Homeschool Book Report: "The Great Brain" by John D. Fitzgerald

Hello, my name is Joshua. I am The Homeschool Kid.
One of the things that I like to do in homeschool is read books. And from now on I am going to give you book reports about my favorite books. Some of my favorite books are the books from the Great Brain series. The Great Brain series are true stories. Today I am going to do a report on the first book in the series.

20170623_150530.jpg
The main character in the story is a boy named Tom. But his nickname is the Great Brain because he has remarkable intelligence. He is constantly trying to get money from the other kids. He is constantly making fools out of grown-ups. And winning bets because he cheats. Doesn't sound like a very nice person, does he?

This book took place around the 1890's. Back then an indoor bathroom was really rare. Most everyone used an outhouse. I like this book because it is funny and I like learning about how kids lived in the 1890's.
This is a picture of our outhouse.

IMG_20170625_144836.jpg

This is one of my favorite parts in the book.
Tom's father loved to buy crazy inventions that didn't work. Of course he didn't know they didn't work until they came in the mail. And one of those was the Magic Water Closet. Back then an indoor bathroom was a called a water closet. In the book, it was called the magic water closet because most water closets stunk, but not this one. It seemed like magic to them!
Tom, his little brother Jon, and his big brother Sweyn were on the porch beating buckets with sticks pretending they were drums in a band. Then a person that didn't like kids came into their yard and started digging a trench. Tom and his brothers went to watch him dig. Then that man looked up at the them and said, "Why aren't you kids in school?" Then Tom said, "Because our teacher is sick." Then the man said, "If I knew that, I wouldn't have let your father talk me into digging this trench."

I highly recommend you read this book and the rest of "The Great Brain" series.
Please Follow and Upvote!

Sort:  

This was one of my favorite books when I was in 4th grade! I read the whole series!

I thought you read the whole series except the last book?

I'm not quite sure but I think you just got called out by a 10 year old on steemit @mericanhonestead.

And at that his son he got owned! lol

LOL! The last book was released by the author's family posthumously after his death. I never read the last book as it came out much later. So yes, I stand corrected. :)

Zach when is new2torah coming here? I've learned a lot about torah apologetic from you! Its a subject I've been passionate about before coming to Torah in November.

No plans yet. N2T is not a business and I don't worry about money collected from it nor do I want it. It will stay where it is for now.

Thank you for all the work you do there keep it up!!

Awesome and great job. I am looking forward to hearing more about your literary adventures! I am always looking for great books for my son to read. You really have great parents. You can tell them I said they are doing a great job. Until next time. Keep on Steaming!

You did a good job on your book report.

What a great job on this! I just followed you and look forward to seeing more reports and other updates from you! I wish I had homeschooled my kids like your smart family has done for you! You are one smart, blessed kiddo!

My kids have to read The Great Brain as part of their school. Thanks for submitting the report!