A Breakdown of My Top 3 Favourite Sports... Ever!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Well, it looks like another great day is upon. The sun is belting out some crazy heat and people are already piling their families into the car, ready to make the most of this rare but oh-so-welcome phenomena. I swear, sometimes you can forget there actually is a great big yellow ball in the sky, hidden behind those dark, brooding clouds, most of the year. All well and good, right? Well, no. I feel rough. In fact, more so today and pigging out on some more greasy takeaways and drink last night. Ever felt like the beauty of your surroundings is dampened by the way you feel about yourself? That just about sums me up this morning. But hey, sitting around and moping about it ain't gonna get us nowhere, right? So, my plan for this afternoon is snatch up a mate of mine who lives locally and go play some sports. Most of them do but I'm the only who doesn't... anymore. Because I used to be an avid watcher as well as participator in competitive physical events. Not only is it great fun but also good for burning off those extra calories. Therefore, keeping the momentum going of this new spark of enthusiasm today, I thought I'd share with you my top three sports and see if you guys can relate to any of them.


3. Snooker:

Alright, alright, I know I'm started off with one of the most sedentary games I could have chosen, but a favourite of mine it firmly is. And quite a workout for the mind as you are constantly thinking of ways in which to outwit your opponent and improve your own game. In fact, the perfect complement to any physical sport is something like this! After all, the mind "and" body, need to be put through their paces to remain strong and honed.

I remember us having our own snooker table in the spare room. Wish I had photos of it as it'd make for a great keepsake of the old days. I was around 14 and used to practice every day with my friends. I must admit, I got rather good at it after a while and would regular beat my mates. All except this one guy, who also kept boasting how he had met the legendary Steve Davis and beaten him on a few occasions. Bullshit of the highest order, of course, but we all used to laugh at ow he never backed down from that argument and always stuck to his guns. I gotta give him credit for that, at the very least! But I digress. I have a fond love of the game and haven't played in years now. I think it's well overdue for myself to pop down to my local sports store, purchase a good cue, gather some of the boys around and enjoying some of that "green baize" action again.


2. Badmington:

This one is not only infinite amounts of fun to play, but also great as part of an exercise program. I love this game and wish they would incorporate it more into British sporting culture. Again, my memories harken but to my teens. A time when I couldn't sit still for more than a few minutes at a time (the complete opposite to now) and had a much larger social circle in general. Again, this one friend of mine, come to mind. An absolute connoisseur of the sport, this guy was one step away from the professional circuit. In fact, myself and another friend would challenge this guy to a two-on-one match up. I'm not even joke. We'd be lucky to get a single point throughout. He was that damn good. I'm still good buddies with the both of them to this very day.

But yes, the enjoyment of the most physical of sports, is off the charts. What I love is you work out quite a sweat whilst having so much fun. And we're still talking about badminton, by the way, lol! I believe so many people begin a gym routine but then give up soon after because of a declining lack of motivation. Getting fit should be enjoyable and not a chore for the body and mind. Therefore, badminton seems the perfect answer to that. I can't tell you how much I love this game. We have two huge sports centers near to where we live. And I'm signed up to none of them. But hopefully after today, all that is about to change. I know for a fact they cater for several full-sized courts and nothing would make me happier than rekindle my activities towards this sport once more. Nothing except for...


1. Tennis:

Ah, my first "love". No pun intended. This sport is almost a passion for me. We were lucky enough to have some tennis courts near us and to make matters even better, they were free! Summers growing up in my hometown, could not be complete without many a day spent playing tennis with my friend, who also had an acute fondness for the game. I just calling it like it is so please don't think I'm boasting, but I was unbeatable within our group. Serving was what it was all about. Well, blasting the ball as hard as I could towards my opponent. There are so many stories I could tell you about some of the madness that ensued involving us and this most excellent of games, but I'll save that for another time.

As you can imagine, with the hundreds of hours of practice we had, all of us got quite good. I'm sure I could have made it to the amateur leagues circuit, at least. The power and precision were truly on point and could very well have been capitalized on. But that's by the wayside now. I love this game like no other and this sport firmly takes the number one spot. Every year, I "make" time to watch Wimbledon at home, much to the annoyance of my wife. This is another game I haven't played in years and now, whilst typing this post, a newfound resurgence of incentive and determination, is dawning. Hell, I've even got my old racket that's been collecting dust all this time. My "winning" racket, lol"! Yes, this awesome sport lies comfortably at the number spot and by a country mile.


