Sort:  

I hear you. I'm trying to post an average of twice a day, but there are days where that means one post one day and three the next, so it's still a balancing act. And as you say, some days it's easier to come up with a topic or how to write it than other days. Yesterday, I think I wasted about two hours just figuring out how to start the dumb post, and then another hour and a half to write it, format it and proof it.

Today, I wrote the first post and had it ready to go within an hour and a half, because I didn't have to start over.

So, I just think that's the way it goes.

I've found that the less I have to put into posts and still create value the better for now, because there's not enough people seeing my posts to justify a whole lot of time. That's where the commenting comes in. So, there needs to be a proportional amount of both, which can change as more people see the posts we create and actually increase engagement and upvotes on them.

It's an ever changing, ever evolving process that will probably have a whole new set of rules by the time all of the promised proposed additions finally drop. :)

Ah, what a relief. I thought that it was only me being a slow writer, but now that I see a more experienced writer like you still has the same problems, I don't feel as bad. It really can take a lot of time to write a post. I also think the strategy you are describing is indeed a good one. That is part of the reason I postponed my story series. I just want more people to read them.

Yep. It's definitely a juggling act. The way I'm trying to go about it is adding value as much as possible, but in ways that doesn't consume a whole lot of time, build as much as an audience as I can, and then start bringing in more creative works or things I want to post about. I've been doing some of that, but to say I've been putting hours and hours into my posts is not true. One, I can pound out something fairly fast, but even so, there's research time, there's images to obtain, etc., or there's story to write, and that can take hours to fashion the way I like. So, it's not like I'm coasting, but I'm certainly not sprinting yet. You hold what you hope will be your best stuff until you have the audience to support it, while giving them big enough tastes of what you can do in the meantime, so they want to keep coming back. :)