You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Do 3 Million Myopes Have to See About That?

Oh sorry about that! When I published on steemstem.io, I kept returning to steemit to edit things that I couldn't make work on the former, and then I read you saying (or at least I think that's what you said) on discord that the last edit is what counts, and so I thought doing that was pointless, and I instead concentrated on commenting via steemstem.io (as I'm doing now).

So, is it not pointless?

Sort:  

Why worry about how things appear on steemit? Why not just edit with our platform?

Actually... I shouldn't have to ask. So I will stop asking.

The commenting is nice, it helps. I am doing it too. Its actually why I have returned to leaving comments in the first place. :D

I wasn't editing just for steemit: I couldn't make things look right here either. And it's important to me how a post looks!

Also, I do think we should care how it looks on steemit as well, since steemit has more traction currently, and therefore chances are that the scientifically inclined will get their first taste of steemstem content from that site.

You shouldn't stop asking!

I also waver on writing posts here or on steemit. I find it easier to paste some of my writing straight onto the steemstem platform, but I often can't get images where I want them and I usually have to dive into steemit after I make the post to fix errors.

I'm assuming these technical issues will go away so I still plan on focusing most of my efforts on Steemstem.

Do you mind giving me detailed information about errors? How have you initially written the post, what have you exactly changed on the steemit editor, etc... Thanks in advance!

The biggest issue I've run into is if I paste a bullet point or numbered list from word. Somehow the formatting gets messed up and reads as

(html comment removed: [if !supportLists])1.) (html comment removed: [endif])

On steemit and doesn't show up on steemstem.

I go to steemit to fix these manually, but I've kept a few examples on one of my previous articles (https://steemit.com/steemstem/@tking77798/developing-a-develop-1549556482).

I haven't posted in a month, but I've got an article almost ready to go so I'll let you know if this problem re-occurs or if something else pops up.

I have fixed many things recently. In principle, this should be fine. However, feel free to reach me on discord if needed.

You should tell me what is not working so that I could fix it. I am planning to rewrite the post editing part later this week. Really. To make it better working.

I should check in more detail next time I post. One of the issues is compatibility, i.e. it will look good on steemstem.io or steemit but not both. Ideally, any post prepared for steemit should be just pasted into steemstem.io and be interpreted correctly, instead of using different code formats.

A thing that has to do with my personal taste, is that I use the captions beneath the pictures to make jokes. But they appear too small on steemstem.io, so a person is likely to just skip them, thinking they are just links to the images.

The problem here is that steemit allows for breaking the markdown syntax, and we don't. I can probably fix most of these things (the only problem being time).

Concerning the captions, this is something I can't fix. You are using both a multiple-hastag and a "sub" environment. As a result, we got a tiny result here. This is not really a bug but a feature of the font choice. using only the sub part should be sufficient, no?

I guess the real underlying problem might be that you can't write something that will look the same on every site. Perhaps I should preface my posts with 'this post is best viewed at steemstem.io' and give a direct link to the post (tough I'd have to post it first!), as the very first line of the post, when I manage to get things looking right.

EDIT: Cos often my captions are long, and if I don't do the hashtag and sub, the lines spill over on top of each other and are unreadable. I experimented till I got something that worked. But on steemstem.io a different rationale might work better.

Maybe can you try <h6> and <sub> in HTML? I am however not too sure about the result.

Btw editing a comment doesn't seem to work. I edit it, I click 'update', but then the change doesn't appear.

Any issue with the steemconnect token (this will be automatically fixed when we will offer other ways to authenticate in v0.8 :p)

therefore chances are that the scientifically inclined will get their first taste of steemstem content from that site.

I couldn't disagree with you more.