My Constitutional Silver Stacking Binge Continues...Bring on the Washington Quarters!

I received another shipment from APMEX today, this time it was a $10 face value roll of 90% silver Washington quarters with a date range of the mid 1930's to 1964. Now I have a bit of each denomination of currency including some silver dollars I bought awhile back...but I'm not done yet and I'll be sharing my new acquisitions in the coming weeks and months.

These things are being melted down for their silver content and becoming more rare so I'm investing in this type of silver for awhile. This $10 lot was about $123 which was a pretty decent price. I wanted the standing liberty quarters but the ones with the dates still showing are going for about 30% more than the Washington quarters! And I want coins with dates on them. In 20 years or so who knows how much they'll be worth!

So here's what I received today

all.jpg

I remember commonly seeing the 1960 - 1964 quarters when I was a kid growing up in the 1980's but didn't know the little secret of the pre 1965 quarters so I didn't bother collecting them...ugh. I collected so many other coins back then.

I was a bit disappointed that APMEX sent a 1984 quarter with this lot. But this is their first mistake in the dozen or more orders I've sent their way so I'm not gonna complain about one quarter. I have 39 of them that are 90% silver so I'm good.

Booooo junk metal!

1984.jpg

I remember seeing @raybrockman show a trick awhile back that you can use with a stack of quarters to identify the silver ones vs the crappy new ones and I stacked them up with the 1984 in stack and sure enough its clear as day which one is the misfit!

See the real JUNK here? I'll no longer call 90% silver junk silver. It's CONSTITUTIONAL silver to me now and nothing less!

GARBAGE.JPG

See the color difference? That one in the middle is clearly different. It's the 1984.

So what am I going to order next? I really want some of those Standing Liberty quarters from 1930 and before and I think I'm gonna bite the bullet and pay the premium soon before it gets even higher!

I also want some Barber quarters which are from 1892-1916 and oddly enough a $10 face value lot of those is about $15 cheaper than the Liberty quarters. You can get the Liberty quarters without dates shown for $125 for 40 of them but screw that...I want some of each (Liberty and Barber) but can't quite decide what to order first (next time I get paid). I guess we'll all find out when I share them some evening when I come home from work to a package that's arrived!

Happy stacking all!

Sort:  

Beautiful collection!

I know you said you won't complain about 1 coin, but what if they are doing this to a few orders a day?? Either way its a mistake and its not what you paid for. Perhaps try writing an email saying "you were interested in buying more, but am worries there might be more in your next lot" they may give you a small discount to keep your custom? Worth a try!!

Ohh yeah nice coins too by the way 😁

Yeah I thought about that too...that would be pretty crappy if this was something they were doing regularly and purposefully. I may contact them and let them know about it...that I did notice. There's also the converse side of it--people could get all the coins they were supposed to but claim to have received a few bad ones.

I think I will let them know about it...thanks for the feedback and idea!

@cryptokeepr I can help you out if you are looking to buy some Standing Liberty Quarters and Barber Quarters. Shoot me an email if you like and we can discuss

[email protected]

Oh really?? I might just do that in the next week! Thanks for the offer and I'll probably get in touch with you as I'm definitely planning to add both types of quarter to my collection in the near future.

I want to get my hands on some before the premiums go up more eventually (which is pretty much a certainty since some are being melted down for their silver content).

Right on. I'm loving the constitutional silver as well. I just did a post on some of the dimes that I got, but I need to get back to the quarters as well.

Those are some nice dimes you picked up (just read your post)! I need to go shop around locally and see what I can find. I usually order my silver online but it seems like if you search enough you can get lucky and find great deals sometimes.

Yeah, it's worth the time to look around and see what people have. Sometimes you'll be surprised at what a shop will carry. And the more you go in, the more they'll tell you about their special deals. At least that's what I've seen. The local guy was telling me not to buy certain things because of the markup. I thought that was nice because he helped me get things that had lower markup, but were still nice pieces. Relationships help!

You are right. I always loved Constitutional Silver and now I am building a greater stack of them. The meltings will make the survivors to raise in price.

Absolutely! I've completely stopped ordering bars and rounds for the time being and I'm 100% focused on the Constitutional silver right now and for the foreseeable future. It'll be interesting to see how high the premiums go in years to come which will make our collections even more valuable!

I stack US Constitutional silver also. I just followed you, BTW. The stacking elders say that the quarters are the best ones to stack. STACK HARD, my friend. I look forward to following your journey. Take care.

Just returned the follow :)...I'm not surprised that the quarters are said to be the better ones to stack, especially seeing the premium on the Liberty quarters. From what I saw on a couple of vendor websites the Liberties are going for 30% more than the Washington quarters and even the Barbers if you want coins with dates on them. I read somewhere that the date wearing off of the Liberty quarters was a common problem, I guess that's why the ones with dates go for quite a bit higher price. I'd rather have coins with dates on them for sure though.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Nice you are stackin that constitutional fast! Some very shiney is to bad about that junk from the 80s though.

I don’t own much “constitutional silver”. I think it’s time to start. Thanks for the inspiration.