You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three years of SteemSTEM - a window on our curation effort!

in #steemstem5 years ago

We actually have a team of honour members who plays this role. When we notice a new user, we are trying to send him/her to our discord and put him/her in contact with the honour members who could guide him/her. It works well when this is used, but users are not that demanding for such a service.

For the filtering, we are mainly using our own app. I have ideas on how to develop a full curation platform on it, but mostly no time to implement that because it is a subsequent piece of development, and I do that during my free times. I hope this will help us discovering new users :)

Finally, we also hope our activities on Facebook, Reddit and cie will help. The future is bright, IMO, but we move slowly due to the fact that the most active of us are overwhelmed. I guess this is the fate of any Steem project, somehow :)

Sort:  

Discord works, but i feel like if you have issues getting ppl to just sign up on steem, it doubles the chance to loose them if they also have to sign up for another thing. I know that's just where things are at right now, but i hope one day all the apps link together, and have messages built in. Then they don't have to jump through so many hoops to get fully on board.

Posted using Partiko Android

I also ave the development of a "sign-up made easy" page on the app, and also allowing people to comment without having an account (like steempress does). This yields the same problem as before: my time is very (very very very) limited, I am not a JS dev (I learned it because I needed to, to develop the app) and I am thus not super fast.

However, I prefer doing things slowly and right than hastily and wrongly.

PS: also, finding a dev working for free (or the beauty of the project) is not an option (we already tried that).