You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weight Loss: Is Detox a Thing?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Exactly as I said - you are wasting your time here for no reason. This kid is going to get no funding to spread the the word and the battery companies are already working on studies of all the reasons this is a bad idea.

This has absolutely nothing do do with helping obese people got healthy or anything about my post. But try to think of what you are feeding your family each time they eat the non-organic potatoes. If you decide to save them in that one area, I will have done my job. If you even glance at the GRAS list, see the warnings, and stop eating the toxins - more the better.

Sort:  

So... You acknowledge that anyone can do science?

Posted using Partiko Android

Science is a broad term and I don't pay attention to it as I have said a good ten times now. It is completely irrelevant to my life and work.

You also said that not everyone can use it. That was part of your reasoning for its being irrelevant. I was first trying to provide you with information that would help you understand that everyone can use science. Once you understand that, we can move on to evidence that it is relevant to your work. One thing at a time because we're coming from such opposite points of view.

Posted using Partiko Android

The best advice I can give you is that I have already given:

  • focus on you own health and that of your family. Your kids are eating toxic substances (per cdc) that were not even invented when you and I were growing up. If you are not paying attention - they might be eating significant amounts of these toxins in combinations that have never been studied by anyone.
  • review your own food sources over time, review the warnings and determine if you want to keep ingesting those substances or not.

I know from my own experience that this is a daunting task and can take hours to research even one substance. For that reason, I stopped researching and just do the best I can to "eat clean" and avoid all the man-made additives. But since you enjoy looking at this information, research might be a better path for you.

I would love to see you post about your results. Maybe you will find great news about potato toxins and maybe you will not. In either case, your family and steemit readers will benefit by your work.

I have been researching. All the information that I can find supporting your assertion about potatoes comes from sources with a financial interest in the popularity of organic. I can find even more research refuting that from sources I expect you not to believe because you seem intent on disbelieving everything that doesn't agree with your world view. As I've mentioned before, I don't think there's harm in eating high nutrition foods. I only think there's harm in rejecting the scientific method as a means of discerning fact from fiction.

Here's a link that I don't expect you to read but for anyone else who reads our incredible thread and maybe hasn't decided to reject the most useful tool we have, scientific research.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3470637/

Posted using Partiko Android

potato toxins.PNG

Lots of fun for you in this poster that was already in the post. Check the usda site for pesticide risks - not cdc. Unfortunately for those of you who like to eat them, pesticides are one of the "least tested" of all the toxins for human consumption and not required on labels. This is another area that many countries - including where I live - do not allow 100's of the us products to cross their borders and get into the food.

I suggest asking a few produce managers in your local area if they will eat non-organic potatoes. When I did this at least 10 years ago not one of them would. Many people I am connected with over the years have tried this simple and non-scientific test. Some of them decided to go clean for the sake of their health others don't care and still eat fast food fries anyway.

I'll also point out that if you're citing the CDC, you're citing science, so science is clearly relevant to your work and you know it. Why this attitude about science?

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm linking it for you since you clearly enjoy this type of thing. I have no idea or interest about the underlying reasons or studies they have done to determine the great harm these GRAS products cause. I use this site to smack some sense into people.

For example:

  • A couple are trying to get pregnant. They have tried for years, and the few times she gets pregnant, they lose the babies.
  • They both consume great quantities of colors, flavors, and other toxins CLEARLY stated to reduce reproductive health and cause spontaneous abortions. I have no information of how this information is gathered. I only know that people trying to have kids would be wise to avoid these substances for better results.

I highly suggest this site as a good read for the benefit of you and your family and would love to see your post about it if you decide to get back to the paying part of steemit. The informationwar tag gives out great upvotes for this type of post.