Telling steemit community a little bit about myself and why I do the posts I do.

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi Steemit Community.
Capture.PNG
I am a little afraid to walk down this road with you guys for at this point in my life I am very ashamed of some of these things. Well I guess there's no point in holding back. I can't read or write very well I've done as much as I possibly can to fix this but it is still just as hard as the first time I ever tried.
By the time I was 13 years old my real dad thought that it was more important to work than it was to learn the things that are required to survive in life. A good portion of these are things that you learn in school reading, writing, social communication capability none of which I am very good at.

At 13 years old I was pulled out of school and put to work I will not go into the unwanted detail but let's just say by the time I was 19 years old I could build a house with my bare hands. By the time I was 22 years old I can run about 80% of all heavy equipment, I can do Roofing, I can do siding, I can do all aspects of finish carpentry, I could lay carpet, EXE.... The list does go on but I have a news flash 90% of these incredible skills you need a license or permit to practice. Let's take a second to think about what I'm lacking in. ( Reading, Writing, Social Communication Capability.)

By 20 years old I had lost 3 children I will not go into the harsh details but I am just as much to blame as the parties that were involved. From the age 20 to 24 I had became broken bitter and very distant with the constant thought of a death wish around every corner. I became very involved with drugs and alcohol and the world that is drugs. 50% of this was due to the fact that I realize the skills that I had been taught would never help me survive in this world. 50% was due to the loss of my children. So I made a decision I called my sister @jwinblood and asked if I could move there to sober up. My sister surprised me and did what many had not, she opened her door to me. This was harder to ask than she will ever know I am a very prideful person.

So at 24 years old I begin the long process of sobering-up. At this point I was addicted to numerous drugs and alcohol. I laid in my sister's bed for many many days slowly weaning myself off of everything. When I could actually talk without sounding like I was dying my sister invited me to Christmas at my parents house. I was more nervous and ashamed than anyone will ever know. At this point I was given the opportunity to stay. I had no future goals or any idea where I would go from here but I chose to stay.

I've always had a love for computers and games so my sister @kellywin21 gave me her computer. Within a couple of months I discovered a program called blender and began my adventure of creating game art. My dad @dwinblood who is my step dad not my real dad don't get those confused. Not that I don't consider him to be my real dad he is more to me my dad than my real dad is. He gave me the opportunity to learn new ways to survive in the world he also taught me many things.
He said I had a natural act for 3D art. I could not see it at the time but I can see it now.

I want to take a moment to tell you folks I do not seek pity I just want you to understand the person I have become. I have been sober and clean for many years now. Working my fingers to the bone on my computer. I have a wonderful 3 year old daughter that I spend mini hours with. I am also allowed to be in contact with one of my other children. So needless to say my life has turned around for the better and not because of luck or chance because of pure will to be a better person.

Now you know a little bit more about the person I am and why I post the way that I post. I post about modeling and gaming because it is my life and I love it very much. I mean no disrespect but I do not post to satisfy followers. I post because it's a way to show the things that I love to do and maybe by chance in that process I will find people that enjoy the same things that I do. Also help me build the skills that I so much long for reading, writing, social communication capability.

I am also going to start using my name as a tag so that people can find my stuff easier.

Thank you Steemit Community for reading my post.

Sort:  

Can you share some of your art? I'm sure I'm not the only one who would like to check it out. Best of luck to you.

Loading...

Now I am happy person and mainly because you are on my feed, I was scrolling down and I just seen this I don't know what it is but reading about the life of others intrigues me. So I click and what I read had me compelled to post this. You are a great personality to the human race , and I say this because you showed gut and will power.

A power and beacon of hope in the life of those struggling or going through similar problems.

We can all change we can all be better people we just have to find that power which is inside us. Great read and I hope you the best in the future.

Thank you so much I teared up a little bit reading your comment.

It seems that your writing isn't too bad. :c)

If it would be of any interest to you, I'd be happy to provide some casual assistance in the use of the English language.

It is criminal that non-licensed tradespersons cannot practice what they are good at - even upon a reduced level. The biggest crooks sign laws, they say.

But I am proud of your resolve. Its also clear that you've been around the block, so maybe my offer to assist may be a little late for you - but it is what it is... :c)

Stay clean and good luck!

Thank you. I use Google a lot to spell help me write my sentences doesn't work very good all the time.

That most of the times is because the word you used is actually a word and is spelled correctly. It just sometimes isn't the right word. I don't complain as I am one of those that I don't care as long as I can figure out what the person was trying to say.

