PART 1 OF LUAN AT THE GAME LODGE

in #steemiteducation6 years ago
Luan woke up the next morning, knowing that his holiday was nearly at an end. 

To him it felt so sad but he also knew that he would go back to his wonderful forest and have so much to tell his friends at school. 

His mother made them a lovely breakfast and they all sat eating and talking about this holiday that was so nice. 

image source

His parents told him that they are going to a game lodge and that they are sleeping there for the night. He had to pack his clothes as they were not sure if they were going to come back to the house that they were renting for the holiday. Luan was so excited and started doing everything his parents asked him.  

As they got into the car he asked where the game lodge was and they told him it was a bit far and they were taking another plane to get there. They were going to fly to Port Elizabeth airport, and they will be picked up from there to go to the game lodge.  

There were people waiting for them and they drove to the lodge. He was very impressed as it was so beautiful and he knew he was going to sleep there.

image source

They were welcomed and shown where there rooms were.  It was beautiful. 

The lady who showed them said they must take hats, their cameras as well as binoculars. 

They were leaving on a drive in a little while and she will come and fetch them.

Luan was so excited as he knew that the animals he was going to see today, he had only seen in pictures before.  

It was not long and the lady said that the Rangers were here and they could come.

image source

Luan was very surprised at the Rangers transport, but was told this is the best way to see the animals.

They started driving and he could not believe the animals they saw on their trip.

The first animals they came across were giraffes and they seemed very tall to him. The ranger explained that they eat the top fresh leaves off the trees. He also told them that giraffes do not sleep very long and then they are ready to carry on eating. He also told them that they have very long toungs as well as their tails are of the longest that you get in wildllife animals

image source

They sat there for a while and then drove on. But Luan was still looking back at these wonderful animals.

image source

He did not think that there would be more beautiful animals, untill the ranger said be very quiet I see a Leopard in a tree.

I am going to stop and you can all take pictures but try not to let him jump as then he will leave and we will not find him again.

image source

  

Female leopards give birth to usually 1-2 cubs.
Cubs are born a grey color with very faint rosettes.
Cubs are born blind and start to see in 10 days.
Cubs live with their mothers for 2-4 years.
Mother leopards teach their cubs to swim, climb, hunt and how to protect themselves from predators.

    

image source

Oh mother is he not the most beautiful little thing you have ever seen, I wish I could hold him. The Ranger told him that if you touch him his mother will really grab you. Just like all mothers animals love their children very much, and she will think you are going to hurt him.

That is so good as my mother and father love me very much and they are taking me to these wonderful places.  As they were driving they suddenly saw this enormous elephant.  Luan actually got a fright because he never realised just how big they were.

image source

It is standing in the middle of the road and Luan was stunned, just a  little behind him there was a baby as well.

image source

Oh just look how cute he is, he is running to his mother.  He must be thinking that he will loose her as she is big and he is small.

They all laughed at this lovely little baby elephant.  The ranger then told them about elephants then.

 

Elephants are the largest land-living mammal in the world.
Both female and male African elephants have tusks but only the male Asian elephants have tusks. They use their tusks for digging and finding food.
Female elephants are called cows. They start to have calves when they are about 12 years old and they are pregnant for 22 months.
An elephant can use its tusks to dig for ground water. An adult elephant needs to drink around 210 litres of water a day.
Elephants have large, thin ears. Their ears are made up of a complex network of blood vessels which help regulate their temperature. Blood is circulated through their ears to cool them down in hot climates.
Elephants have no natural predators. However, lions will sometimes prey on young or weak elephants in the wild. The main risk to elephants is from humans through poaching and changes to their habitat.
The elephant’s trunk is able to sense the size, shape and temperature of an object. An elephant uses its trunk to lift food and suck up water then pour it into its mouth.
An elephant’s trunk can grow to be about 2 metres long and can weigh up to 140 kg. Some scientists believe that an elephant’s trunk is made up of 100,000 muscles, but no bones. 
Female elephants spend their entire lives living in large groups called herds. Male elephant leave their herds at about 13 years old and live fairly solitary lives from this point.
Elephants can swim – they use their trunk to breathe like a snorkel in deep water.
Elephants are herbivores and can spend up to 16 hours days collecting leaves, twigs, bamboo and roots.

