The Fictional Worlds of Duncan Cary Palmer

in #story6 years ago

“If you write one story, it may be bad; if you write a hundred, you have the odds in your favor.”
– Edgar Rice Burroughs –


Among many other things,

I like to think of myself as a writer. In fact I spent a number of years slightly diverging from my engineering career to write technical manuals. My boss recognized that I not only understood complex technology, but could also describe it cogently.

Duncan Cary Palmer is a pen name.

I wear it like a cloak when I write fiction and poetry, or when I'm writing political diatribes and curious theological speculations.

The notion that I should write more fiction was recently advanced by author friend John J. Geddes ( @johnjgeddes ). That impulse has now been fanned into flame by the kind support of members of The Writers' Block.

Buoyed by such encouragement, I recently wrote "Too Much of A Good Thing," set in a fictional world that has been knocking about in my head for many decades, and more recently, "Jesus Wept."

Table of Contents

Future and Historical Theological Fiction
Image courtesy of NASA and http://unsplash.com

At times I wake up with stories in my head.

Two major fictional worlds fill my thoughts, and I want to tell you about them.

I find these fictional universes compelling because I believe they are real. Both are based on what to me are concrete realities informed by my Christian faith.

Biblical Christianity envisions two overwhelming, cataclysmic events, one past, and one yet to come. The past event is the flood that occurred in the days of Noah. The future event transcends human imagination because it pictures God regenerating the entire physical universe as easily as a man might change coats.

Writing as Duncan Cary Palmer, I have begun and hope to continue telling stories set in those presently inaccessible ages of the universe—before the Flood and after the Restoration.

The antediluvian world and the flood.

The bible describes in surprising detail an almost unthinkable catastrophe. It speaks of a flood that, due to its overwhelming nature, still echoes in the minds and legends of all mankind.

Stories I write in this "historical/fictional/theological" space (like "Too Much of A Good Thing") are driven by an unusual, and possibly unprecedented combination of world-building elements.

Although I am not a strict biblical literalist, I don't casually dismiss statements that may appear superficially implausible. For example, I accept the reported life spans of Adam and his peers. Rather than dismiss them, I choose to consider how extreme length of life would impact society.

Though widely dismissed, scripture also asserts that the flood of water was global in extent. It utterly annihilated all of humanity along with all creatures living and moving on the face of the earth. Primed with that belief, I find that modern research has uncovered significant evidence of massive water features on the moon and Mars. This suggests to me that the flood of Noah may have been not limited to Earth, but in fact solar-system wide as well.

Another oft overlooked feature of this ancient world is its universal common language. How rapidly might technology have advanced, given an ability to accumulate learning across eight or nine centuries while communicating perfectly with peers? And so, you may find unexpected surprises in my stories, including human space travel in Noah's day.

New Heavens and a New Earth to come.

Don't be misled by cartoon caricatures of heaven. The bible contains significant and highly detailed information about what the future universe may be like. I've already written quite a few stories from this perspective.

For example, the eight-part series "Whispering Hope," and the whimsical account of "How To Deal With That First, Rough Morning In Heaven...". I also speculate on logical/theological conundrums, as in "The Most Popular Person In Heaven...".

Starting soon, I hope to begin delivering "Postcards from The Glory," assorted and sundry fictional stories that take place in that future, unimaginably perfect universe. Fellow writers, do you have any thoughts on how I might hold readers' interest when—by definition—a story cannot possibly contain a crisis?

This present dark age.

To be sure, there are stories to be found sandwiched between the cataclysmic bookends of The Flood and The Fiery Rebirth of the universe. The ones that interest me the most have to do with overlooked implications of miracles reported in the bible, and those that help reveal humanity's blind spot when it comes to thoughtlessly submitting to our self-appointed human overlords.

The story "Jesus Wept" is an example of the latter. I have yet to write some fiction about notable miracles, but have several ideas.

I have observed—as did King David when confronted by Nathan with a vivid story—that some of the greatest truths are best communicated to my emotions in the form of authentic fiction.

I truly hope that you, gentle reader, will choose to stick with me and that you'll be surprised at and pleased with the stories yet to come. Rest assured, I do not take you for granted. Without readers, what good would it do me to write?

divider.png

~FIN~


divider.png


For an exhaustive (or exhausting!) exposure to the writing, background, quirks, and idiosyncrasies of the writer sometimes known as Duncan Cary Palmer, please visit the Library... CLICK the shelf below.

Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Fiction is safe in a way, my friend. When you assert theological ideas and beliefs you tend to polarize your audience into an agreement/disagreement dichotomy whereas fiction allows for a poetic license and a willing suspension of disbelief on the readers' part.

Some of my characters like Jay Randall make me wince - especially the way he treats his literary shepherd/love interest, Melody Bride. Jay is conflicted like me - he allows me to explore consequences of my own flawed personality that inevitably lead to bad choices. Ouch!

I see so much untapped potential in you and the path of least resistance to allowing that to blossom is through literary art and fiction - it allows you to indulge in allegory like John Bunyan or modern fiction such as Michael Phillip's, A Rift in Time, which I know you'd enjoy and I can see you writing in this genre

Hey, John!

Thank you for saying that out loud. It helps me to hear it in so many words, and further encourages me along the fiction path. I do have some rather outré thoughts that I wish to explore in considerable detail, and I don't (usually—except in my more cynical moments) want to alienate my readers.

I've just now looked at Michael Phillip's Amazon pages... Talk about prolific! I'll have to give him a read.

Thank you once more, John, for your kind encouragement. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

I am reading a Michael Phillip's book presently. Legends of the Celtic Stone - huge read with lots of history. He actually writes similarly to @johnjgeddes.