In this post for example: You used "mini" where the word you meant was "many". They are very similar. I do believe most of this community does not care about that. As long as they know what you are trying to say.

We actually have a lot of people on steemit that English is not their native language. I am glad to see I've never seen them get attacked for misuse of the language here. That is another thing that makes steemit special.

And your reading and writing have come a very long way in a relatively short period of time.

Well Steemit may not be the best medium to do this...

(tempted to direct you to look me up on LinkedIn and start InMail correspondence for the no-strings attached pointers)

However if you feel that it 'could' work then I suppose we could do it here under a learnenglish tag or somesuch.

The English language is a victim of its richness and flexibility. It is not the easiest language to master but we could make it fun.

How do you feel about roleplaying online? I can make language learning an active element of that (and it ties in to my theories on how learning should be fun at all ages).

I am open to suggestions. :c)

Well despite my latest post. I am resteeming this. This is relevant to what I talk about in @dwinblood and we are proud of what you've achieved. We're proud of your other siblings and their achievements as well, but that doesn't mean everything written is something I'd resteem on @dwinblood. I write a lot of poetry for example on my other account. I don't resteem any of my own poetry on @dwinblood. I did one time when it was specifically a poem about how weird I am and I was clearly talking about myself. Otherwise, I do try to be careful what I resteem. That doesn't mean I don't like it. It just means I thought of the stuff I might share and whether it fits with that account.

Usually what you post does fit with my @dwinblood account and that is why I resteem a lot of your stuff. Now if we can just keep other family members from taking it personally.

Thanks dad I appreciate it. All in all your account is your account and you can do whatever you want with it.

Yeah, doesn't mean I don't have to face the wrath of your mom.

:o) Love you Dad but she'll get over it. You've taken the time to build your account to what it is now. Had we all listened we could probably be up there with you but some of us only listened a little bit and then it faded. That does not make you responsible for picking up the slack.

Life is a battle you have to be willing to pull out your biggest guns for. You're doing great man keep your head up and keep gringin'!

Thanks bro and you know I always bring my rocket launchers lol.

Hey Brotagonist! I just want to say that I've always been really proud of you and what you've been accomplishing. I look up to you quite a lot actually. Despite all of the terrible things that you have had to deal with you powered through and I see the results of that every time I come over to visit.

To use an odd compliment that summarizes my thoughts about you pretty well.

You make everything better, and if more people were like you everything would be better.

:_( Thank you bro you got me good with this one.

Proud to be a big part of your story. Im very happy you're here :)

Love you sis.

Your writing is better than many college students I've seen.

It takes guts to open up like this and I didn't think you were looking for pity.

Sometimes you just gotta get stuff out.

Thank you.

You're very welcome (and save your upvotes, a thank you is enough for me).

Wow man, so good of you! I wish I could build my own house!

What is it worth tht I know everything when nobody is listening!? :)

Inspiration post to read. Well done for being so determined, honest and brave enough to share. Good on ya.

If you have the skills consider joining a union. The carpenters Union is full of skilled tradesmen. If you are clean and sober now, and want to provide benefits for your family as well as put money towards a retirement, earn a fair livable wage, consider signing up for an apprenticeship. To start you may not make as much as you feel you should with your experience, but take the schooling and work seriously, and soon you will have your certification, if that's what you desire. There is plenty of help out there if your willing to meet it half way. It takes a lot of courage to open up like this. I wish you the best of luck here and in life.

Great post !! lets all use your name as a tag lol :D !

If there is a thing you can do than this would be to write more here about the things you love. Don't stop! You are really good with your writing!


What can you read on @steemboost today:
[ANN]: The "Happy Birthday Project"

Wow! This is very interesting! Please be sure to upvote my comment, i need to get my reputation score up so i can post more content! Thanks so much

Hi
This is the first post I have read of yours. I can't post without having another tab open to write my version of a word in, and most of the time google figure out how to spell it for me. Then I double checked by looking up the meaning of the word, just in case I have the wrong one.

The world health organisation defines a young person as an adolescent until the age of 24. You had been through a life time of struggle in the time that other people are just allowed to be kids.
You said you didn't want pity. I wasn't feeling pity, but admiration. I am currently trying to put a real post together about me. It is hard. You did a great job.
To step outside yourself and allow yourself to be vulnerable.
You have inspired me to try again. I have a lot of people to thank on steemit. The thanks requires an explanation of the life that led to my current situation. It requires enormous effort.
I will get to it this week.
Thank you. Following. I wish I could resteem. I'm glad I stumbled upon your post.