How Many Comments Should You Write Per Day?

in #steemit6 years ago

system-3382515_1920.png
Many people are struggling to acquire traction on this platform and reside to writing comments like: "Great post. I upvote you, upvote me too. I follow you, follow me too."

This might work on some platforms but not on Steemit. Your comments here are very similar to a blog post. They can be formatted and both upvoted and downvoted, so creating a sensible comment can help boost your earnings and grow your audience.

When creating a comment, I advise you to keep in mind the tips I mentioned in yesterday's post. Your comments don't need to be as perfect as your blog posts are. It's also ok to keep the formatting to a minimum.

The number of comments you write per day isn't important. It's the meaningful ones that you should be counting.

Practice what you preach

How many comments do I write, then? To be honest, not as many as I would like to. Even though I spend quite the amount of time online, I don't write as many comments as I would like to.

I try to write 2-3 comments per day with at least one being one somebody else's article. I also try to give at least 10 upvotes per day. Please note that these numbers are a rough estimate. They may very well be entirely different.


This post has been created as a part of @dragosroua's May 30 Days Writing Challenge. If you don't know what it's all about, I suggest you go check it out. I've already learned so much thanks to this challenge.

My previous posts in the challenge

Sort:  

I agree that it's more important to give quality over quantity in your comments. It's important not just to spam your comments out there because people will be able to figure out that you're fishing for upvotes and not actually trying to connect with them or give meaningful feedback on their content.

Indeed. I prefer quality over quantity any time. Even when it's just a simple comment.

This prompt was on the easier side but doesn't give much room to create any real value.

I kinda like the simpler prompts because if I'm in the mood to do a more in-depth post about it, I can expand the topic as desired. However, when it's already a complicated topic, it can be difficult to get motivated, but it could be a great article, so it's hard to tell which is better.

True. I, for example, have created much more value for the steem blockchain than on any other day today.

Thanks to @glenalbrethsen, I found this article about Steemhunt and already created posts for two projects I didn't find on the platform. All of this thanks to the time I saved by not having to write about a complicated topic for the challenge.

Ah, good old Steemhunt. Sounds intriguing. Need to figure out how to take advantage of the airdrop. Does having Coinbase count as having an Ethereum wallet? Otherwise, I might have to get one somehow. At least, that's what I understood needed to happen, although I think I also read in that article they would be updating with info on how to convert the tokens into STEEM. I need to be able to understand all of this better. :)

I've read an article about the ratios of the distribution, but haven't quite figured out how to link the Ethereum address. Maybe the airdrop will happen after the migration to the SMTs.

And no. Coinbase doesn't count as an Ethereum address.

Also, I would advise you move your ETH, BTC and any other holdings you might have to a more reliable wallet. That is if you are not actively using them which I doubt you are.

Naw, I'm not actively holding anything but STEEM, and it's in the Steemit wallet. I've used Coinbase as the means to buy crypto (usually Litecoin) with fiat, so I can immediately go and buy STEEM. I haven't invested since March, so I'm not even actively doing that.

I've never dealt with Ethereum, thus the questions. I'll just have to keep tabs on what's going on and try not to miss anything. It doesn't sound like we need to do much to be eligible other than providing the address, which it sounds like I will have to get.

Not going to disagree about the need for meaningful comments. I very much echo your sentiments, as well as those of @themanwithnoname. People won't want to engage or see what you're all about if they don't see your comments as valuable or genuine.

That said, if you're on Steemit anyway and reading posts for curation, I would encourage you to up the quantity of your meaningful comments. Two to three comments a day could easily be ten a day on a regular basis. And ten will get you farther out than two or three to other people's comments and posts who may become interested in what you have to say. :)

I used to do more before I started posting my own content. I guess I just need to write them and not think about it much, else I spend too much time doing nothing.

I hear you. I'm trying to post an average of twice a day, but there are days where that means one post one day and three the next, so it's still a balancing act. And as you say, some days it's easier to come up with a topic or how to write it than other days. Yesterday, I think I wasted about two hours just figuring out how to start the dumb post, and then another hour and a half to write it, format it and proof it.

Today, I wrote the first post and had it ready to go within an hour and a half, because I didn't have to start over.

So, I just think that's the way it goes.

I've found that the less I have to put into posts and still create value the better for now, because there's not enough people seeing my posts to justify a whole lot of time. That's where the commenting comes in. So, there needs to be a proportional amount of both, which can change as more people see the posts we create and actually increase engagement and upvotes on them.

It's an ever changing, ever evolving process that will probably have a whole new set of rules by the time all of the promised proposed additions finally drop. :)

Ah, what a relief. I thought that it was only me being a slow writer, but now that I see a more experienced writer like you still has the same problems, I don't feel as bad. It really can take a lot of time to write a post. I also think the strategy you are describing is indeed a good one. That is part of the reason I postponed my story series. I just want more people to read them.

Yep. It's definitely a juggling act. The way I'm trying to go about it is adding value as much as possible, but in ways that doesn't consume a whole lot of time, build as much as an audience as I can, and then start bringing in more creative works or things I want to post about. I've been doing some of that, but to say I've been putting hours and hours into my posts is not true. One, I can pound out something fairly fast, but even so, there's research time, there's images to obtain, etc., or there's story to write, and that can take hours to fashion the way I like. So, it's not like I'm coasting, but I'm certainly not sprinting yet. You hold what you hope will be your best stuff until you have the audience to support it, while giving them big enough tastes of what you can do in the meantime, so they want to keep coming back. :)