The Guts of a Morena!

in #steemitfamilyph • 6 years ago (edited)

What does it take to be a Morena in my country?

FB_IMG_1518527176454.jpg

Hmnn...🤔

Walking into a store and trying to find soap or lotion without a "whitening" or "for fairer skin" label? This is always a challenge!

images.jpeg

Advertisements where the girl is sad because she isn't as fair as she wants to be, and then, she uses a product that makes her skin whiter and boom! A radiant smile and happiness on her face!!

13103725423_0facda4c9a_b.jpg

Sad that we are made to think that fair skin is better than what we already have.

Where phones are bought based on how good the filter is and wether it can make one's skin whiter.

Where fair skinned seems to get more privileges and chances on things.

Where "most" men prefer white-skinned "chicks"...and where people look at white people like royalties.

queen-1892431_1280.png

It is difficult to be a morena in this country...in a society where my color is less pretty.

I always wished I had fairer skin. But after I went to the U.S. for an exchange year, I was enlightened. With so much diversity, my skin color was adored and I was beautiful. I learned to love and appreciate others despite differences. I learned to love my own skin color.

FB_IMG_1518527540543.jpg

It takes contentment and self acceptance to be who you are but its worth it.😊

I am a MORENA and I'm proud!
FB_IMG_1518526917057.jpg

Image sources: https://goo.gl/images/C91rqx

U5dsnt2Y19qmNJ6S4rHWGSU4yi4wucH.gif

Sort:  

Black people in america go through the same struggles. Its sad, but black is shunned around the world.

Which shouldn't be...all colors should be celebrated and seen equally...very idealistic, so change must begin within ourselves💕

hi @thoughtsatdawn, its interesting to hear about what goes on in other countries regarding skin color. being a heavily melinated wombn here in the usa it can be a difficult journey also but have created a culture of appreciating our own style and it has finally paid off in having others appreciate it as well. you're very pretty, btw. thank you for sharing your experience of being a woman of color...

Thanks so much. I know some women have it worst, but lots of strong women out there.💕

I am starting to buy a non whitening soap and lotion too.. Because my husband likes a morena skintone... 😊Thanks for sharing...

Haaha, yeah and its easier to manage too...very simple look yet stunning!

You are nominated on steemitfamilyph featured posts. Love your post. We are beautiful in our own way. Im glad your not like any other girls that tries to whiten themself.

Wow! Thank you so much. I'm enormously honored. So happy☺ Thank you for the steemitfamilyph who always gives opportunities for exposure and always here to guide and support each member. Daghang salamat!

Cool! I follow you.

My pleasure. Thanks a lot!

You go girl! Celebrate your uniqueness and don't get tied down by standards other people set.

Thats true @maverickinvictus. If I will be affected by these standards...I will never be good enough...and the struggle to belong is a long road which I don't intend to follow. Hehe so just be happy nlang. Big thanks for always droppin' by!💕

Hello ate tayo mo bandila ng mga morenang pinay! Be proud of our Golden color :)

Thank you maam @ankarlie. Super honored to be noticed by you...heeeh salamat!

Hello... you exsotis... amazing...
I like the post you...

Thank so much💕☺

it is not worth the effort in doing get good results

tan is beauty, natural and simple. hayaan mo sila. 😇

True!'hihi thank you for the support!

youre welcome tanya.. as in tan. ☺

Thanks for sharing your photos.
i am inspire about him from your post.
thank you for your post.

Thank you for your comments.💕☺ im glad im able to inspire you.☺

I can imagine how you felt during that time, seeing those ads and any other kind of things that make you look different and unattractive, and sometimes I feel bad about my weight and I'm not fat, I'm not thin but we women we always have prejudices. However, it is something that I have been overcoming and is not as depressed as before. Your skin color is a little more scuro than mine and I'm also a little bit dark. But it seems to me that you are really beautiful and your skin color obviously differs from the rest and differentiates you for good because you can take advantage of it and make yourself noticed. Be fine. Greetings.

Heeh thank you so much. I agree about the weight thingy...its been difficult for me to be as thin as I was when I was in my teens...and with all these ads about being skinny, weight loss programs, its very difficult to believe that our body is just right...and when we see old friends they always notice how we gained weight.haaaha ..all these things influences us and our perception about ourselves...so difficult to overcome...but women are strong so we'll find a way💕☺

Yay...someone here is morena too and i love my color.

Hi! Thanks for dropping by. Im glad im not alone in this!

This is really sad. I think a lot of countries have this "whitewashed" mentality. Not sure what to do to change it. Glad you have enough self esteem to not try and whiten your skin.

Yeah, it takes self acceptance...and to really adore our own color. Otherwise, it will be very easy to be persuaded by these ads...so many ads. Haha

You were featured on the 39th edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

https://steemit.com/steemitfamilyph/@steemitfamilyph/daily-steemit-family-ph-featured-posts-40

Thank you so much @steemitfamilyph!! Im so happy and honored!

That's a amazing fair skin'' label post.

How different cultures are in the world. We all are beautiful

I am attracted to Morenas. <3