Right, that was a cool trip down memory lane for me. I feel great thinking about those times and even greater when I'm finally back in the game. I mean, the weather is absolutely screaming for it to happen! So, with that, I'd love to know what sports you guys love and whether you still play them or not. Let the good times roll, y'all!

Enjoy!

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Cool games. Back then, I like basketball, tennis, and football but now I feel am a lil too old. Got too many responsibilities, I don't think in those direction.

Oh man! Try to make a little time to enjoy some of that good ol' sporting action. Great for body and mind alike. :)

I love both tennis and snooker. I suck at snooker, though. But I'm quite good at tennis. I'm great at my best sport, soccer!

Sounds like we're two peas in a pod (except for the soccer bit, lol) ! :)

You need great intelligent to play does games, strength, you have to be physical fit to play long tennis and badminton while snooker you have to be good when it comes to calculations. The three games are interesting I enjoy playing them myself. Thanks @ezzy for sharing this great insight!

Glad you can relate to the greatness of these popular sports. Need to get them going again in my life. :)

Because I used to be an avid watcher as well as participator in competitive physical events.

Haha like me, part of the cheering crew...its nice to know you like lawn tennis, i do too, but you know what, my father is in his 60's and he still plays because he loves it. We watch all the Wimbledon and Australian opens here too, quite the best sport in the world, my favorite player is the king of the clay Rafael N. What about you?

Awesome that you have that affinity with the game too. My favourite player is, by far, Federer... But Nadal is right up there, especially on clay. Two incredible players right there... :)

Yes you are right, you are a FEDFan, that is cool, maybe we will play some friendly together sometime

And tennis is a game we start with "Love All" :-)

Couldn't have put that better myself! :)

I am going out helping again in some matches this Saturday

Well you certainly threw me off the scent with your image @ezzy and wasn't expecting those three! 😁

I'm with @rea on this one and not a big fan of tennis. Cycling's my thing. As a spectator sport I mean!

My exercise for today will probably be walking to the beach. Hope yours is a little more energetic. 😁

Walking! That's where I'm at right now! And that's mostly to the fridge and back, lol. Never got into cycling but it's never too late... :)

Track cycling is really exciting to watch. I recommend you get yourself down to the Velodrome and give it a go! 😁

My update about these 3...

  1. I played snooker only in my mobile. Even, i do not know about all the details about it.
  2. This is my favorite one. These days, my only play is Badminton. Even though, we can play it in our home only for 1-2 months.
  3. I never played this one. Except mobile games. But i really love this one. I watch the tennis in the TV. @Federar is my favorite one.

Sport on the mobile! That's not a bad starting point, lol! Btw, Federer is my favourite and I absolutely "hate" Murray. Sorry, Andy fans...

I also guess so, as a starter. Ha ha.
Looks like, you will may be flagged by the Murray fans. ;)

im a big tennis fan ...great post

Me too! :)

Snooker is one of my favorite out of the 3 you mentioned, I eve ln have a game on it on my phone
ADD34239-F277-4060-B1B2-7479DE51F279.jpeg

Your choice of sports aren’t bad

I really love snooker. It's quite relaxing and nicely paced. Must get a session arranged pronto. :)

This post reminds me of when I was still in my early teens. Back then I use to be a lover of the badmington game. Its takes real commitment to become a good player of the badmington. I can recall then that I always go for trainings every morning and evenings. but right now Im too busy to create such time for myself anymore because right now all im pursing is how to earn a living and settle down as a man.
Thanks alot for sharing @ezzy

I miss those day, buddy. Adulthood paired up with responsibility can get in the way of so many things we used to love in the past. Hope you rekindle your love of the game soon. :)

I will
Thanks alot

Really nice gaming post......Sport is a good exercise....Every day, both the heart and mind are good at sports.......I love playing cricket more. Besides, I play your favorite games sometimes.........Should work every day as well as work...........

This writing is good I enjoyed and your favourite sports also my favourite

I can second that your serve at tennis is really amazing!! Let's play again very soon. :)