Steemit Write Off #1 - Theme Announcement | Aug. 18 - 22

in #steemitwriteoff8 years ago (edited)

steemitwriteoff15a019.jpg

Write Off Theme: Rite of Passage


Welcome Steemers! In spirit of Steemit's Social Media Revolution, we feel it is fitting for our first theme of the #steemitwriteoff to be about transformation. A rite of passage in a broad sense is an event in a person's life that is indicative of a transition from one stage to another. Let your imaginations run wild for the #steemitwriteoff.

Rules


  • Your Steemit post must be original and written by you.
  • It must be posted before 11:59PM PST on August 22st.
  • The winner will be announced August 23rd.
  • It can be fiction or non-fiction.
  • We prefer new but an old post will be accepted as long as it fits the theme.
  • It should be something you're proud of.
  • Photos are welcome but your writing is what will be judged.
  • Only one post per writer will be accepted.

Judging Criteria


  • Posts are judged by @truthmomma and @tralawar.
  • Our judgement will be based off of theme-relevance and overall enjoyment.
  • The upvotes and comments of Steemers will be taken into consideration.
  • Tag your post with #steemitwriteoff.
  • We will highlight our 10 favorites with the announcement of the three winners.

Rewards


All #steemitwriteoff earnings we receive will go to the Winners.

1st Place 80% of the Steem Dollars
2nd Place 15% of the Steem Dollars
3rd Place 5% of the Steem Dollars

Donations


If you'd like to donate you may send it to @truthmomma along with a memo that says "write off donation." to ensure transparency.

@the-alien donated $50 SD.
@tralawar donated $10 SD.
@freesteem donated $5 SD.


Follow @truthmomma to continue to the cycle of giving.
Please comment and upvote to support the writers.
Happy Typing!

Sort:  

Such an awesome idea! I'll try to write one for the fun of it. I implore you guys to advertise this on the #fiction channel on steemit.chat as well. Tons of other writers might be interested to get in on the action as well. I hope this gets a lot of entries! I don't really care if I place, I just hope all entries get a fair shot at the spotlight, receive tons of comments from other participants, and spread creativity throughout Steemit!

Thank you, that is a great idea! I am working hard to get it out there. Hopefully, after a couple, we will get some momentum.

Wicked idea, thanks a heap for the opportunity truthmomma, gonna get started on it :)

Awesome! So excited to read it :)

what a fun idea. I'm looking forward to reading the posts. I may even write one.

We are really excited to see what people come up with. Hope you are able to join!

I like this idea, and have something I'd like to submit, but I published it 3-4 days ago and can no longer edit. I don't want to republish while extended payouts are still going on, should I just drop a link in here to enter?

Sure, you may have to remind us as with will mostly be looking in the #steemitwriteoff

You are welcome to port your link of it in these comments if you are not able to tag #steemitwriteoff

Great idea, look forward to entering

Thanks! I hope you do!

Great idea!!

Thank you! Hope you decide to join!

I am on it. Expect a short fiction (or maybe even non-fiction) by the end of tomorrow!

Just as an aside, I am absolutely loving these collaborations and contests. I have pumped out two short stories and one chapter's worth of work over the last week, and I'm only going to be putting out more as time permits. This and others are fantastic conduits for creativity!

I love to see that this contest is inspiring people to write! I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

Ohhh, now this I can get down on! I'm no photographer, so photo challenges have been out, but I do enjoy a challenging form of writing, especially one with such a broad scope! Lovely first topic, could go so many ways.....puts on thinking cap. Good luck to all!

So happy to see that you are excited about this! So are we and we can't wait to see where your mind takes us! :)

I love this idea @truthmomma I will also put 5 SBD towards the winner of this contest!

Great! Once you send it to me with a memo saying "Steemit write off" I will add you to our donor list! Thank you so much for supporting the writers!!

Thank you @raymonjohnstone the post isn't editable, but we will include you in the next post. We are most likely doing a progress post today!

Great initiative @truthmomma! I'm in! Will start working on my post soon.

Yay looking forward to reading it!!

11:59pm in what timezone?

Great idea - thanks for doing this!
Could I submit this post please? It's just part one of a story, so is incomplete, but the whole thing will be a coming of age story and I hope the small amount I've managed to post so far will show enough to qualify for this challenge: https://steemit.com/writing/@me2/original-story-for-steemit-a-tale-of-life-weed-and-what-is-potentially-the-most-boring-game-on-earth-part-1

Nice! I love the theme and I'm already working on something so let the writing begin!

We are glad to hear it!

It's posted :)

sounds like a great contest!

Thank you, @stellabelle we would love to have you on board! @truthmomma and I both enjoy you work!

@truthmomma I sent you some sbd for the write-off!

@jamtaylor thank you for supporting the cause! I think we will make a progress post so we can update the donor list :) and rally even more SBD for the writers.

@truthmomma This is cool, but I'm not sure if you're aware of this, but a write off is what you do when something is no longer investing time or effort in.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Write-off

You'd probably get a lot more interest if the title were something like "Steemit Writers Competition!"

Neat project, but found it by accident while looking at some anti-steemit topics though. :(

@williambanks we understood that. We were coming up with our own Steemit jargon. We referencing a "play-off". That being said we were trying to come up it a good name that doesn't involve "Steemit" or and describes a writing competition, so we are right there with you. Feel free to give us any suggestions!

Here's my modest submission as I said I would :)

Actually I don't know how to submit, should I just post it here?

https://steemit.com/life/@the-alien/when-breaking-the-rules-is-the-coolest-thing-in-the-world

How will the community be notified...JUST CURIOUS :)

We will post the submissions and list the three winners tomorrow :)