A Steemit directory

in #steemit7 years ago

Discovering people on Steemit can be tricky although you can use the Hot and Trending pages to see who's doing well. As it grows this may get harder. Fairly early on @mikehere created Steemwho where you can create a profile with a list of interests. There's still only about 60 people on there, but it's worth a look.

steemwho

I think the topic list should be expanded, e.g. technology, sport. There's a link to a post where you can suggest them, but it's too old to allow more comments.

I'll keep doing my #followfriday posts with suggestions of interesting people, but more tools like this will be needed. Steemit could be suggesting some based on who you follow and tags you use.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Mine cryptocurrency in the cloud at Eobot, including Steem. You can earn as you chat using WowApp. If you use these links I get a small reward. You can recruit others to do the same.

Sort:  

You're always the best at getting the inside track on what's happening on steemit. KUDOS
phoebe.gif

I just can't help exploring what's out there :)

Lucky us > that you are so curious.

Nice! Discovered this one myself as well the other day when going through all the SteemTools App to see what these are, and if they still worked. Indeed not that many listed. I may list myself, but not sure if I can pin down my interest since I like almost all topics.

I really think such tool should become part of the core UI of Steemit. When not, people do not use it and it is so good to have, especially when we want to grow a lot.

Thanks for the post, super!

I found a lot of cool stuff on Steemtools, but I don't know if so many are being created lately. Some of them could be incorporated into the main site to improve it. Maybe there could be some sort of plug-ins facility so people can choose which add-ons they want to use.

Agree with you on the enable/disable part of things. I actually think a offline version of Steemit UI shall be created. IMHO offline Apps work quicker when going through posts/comments as well as filtering and searching through your own HOME channel and comments received and send. Then such tools should become part of the offline App as well, it are just features of the software.

Steemit UI / offline App should for sure get a personalisation capabilities, so every user can configure all sort of things, like features, settings, post filters (like some of the curator platform are doing).

There are a few apps that may be doing some of these. Some people will want lots of stats like you can get from other social sites. Filters will be essential as we gain users. We have some great developers playing with all this

Indeed Stats like on FB, Google etc are important, especially also when paying content visibility through eg Promotion channel. But also to find your sub-community better.

That would be a great tool for users if it was tied in with the site. Will have to go on and stick in my details.

Useful to know Steve

Preferable if it was something which polled the blockchain directly, perhaps signing with keys. The way it is now, easy to impersonate someone else's details.

That would be better. There are ways to cryptographically prove who you are, e.g. Keybase