HUMANS AND PLANTS NEED THE SAME THINGS TO SURVIVE.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago



image source

Hi my Steemit friends. Today we are going to learn that plants also need food to survive just like humans do. Humans have to eat their food that is grown in the ground and for that to happen we need plants to do the same. 

image source

Photosynthesis is the way plants use to make their own food. When humans make food they need fire, vegetables and water and other things to make their food.

The plant needs the same. They need light from the sun, water from the ground and something called carbon dioxide from the air. Plants have roots with a funny name called xylem and they absorb the water and food from the ground.  There are pores in the leaves that are called stomata, and they exchange all that the plant needs. The carbon dioxide goes into the stomata with the water and there is chloroplast in there. Once all this get together photosynthesis can take place and then we see oxygen coming from the stomata to go back in the air for us to breathe.

image source

 This is also where the green colour from the leaves come from.  The combination of carbon hydrates plus water, forms oxygen and glucose. Some of the glucose is used immediately for the plant the rest of is stored as starch in the plant. Everything that is stored is used when there is no sunlight as sunlight is needed to fulfil the whole process. 

After all this has taken place the stomata release oxygen into the air, that makes it possible for humans to breathe the oxygen again and that is what we need to stay alive.

image source

 The plant works a lot like the body, as it takes its food from the same things we need to survive to be able to grow, and now we can have the vegetables to eat as well. The word photosynthesis has a meaning. 

Photo means light in Greek and synthesis mean combining. Because of these combinations we can now grow the plant, eat it and even get oxygen from our plant to survive. There are some plants that do not use photosynthesis alone they use insects as well to stay alive.one of them. 

image source

Venus Fly Trap catches insects to eat. This is a funny plant as it has two leaves that close so that the insect is trapped and eaten. It is actually a very cool plant and I will put a picture in here for you to see how they do that.  

I hope you know how photosynthesis works now and how important it is for all of us.

Thank you for reading my post, and have a wonderful day.

          

Sort:  

When I see your publications, I have benefited from valuable information

Thank you so much.

Can we be friends on Facebook

You Are Right My Friend Same To same Need @bigbear

Thank you so true.

I request you plzz upvote my comments

I enjoyed reading your post. There is a lot of good stuff.

Thank you so much.

you are welcome my friend, I have a new post, do not forget to visit ya, let me add the spirit in steemit,

Nature is amazing - great post thank you

Your post is very beautiful. In which the description of the plant has been very good. Which we are doing through the development plant. Earth is the most important to us.

Spend time outside everyday to stay bright eyed and bushy tailed so the saying went @bigbear when I grew up.

Have had the fun of two varieties of fly traps over the years, they are fascinating to watch.

Please tell me more about them very interested thanks for reading my post.

What a wonderful post on how life works and how we all need one another. Where would we be without plants who give us so much! Thank-you @bigbear. I hope you are doing well. How is your back? Hopefully it is not giving you too much trouble! Please take care!

Thank you my friend, hope you are back on your feet again, been very worried about you and Lady. My back will probable stay like this untill I pass it is crumbling up :)

nice information about biology