What John said to you though is true . You have a vast library of knowledge and an endless imagination that can be used to tell your story (whoever you are) through your aliases....Duncan Palmer, Creatr, or?

Thank you for the encouragement, friend.

There are two fictional universes that I'm most interested in; the antediluvian world, and the New Heavens and New Earth. They are both fictional only in the sense that they are not directly accessible to our observation. I have very strong beliefs about both.

I published this limited "backgrounder" about them here on Steemit a couple of days ago. Both universes are remote enough to be more or less "safe," but both are (I think) misunderstood by most, and consequently full of surprises that are interesting--at least to me.

I recently placed second in a fiction contest here with a story set in one of those universes. :) I hope to write more stories in both.

Hey, my Old Friend John!

I today had occasion to revisit this post, and rediscovered your very thoughtful and encouraging comments. Thank you again for the boost they gave me then, and again now!

The occasion is an attempt to revisit my fictionalized antediluvian universe--consequent to a challenge from another friend of mine who knows my proclivities to submit a story to "Silence and Starsong," a new 'Zine looking for Sci-Fi and Fantasy stories penned with a Christian worldview.

But there's a third-order effect also now operating, thanks to re-reading your remarks.😄

I am part of a "band of brothers" in our local church with whom I share a large common overlap of belief, while diverging strongly in one area that I consider of paramount importance. My efforts to persuade them span years, and have thus far been ineffective. Your renewed encouragement has me imagining stories to slip past their impenetrable mental armor, perhaps resulting in them actually thinking about my viewpoint.

Blessings, my friend!

😄😇😉

@creatr

Hi Creatr,
Sorry for the delay in replying - I should check my replies more often. I still stand by my remarks - I think you'll find the fastest way to a person's heart is through a story. Jesus used stories all the time to teach spiritual truths and reach hearts. I have a friend I've known since I was 17 - he's a classical anarchist and we bump heads all the time. He once asked me if I would shelter him from the law if the police came looking for him...Um, NO! He is constantly asking about my beliefs and believes his religion is anarchism as mine is Christianity. He's not wrong, but after all these years a mutual respect has set in. I'm never going to argue him into the kingdom and besides, the Lord told me he doesn't need salesmen. Yeah, that was a slap in my face. So now, I'm a little closer to him and he's a bit closer to me. If I'm the only Bible he's ever going to read, God help him! I pray every night for Him to help me--maybe that's the point of all this...I kind of think it is.

Wow, I also should check my replies more often; just now seeing this...

Thanks for the added commentary, and the poignant personal example.🙏

"If I'm the only Bible he's ever going to read, God help him!"

Amen! I will pray that the LORD softens and opens your friend's heart to the incredibly good news of Jesus' Kingdom.😀

And perhaps you and your friend are more closely aligned than you imagine; While I'm at it, I'll also pray that the LORD might open your eyes to see that Jesus' Kingdom is indeed "anarchy" in the sense of "no (other) rulers." The first Christians' insistence that "Jesus is Lord" clearly said to the powers at that time that "Caesar is NOT." My flavor of anarchy has room for none but THE "Blessed and ONLY Sovereign," Jesus.

"Jesus used stories all the time to teach spiritual truths and reach hearts."

Now you've got me trying to imagine a story that might draw you and your friend even closer.

And, since my last message, I've nearly completed the story I was hoping to write for publication. I'm beginning to believe that I may yet make the 30 September deadline. The tale, whether or not the magazine accepts it, will--God willing--eventually become part of my antediluvian series here on Hive.

Great to hear from you again, John.

BTW, remember the Good Samaritan story?

If your friend ever does come to you seeking shelter from "the law," I hope the Lord will bring that story to mind.🤣

BLESSINGS!

Your ability to draw the reader into your writing is truly a gift. Your story is thought provoking and has left me pondering the world God has in store for us. Blessings to you and yours this day and always.

Congratulations @creatr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fun! You do great at writing. btw, you have really great post. So much content and great links. I could get lost for hours in just one of your posts. Keep up the great work.

Thanks, friend. Funny, I just read your post about the wing collapse... ;)

I hope you have a chance to read some of my recent fiction. I've been really encouraged by taking part in The Writers' Block. ;)

P.S. Any chance you'll organize another meet-up anytime soon? ;)

Yes sir! Now that I have my P3 I can fly at Torrey Pines. So, I was thinking about having a saturday afternoon meet-up there. They have a snack shop and some picnic benches there where we can hang out. IF the conditions are good we could even watch people fly around. I will bring my gear and show everyone what it looks like. I was thinking about a saturday in the beginning of December. Not sure tho.

That would be AWESOME... I love hanging around the port and dreaming. And I'd love to see your gear, and hey, actually meet you face to face, bro. ;)

Keep me posted. :D

Before the flood, and after the restoration, not certain which one I am more intrigued by. :)

Hahahahaha! Please let me know as I continue to write and you read some more examples of both! :D

Count on it! :D

flooding in the moon and solar system. Interesting. Thanks for sharing @creatr.

Thank you Troy.

Have a look at this:

"Remnants of a mega-flood on Mars"

Wanted to take a moment and wish you and Duncan a blessed Thanksgiving my friend!

Thanks, Troy.
Happy Thanksgiving to you as well. I hope you're around some people who love you! :D

Thoughtful post and I relate to your process...upvoted, following. @dakini5d

Thank you, friend. I hope you enjoy reading some of my fiction.

I appreciate your visit and comment. ;)

really a nice blog....like it fnd..