally spending money on bots and constantly powering down to remove steem from the platform leaving only a little to pay for the next vote. It was kinda depressing to see.

Which brings me to number two.

I think that big stakeholders certainly didn't whilst there were easier ways to obtain their much vaunted ROI and that was to delegate all their stake to the bots. It was the easiest and surest way to get returns, however without the bots they will have to earn their returns somehow. Quite a few have turned their hands to curation and I think the rest will or follow a trail to do it which means that they will still be curating, in the third person sort of.

And on point 3 I know lots of people that left because once bid bots took a hold and the bigger stakes began delegating to them there weren't any rewards any more and it was demoralising and defeating to stay. We lost so many people over the last year or so it was depressing even for a chirpy chap like me.

All of the above I think were sending Steemit into a death spiral which is why I think such radical steps were/are having to be taken. Medicine don't always taste nice.

But this is only my humble opinion too.

Oops sorry!! I thought I had but I was rambling a bit toward the end.

I think free flags/downvotes are good for the simple point that people use them now, where in the past it was literally seen as a "waste" of voting power. As in you could reward yourself or others with real magic internet money or you could use that voting power combatting spam. Most people chose to reward. Now with free downvotes people can downvote without wasting their VP. I know that it is the main reason I have been throwing them around because I dont have to worry about my VP dipping too low anymore. There is potential for malicious use of them but I like to think that me and a lot of people I know use them pretty much on bid bot activity and genuine spam.