I Unfollowed Twitter. You Should Too!

in #steemit7 years ago

So I was all set to write my 2 week update of all the things I have seen and learned so far on Steem. But it's been a busy day, and there hasn't been time to really sit down and write.

So I am just going to post a small part of my observations for now, and will be back with more tomorrow.

So yeah. I unfollowed Twitter.

This isn't Entirely true. I still have a twitter account. And I do still intend to check it daily. But I downsized. Really Really Downsized.

You see. It was a matter of simple math. When it comes right down to it, I was averaging 546 tweets in my feed per day that I was scrolling through.

Five Hundred and Forty Six!

And that's not even counting all of the Fantasy Football people I follow posting on Sunday in the Fall, where it probably jumps way over 1000.

These are 546 tweets by people I do not know, that rarely have much relevance in my life. And that I get no real benefit from reading them.

Meanwhile, on my new favorite place, I read posts from @soldier and @stellabelle about motivation and being a good person. I see art from @fishmon and stories from @morodiene and @negativer and all the folks at the fiction workshop.
I listen to @sircork and @crimsonclad on msp-waves.

And that's just the beginning.

Why do I need to read 546 meaningless 140 character tweets? When I can get much more meaningful content, real conversations, and get rewarded for doing it?

So I unfollowed about 2/3 of the accounts I follow on twitter. My expectation is that it will reduce my daily time suck from 546 to a hundred or so.

I highly recommend looking at twitter, and facebook, and doing a deep dive to see if you can live without seeing what so and so has to say on a daily basis. It is a freeing exercise, I promise!

unfollow.png

Thank you for checking out my post. Thank you to my 135 followers for joining me on this journey so far. Thank you to everyone who has read my posts and comments and interacted with me. I look forward to so much more.

If I can ask for one moment of your time. If you have a second and could go over to the below post, which is an "Add a paragraph" writing contest, and take a look at the entries and maybe consider voting for my entry. I an 3 votes behind the leader with a day to go. So support would be greatly appreciated. Certainly read the entries and vote your conscious. I don't ask for blind votes, but if you read my submission and enjoy it, I would love to have your vote!

See the post here: https://steemit.com/nextparagraph/@scottish01/writing-competition---nextparagraph--1502871762-7017367

My entry is hard to miss. It has a picture of Jeff Goldbloom's body with a raptor head on it.

Thanks again everyone! Have a great day!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mikepm74 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Like and follow :)

I don't have Twitter or Instagram but I do have Facebook. I feel the same way, therefore, I am thinking on downsizing my friends list in the near future. 😊

Facebook is my next stop. There are plenty of accounts I follow that I don't need on my timeline. I'll start looking at posts with a "is this account or person really important enough to me for me to spend time on?" If the answer is no, then the solution is simple. 🤔

Although i use twitter for news and current events i like the idea you shared... thanks men! Looking forward to revisit my tweeter as well.

Sure. It is a breaking news source. But when we are following 15 people in the same industry, reporting the same things, it becomes a time suck. It is time I feel like could be used better on ventures with more potential. Like Steem! 😁

I wrote an article a year ago called UnFuck Your Life. This is what you are doing :)

These Social Media Deep Cleanses are necessary!

I need to go find that post and give it a read! I was somewhat amazed at how quickly I went through my twitter feed today. It's still a habit I can't break right away, but I am following my kid's school, and my corporation's social accounts, things like that, rather than a bunch of nonsense.

Thanks for stopping in @arbitrarykitten! I appreciate it!

<wanders off to the search function for "unfuck your life">

Thank you hun! I wrote that for a magazine called the Stranger :) It's a regional Pacific Northwest publication. I will go thru and find it, it may not be online anymore, but I have the paper in my closet somewhere :)

I wanna read it too

I'm actually looking for the paper- I couldn't find it online, and I needed to rearrange some closets anyway ;)

lol, I recognise that problem, but I bet you I am worse.

I am a boy, after all, and now (since a long time ago really of course) I have no mother here picking up stuff after my pass, so there it stays

it's bad really, bad

I completely understand. I am the only female in my home.. actually, I don't understand. At all. But I get what you're saying ;)

I only just thought to search on that, and there are a lot of hits!

You searched for "unfuck your life"? hahaha I bet some of those were pretty amazing results. NSFW even!

actually there's a really tremendous blogger blog that I read heaps of posts on.

They were good too

shame it's not on Steemit

This post has received a 6.49 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @mikepm74.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Oops, I'm too late to vote on the "add a paragraph" I guess, but I liked your article. I stopped reading Twitter years ago, though I too have an account. I tend to just go there and tweet stuff at people and leave, forgetting ever to check for responses. Which is probably worse than not having it at all. I keep Facebook only because that is the only way my extended family keeps in touch with each other and I'd like to keep at least a tenuous hold on my cousin and uncle relations.

Thanks for stopping in @clemdane! No worries on the vote. Thanks for the effort.
Yeah it is hard to quit facebook when it is currently the best way to keep up with distant friends and family.

Hopefully eventually they will all come here and we can quit FB once and for all!

Have a great day!!!

Yeah that would be great! I spend about 5 minutes a day on Facebook now and 99% of that is to check in with my Steemit support groups.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thanks for the radio shout-out! It's so exciting to hear that you are into what we're doing, because I'm living for hanging out and meeting listeners and getting them rocking <3 If you listen to full force Thursdays, shoot me a request some time!

I'll do that @crimsonclad! I definitely need to catch your solo show. It's tough being a family man with the TV on constantly. I can't just put on my headphones and zone out.

I do need to get with @ma1nevent and work myself into the rotation at some point. I used to DJ in Second Life, so @sircork told me I need to get on the MSP airwaves. There just aren't enough hours in the day. haha

You wouldn't mind someone doing an Alt-Rock spot that might cross over with some of your metal would you?