You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minnows! Lets Change the Reward Pool!

in #steemit7 years ago

Apparently I'm classed as a minnow, so I'll chirp in here. I agree with everything you said. The last time I looked on the trending page was at least a year ago. I swear there is nothing of value to me there, I don't like any of those posts, and most of them are tough reading, technical heavy, or just some bullshit that I'm not interested in. I do understand that is me, though, and a load of other people may think I am wrong, as can be shown by the thousands of upvotes.

I'm playing the long game though. I'm quite positive that in a few years the gap between minnow and whale will become even wider, when adoption becomes more widespread and everyone and their dog comes for a chance to find their glory, and of course, stay for the community.

I do believe Steemit is going mainstream soon. How long in soon? At least in a few years. It already has google and facebook running scared. We have a system here that laughs in the face of theirs. Google with adsense that pays a pittance to its publishers and facebook which blurs the boundary between publisher and advertisor whilst facebook sucks up all rewards. When people finally realise that 0.01 is far better than 0; post a hundred times and that's $1, some people do that in a day on Facebook.

Alas the gap will widen, the whales will stay the same and mass adoption will be widespread, making more bottom end users (minnows), which means in time, thousands of votes will become millions and minnows really will rule the roost, if we realise this of course.

You and I are still classed as early adopters. I was, you are too! You wait. 3 years from now you'll have thousands of steem and because everyone wants in on it those STEEM will be bloody priceless :)

Sort:  

I truly believe Steemit is the future. And we have not even begun to realize what this platform can do!

I'm serious when I say the potentials are boundless

Now I am reading all these posts about how people are putting Steem logo on their vehicles and laptops- gathering many inquiries per day...

It's growing faster and suddenly. And it's only going to continue. I, too am playing the long game. And to be quite honest this is the first endeavor I can say that about! Steemit has gotten under my skin! STEEM is my blood- I bleed blue ;)

Same! I've even integrated Steemit into my website. When I get my courses up and running I'll have an option where you can pay by steem :)

The last time I looked on the trending page was at least a year ago.

I feel similar, but I think that this is actually the biggest problem with Steem atm. The most trending should be our go to page for the most interesting topics. To be fair, I dont think the content on trending is bad, I just feel very reluctant giving 3 cents to a post that is already recognized, while I see Steemians and good friends producing really good content where 3 cents increases their payout by 10%.

When people finally realise that 0.01 is far better than 0

That is why I would never bite the feeding hand (Steemit). I earned 10x in two months compared to what I earned while making youtube for 2 years. I deactivated youtube monetarisation for all my recent youtube videos. It is just not worth it and I hate adds.

You and I are still classed as early adopters.

Yup, every day you started earlier is a natural advantage you have to all later adopters. That is also why i don't hate whales for being whales. Most of them supported Steem in the early days and that deserves to be rewarded. They literally build the platform as we are using it right now.

To be fair, I dont think the content on trending is bad, I just feel very reluctant giving 3 cents to a post that is already recognized, while I see Steemians and good friends producing really good content where 3 cents increases their payout by 10%.

This ^

Precisely.