FREEDOM TRAIN (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

The train is coming,
I hear the low rumble
of our awaking
it's taken a while
but I always knew
we were not forsaken

the enemy is
anything that takes
our minds away
from where it's
supposed to be,

negative news
gives me the blues
race baiting,
war, endless
political debating

the Age of Distraction
is on life support,

as it draws its
last raspy breath,
know this is a birth,
not a death

so happy that
I dance inside,
chills course up and
down my spine,

we are alive and this
is our time to right
so many wrongs,
finally a chance
to ignite our own
enlightened song
of freedom.


Did you miss my last poem? If so, read it here.

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter go receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Sort:  

Thanks for the sharing this really cool piece of work, namaste :)

You're welcome! I appreciate your comment! Namaste.

Love it great stuff upvote and following

My freedom train

traveklll5d5f6.gif

But seriously, I really liked it

Hilarious! Love it. Thanks @sompitonov. Our pup would totally be down for that.

Oh my god, what a pretty pup! ^_^

Our pup would totally be down for that.

let them grow up a little more, and then ride)

Thanks! He's almost 9 years old but he's in good shape. Amstel's been an amazing dog.

Probably be the owner of such a dog is happiness...

very nice poem

Thank you! Is that Buster Keaton?!

Nice work, look forward to more and thanx for sharing.

nice poem man. its great. i enjoy reading this with tone

My favourite of the poems you've shared on Steemit so far, ericvancewalton - love it! :o)

Thank you @jaytaylor! This is one of the newer ones I've written.

Man.., that made me feel good. Beautiful words strung together to provoke a such uplifting feeling, in those fortunate enough to read...

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

“When we are in love, we are convinced nobody else will do. But as time goes, others do do, and often do do, much much better.”

Emancipate your mind from the powers that be now!
dubloon135

Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds. - Bob Marley

Nice work. This reminds me of Bob Dylan. Would fit perfectly with his style of music and message. Like a rolling stone....

I'm a victim of succumbing to all the negativity out there as much as the next person so its nice to have someone shake us out of our trance.

Agreed, I was flipping between Bob Dylan and Jim Morrison in my head.

I'm humbled to have my work mentioned in the same sentence with those two.

I'm sorry, but I'm too dumb to understand this poem.

the train symbolizes the hope, I think with that in mind you can try a second reading, and maybe a third one as well. it is inspiring.

You're not too dumb, poetry sometimes has a lot of ideas condensed into a few words. @avtzis.petros explains it well. The train does symbolize hope. Whenever you read a poem that doesn't quite click read it again, don't overthink but rather feel. Sometimes poems mean different things to different people too.

Maybe not too dumb, just too lazy ti think it out.

Hello @ericvancewalton.

Sorry to hijack your post with a great poem.

Could you please read this one -> Hyperion?

Thank you very much. I appreciate it!

I would like to ask your permission to audio-narrate your poem and publish that on my own blog. I will of course credit you and link to your article. Let me know if you have any other terms before you can allow this to happen. Thanks.

I would be fine with you doing this @mughat! I'm excited to see how it turns out! I appreciate you asking permission.