To be continued

Hope you enjoyed my story, have a wonderful day.

     

Sort:  

dear @bigbear..your post is wondarful & awsome pic & good post .. i like your post... & I love animals & food... ...thank you so much for sharing dear friend. .... ♣♣♣♣♣…♦♦♦♦……♥♥♥♥…
♠♠♠♠..

I want to thank you for always resteeming, I voted here could not find anything yet for today that you haver written.

Thank you so much for being with me.....♣..♣..&.. how are you..dear @bigbear...

Thank you so much for helping me..& Someone else does not help me like you.. so i like you So much..So when you post, I'll comment & resteem you a little earlier or later.... I do not know English more, if it is a mistake, then forgive me....dear @bigbear.....l like you........ ♣♣♣♣…♦♦♦♦……♠♠♠♠
....

beautiful and best story... @bigbear

Thank you so very much. Cant find anything that I have not voted at your site so voting here.

thanks !!!

Interesting post friend

Thank you so much for reading and coming every day, you know that I upvote all your posts as they are nice.

dear friend very good post,, thanks for sharing us @bigbear

Thank you for reading, I love writing them.

Dear @bigbear your article or photography awesome all time i like your post ???

Thank you for your loyalty you are very kind.

good job dear @bigbear
I like it...your post dear
@beautiful photograph
I @resteemed your post
@love you dear
👍👍👍👍👍👍

Thank you so much, you are so kind to resteem my post, I upvoted you 25%

its really good post. i enjoyed read your post

Thank you so glad you enjoy, I enjoy writing them.

Great dear.Thanks for sharing it

awsome photography dear @bigbear

Thank you see you are into money today.

Pretty interesting story

Thank you coolbuddy you are very kind.

great writing dear @bigbear

Thank you I liked yours as well.

dear @bigbear
I always upvote and comment on your post, to tell the truth, I like your post, you can write a lot of good, I like all of your posts, thank you for this post, I'm waiting for you to post when you (because I Love you)

Oh thank you so much, I love you as well, that is why I always go and upvote you we can grow together.

Wow. Talk about a high end lodge. It is amazing how much bigger the buildings are compared to 200 years ago. House are much bigger. Cities and everything. So much taller it is unreal.

That is some nice lodge for sure thank you for reading.

Mom @bigbear i totally respect your talent in writing,i dont even know how i enjoy every part of it i just see my self scrolling down.
You are extremely wonderful in writing.

Thank you for your lovely reply and your wonderful post, this is the most important, to trust and lean on God. I am sure he helpes me write my stories as I love it sooooo much.

Good post carry on dear @bigbear

Thank you so much, voted as usual, but can not read LOL

😊😊😊

very interesting story, keep it up, like it...👌👌
dear @bigbear

Thank you for always reading my story.

Very good writing i like your article @bigbear

Thank you, I love seeing you here.

Well job dear @bigbear

Thank you so much for reading.

Your posts always amaze me.

Thank you so much, I so love writing them.

👌👌👌👌👌👌

Thank you so much.

Luan is so lucky to have caring parents... I'll try to visit a wildlife park on my next holiday. Am still fixed to your story and anticipating luan's next adventure.

You will not be sorry it is realy a lot of fun.

What a nice post ! I appreciated read your post and i upvoted you and always i will,
Thank you very much !!

Thank you so much I love having you here.

I just become your fan and wanna stay connected with your all precious tunes,
i'm new here in steemit family but i hoped i can grow up day by day because i'm stay here under bigbear supports, and i'm so glad to having a supporter like you !
Thank you very much and stay connected !!

excellent story! i like it

Thank you so much my dear friend.

Fantastic post friend

Thank you for reading, I do so like comments.

Extraordinary post I love those wild animals are beautiful thank you for sharing so nice and good post greetings

Very nice post friend greetings

The girls loved this one today!!! Hayden especially kept say ... "ahhhhhhh, ahhhhhh"!!!! Fun story bigbear - may Luan will go gold panning :) That would be fun .. (maybe good story).