Special Education Teachers and Pool Noodles.

No punchline here... just an epiphany.

Over the past 18 years, many people have asked me, “What exactly does a special education teacher do?” I usually give a pretty long answer (yes I can be wordy… shocking!) involving leveling the playing field, teaching differently for kids who learn differently, and using different techniques to allow students to access a rigorous curriculum.



Sometimes it seems like kids with learning disabilities need to navigate a complicated maze in order to master what other kids can do following one straight line…. but they can still master it!

But thanks to observing my daughter at swim lessons today, I have a new and much simpler answer.

My daughter has taken swim lessons every summer for the past 6 years. She has become an excellent swimmer. This year, she reached the final stage of the lessons… diving!



Looks like Bob could use a pool noodle.

Although she was struggling to master the technique, she was determined to succeed and never gave up. She made a little bit of progress each day. Then today, she got it. She improved more in one 30 minute session than she had in the other 8 combined.

Why?

What was different?

The instructors are all high school kids on the swim team. They are all excellent swimmers and very nice kids. Because they rotate stations each day, my daughter MJ had a different instructor every day. Each instructor did a great job explaining and demonstrating what MJ should do. But it just wasn’t “clicking.”


LeoPush.jpg
That technique doesn’t look quite right.

Today, her newest instructor watched MJ dive off the blocks a couple of times. Then this 16 year old expert quietly walked over to the supply room and emerged with a pool noodle. She held the noodle parallel to the water a few feet in front of the block on which my daughter was standing. Then she said, “OK MJ. Dive over this noodle without touching it.”

MJ dove and barely nicked the noodle. On her second try, she cleared it completely. After about 10 more tries with the noodle, the young lady tossed it to the side and told MJ to give it a shot without it.



Did any of these women need a pool noodle while learning to dive? Who knows? More importantly, who cares?

splash (I was going to make that huge for emphasis… but in diving a big splash is bad).

She dove nearly flawlessly into the pool. After a few more attempts and some minor adjustments, she had it. She could dive off the blocks like a pro!

That is what a special education teacher does.

We provide the right pool noodle for each kid.

MJ could dive. She just needed to look at the challenge a little differently. Does that make her a worse diver than someone else? Should she be penalized for learning how to dive differently than others had learned? Did she fail because it took her more time and attempts? Of course not. She dove incredibly well. Who cares how she got there?



MJ may never be a Katie Ledecky… but that doesn’t mean she shouldn’t be proud of the obstacle she overcame today. I know I am.

That is what special educators are experts in… finding the right “pool noodle” and helping kids to help themselves overcome their obstacles. Even though the right “pool noodle” might be different for each kid I teach, I know it is out there. I just have to rely on my experience, training, and instincts to find the right match.

So the next time someone asks me, “What do special education teachers do?”, I will proudly tell them...

“We help kids find the right pool noodle for themselves.”



Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

Hi. I forgot to add that if anyone is interested in education, please check out or submit educational posts under the steemiteducation tag!

If you do, you could see this message:

I taught special-ed for a decade. You hit the nail on the head. Excellent description of what I used to do!

Thanks! That means a lot coming from someone who gets it!

Thank you. I have two children who need pool noodles! I am hoping that, eventually, their individualized education plan will allow them to depart the special-ed system, which has given them a boost when they needed it the most. Eventually, I hope they can become fully functioning adults. Thank you for what you do. You are indespensable.

That is a great attitude to have! That is the exact goal of special education... help kids build the skills needed to be successful without us. You'd be surprised how many people don't get that. It sounds like your kids have a great support system in you and you have high expectations for them. That is a powerful combination!

The world needs more teachers like you.

That's nice to say but I am not even close to the best ones I know. But I will keep trying!

Wish I could upvote you more for this. Big thank you to all special ed teachers out there.

Thanks! I'm lucky to be able to work with awesome kids!

This is a very great way of explaining what a special-ed teacher can do. Fantastic post! We have had a few special-ed teachers over the years and all of them were so compassion and patience that we will always remember them. What kind of special education do you teach? Occupational therapy? Speech?

I am so happy that you have had such good experiences with special educators! I work with kids who have learning disabilites, intellectual disabilites, emotional disorders and kids with autism spectrum disorder. Basically I teach awesome kids who just need a pool noodle or two.

That is so awesome! We wish more kids could have 'noodle support'. It must be a very fulfilling experience to see these kids grow up and move beyond their current circumstances. You have an amazing job. :-)

That's a lovely story you sound very passionate. So if a first you don't succeed try, try and try again. Thanks for sharing.

Exactly! There is always a way!

