TO RUN FREE (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago

We shared a brief
sliver of time,
you and I
that will forever hold
in a white-knuckled grip

we tried all of the silly games
I threw the ball, you looked at it,
tail wagging feverishly

we grew up together,
you were my friend when I had none
we shared many a young
summer days running free
in the grassy fields

as I grew stronger and you grew older,
it was more difficult for you to nip at my heels,
the runs evolved to sprints,
tapering to trots
and then only occasional walks
until we came to an agreement
that naps held precedence over walks

as your sight failed you
you made use of what
you had without a whimper

pretty soon naps
held precedence over most things
but your old gray eyes
still sparkled with life

I would come home
to be greeted by the sound
of your tail thumping
the hardwood floor

you asked for nothing
more than to be loved
and you returned that love tenfold

I will always remember
that day that your eyes
lost their sparkle,
the day we had to face a harsh reality,
the day we had to truly show our love

as we said our last goodbyes
your tail thumped the table
and for a brief second
I swear I saw that old glimmer

I like to think it was a thank you
for letting you run free once again.


(gif sourced from Giphy.com)


Did you miss today’s episode of Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it.

These past few months on Steemit have truly been a lifelong dream come true for me. There are many more very exciting things I have to share with you in the coming months! To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

Very touching ...

Resteemed :)

I think a lot of us can relate to this. Great way to put it into poetry, cheers!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

Oh my gosh. :(

I wrote this about a dog we had when I was a child. She was the best, a stray that ran around the neighborhood for weeks before my father let her in the house. She was with us for the next twelve years.

Awesome man! Just awesome! I am a huge dog man myself.

beautiful words, beautiful poem, a true delight real congratulations example to follow

You truly inspire me, I wish I could see this much light in things

I'm glad to hear that @pigatto! I just noticed my life became so much better when I started focusing on the positive and trying to shed the negative. You can't shield yourself from all of the negatives (events and people) in life but you disassociate yourself from a lot of it.

Looks like it could be my dogs brother :)

This brought tears to My eyes
No Joke
Awesome Peice of work here
@ericvancewalton
Steem On!

Thank you, @ann! I'm glad it touched you in some way!

:( great post... our pets our so precious and they are a true family members. :). You have a new follower.....

Thanks for the upvote, comment, and follow @peacekeeper! They are truly family members. They're so trustworthy and faithful. We have an 8 year old beagle now and he's the best dog I've ever had.

Aw crap! You gotta warn a girl that she needs a tissue before she continues reading.

  • snot bubble moment

soooooooooooo nice :)

What a moving and beautiful poem.
A fitting tribute to what was obviously a dearly loved pet and friend. X