POETRY | DAY 22 | Something To Call His Own


Something To Call His Own, poetry by @naquoya.

Day 22 of 100 for @d-pend's Poetry Challenge

I finally had to miss a day yesterday, as the internet shut down for 24 hours in my area. When technology defeats poetry.


Something To Call His Own

A road to the centre
Complete with degrees and intensity
Towers that hold hands
With the great beyond
A modern day song

The houses that hold court
And dance with the blue man
Who travels the great road
And stains the towers with his soul's pain
And seeks answers within

He swaps old worlds
For new ones that dance anew
On the other side of the mirror
A razor thin edge of destiny's sanity
Where everything looks brand new

But he can't help but feel
Each step he takes is just like one
he has taken before
So he hands in his unused prayers
And takes the road to somewhere new

One eye to the past
The other
To a future
That holds his hands
Firmly

All the experts agree
It's the way of the world
Yet he knows
They all must be wrong
So he builds a monument
To his own
Bitter song
That tastes better
Because it's his


Reading Notes: This poetry is new and written exclusively for the 100 Day Poetry Challenge, which is explained in more detail here and here.

Here is the invite for the Steemit School Discord channel





Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
My Steemit Poetry Collection

Book Reviews
My Steemit Book Review Collection



Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this thoughtful poem @naquoya. I think about why people want to make a name for themselves. It's because we have no idea about eternity but we want it. Time is funny. I think you can do two poems in one day no problem.

I think I missed the cutoff time for posting a back up, but no problem. So long as i can keep going as much as possible. It's not easy trying to come up with new ideas all the time. Thanks for your comment and thoughtful analysis.

I have a habit of making double comments when I use my cell phone. Please excuse my repetition.

No problem at all.

Hello @naquoya, your poetry reminds me of the man who with his hands built splendid houses and buildings and his body had nowhere to rest on something of his. Greetings friend.

Yes, it is like that in one I suppose. Or the man who, metaphorically, built his house but has learned (or been taught) to reject it. But now he awakens to the desire to accept it, because it's his. Step one to embracing and accepting life, in one way.

This poem is pretty well written Scott. ^^

One eye to the past
The other
To a future
That holds his hands
Firmly

I love this bit. Never forgetting the past while embracing the future.

Thank you, I'm glad you think so. Yes, the past and the future coming together to heal each other. Allowing life to show up in the present.

Very well explained Scott! They are all equally important.

This poem is great. I like the succinct style. Every word seems to be thoughtfully chosen. Great job.