Special educators are special teachers themselves. Their patience and understanding for their students or pupils is immeasurable to some degree that they give all their heart to their job and they make sure that the sstudents learn with a care and guidance.
Congratulations to your daughter. I also missed that part of my life which is to learn how to swim.

Thanks for the kind words! Sorry you missed on the swimming but there will be many fun challenges for you to overcome. Right now I know you are on a very big challenge. Stay strong!

Excellent story. I think the biggest issue is whether or not someone is suited to their job as a teacher. Too many people became teachers for a steady paycheck and summers off. The ones like you who actually love the kids and their job, who care enough to find the right pool noodles, well hats off to that ;)

You'd be surprised how many good teachers I know. I think it's one of those situations where a few of bad ones are so bad that it's easy to make a leap that they represesnt the majority of teachers. I have seen studies where they polled individuals and asked their general opinions of teachers. The answer where negative but when they asked a follow up question about the specific teachers they have had experience with, they same people's answers were very positive. For example my kids have had aproximately 15 teachers. One was not very good. Another was ok. But 13 out of 15 were great. And a few of those were so awesome that they drastically improved my children's lives. But it is far more likely to talk at length about the one negative experience. I have to catch my self and make sure if I do, I also talk about the great ones.

Then you are definitely in an amazing district. I know what you're saying about the tendency to focus on the negative, but that's not my nature. I just had a lot of mediocre to crappy teachers, haha! I did have a few awesome ones though, and they are the ones that stand out for me. I made sure to return and tell them that ;)

I'd say one teacher who becomes one because of the summers is too many lol. They simply don't get it. Luckily the vast majority of them can't take what teacching really is and quit in the first few years. Some manage to hang on but in my experience it isn't many.

great for your daughter @hanshorfirst
that awesome education for kids

Thanks! I'm very proud of her.

you are welcome @hansotfirst
give a medal of honor :D

What an amazing story! Different strokes for different folks indeed. I like how you used a story about your daughter to drive the point home. Sometimes it just takes the right teacher and the right technique to make magic happen :D

It takes different strokes to run the world... just ask Gary Coleman. Thanks! My students and my own kids are awesome! I learn a lot from them.

Fantastic story that offers hope to those that can't see the possibilities. Yeah! 🐓🐓

Thanks! Great kids will always find a way. I'm happy to be be a small part of that.

Just like your creative mind at work. Sometimes it just takes one little thing outside of the box to help someone special. 🐓🐓

As someone who has a special needs person very close to me, thank you for all that you do. You guys are unsung heroes!

Cheers

The kids do all the work. I'm just the pool noodle finder. ;)

One step at a time :)

I want someone to show me my noodle too one day :(

Lol... not going to be me. Good luck!

inspirational article. I'm a teacher too.

Awesome! Do you know about the steemiteducation tag? Also you can follow @steemiteducation to support other educators and find some resources.

followed :) thanks :)

Thank You for posting this, excellent, spot on of going where they are to find what works! Resteemit!

That's the key. Meet the kids where they are.

Being the father of an autistic son, i find this story inspiring and you explain your job so clearly. We just need to find a unique way to teach these special kids.

Indeed! And there is always a way. Just need to be creative. Kids can always grow and become stronger in many ways!

I really appreciate special education teachers and their different methods because I have an autistic niece who amazes me everyday by how she overcomes all with the variety of unconventional teaching methods :) :) upvoted and following :) :) Thank you for sharing. ..Kayleigh

That's awesome! You sound like a very nice aunt! How old is she?

She will be 10 in September. ..I love her so much ..my mother adopted her and I spent almost every moment with her since her birth I was the first finger she held...I miss her my family moved back to California a year ago ..but I still follow up on her everyday life ..we have a great bond :) :)

Wow that is so sweet (and I don't use that word often). Made me smile. Thanks!

Awww..Thank You very much ! And you are very welcome :) :) Kayleigh

true...

Articles are nice and interesting

Thank you for all his good advice. I don't have any children yet, but I will soon have them. I'll follow you because you're a smart person.

Interesting post :)
Plz see my account @kakilasak :)

A good post... Cheers

this is very wonderful

Great post.

Upvoted!

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

Amazing education. Thanks @hanshotfira. I resteem now.

Great work this is.

amazing.

That's a truly beautiful analogy. A good teacher needs to be creative to serve the students the lessons catered to their learning styles. I realize this is not always possible, but am glad you realize as a educator of children with differing needs what it takes to help the maximize their potential. Thanks for sharing.

Your daughter is doing great and I hope her future will be bright and you will be known by her name in the world.

What a beautiful story - and what an inspiration you are to do special needs education - following

Nice presentation @hanshotfirst

please follow me @alba-tross