My Personal Thoughts on "Doctor Strange"

in #story6 years ago (edited)

We've all been lucky enough to be introduced to a world of different comic book superheroes all stemming from the innate genius that is Stan Lee. Though you'd be forgiven somewhat if after a certain period of time, they begin to blend into one, big character mesh of super strength, speed, telekinesis or agility. Most of these iconic heroic powerhouses usually possess extraordinary abilities contained within the "physical" space. Therefore, I found it a refreshing change when the forums exploded with word that MCU were on the brink of giving Doctor Strange the cinematic treatment. With a firm focus on powers pertaining to time manipulation, inter-dimensional travel and mind control, the makers of this film were given free rein to let their creative minds go crazy. Myself, as well as countless others on a global scale, were very excited to see first-hand what the results would prove to be like. Could MCU have created yet another instant classic in the making?

1.jpeg


After a thrilling opening where the evil sorcerer Kaecilius (played by Mads Mikkelsen) and a group of his cohorts manage to steal some ancient texts from a sacred temple, we move to a more present day setting in New York City. Dr. Stephen Strange (played by Benedict Cumberbatch) is a neurosurgeon whose lack of personality is more than made for up by his proficient skills with a scalpel. One fateful day soon after, he becomes involved in a serious car accident rendering his hands useless and therefore unable to continue his prosperous career. Having discovered a former paraplegic who seemed to have miraculously gained the ability to walk again, he is led deep within the Himalayas to the temple of Kamar-Taj. Here, he finds and tries to befriend the Ancient One (played by Tilda Swinton) who possesses powers beyond his wildest imaginations. Also having been the teacher to the villainous Kaecillius who is growing ever more powerful and dangerous, she decides to take Doctor Strange under her wing and show him not only how to heal his crippling condition but also the secrets to unlocking the almost limitless powers of the mystical arts and human mind. But will it be enough to foil the as-yet unbeknownst deathly plans of Kaecillius and his vastly superior form.

The originality contained within this movie is simply astounding. I've always thought of Doctor Strange as a unique character separate from the rest of the MCU. His reality-altering skills have far reaching potential consequences. And these are showcased here with a visual flair and elegance I've yet to see in any other film ever made. Rooms, places, buildings, even cities are spun and manipulated with some sort of a kaleidoscopic swirling type effect. They are a sight to behold and allow for some truly memorable action sequences. All the while making complete sense in regards to the underlying narrative and story-line. Watching the forces of good and evil battle within these inter-dimensional planes were an absolute joy and go on to create one of the best Marvel productions committed to screen. Everything in this movie (including an incredible set piece in which the Ancient One first unveils her powers to him at Kamar-Taj) is told with such loving care and respect to the rich original source material. The creators of this project have outdone themselves on almost every level with, it must be said, one of the smartest and most innovative finale's I've seen in a movie. Now that is a sweeping statement, but I believe justifiably so.

The acting throughout is top notch, with Cumberbatch playing the perfect lead role. So good in fact that I can literally not picture anybody else in his stead. Add to that the uncanny striking resemblance he has to the comic book character itself. Swinton provides for the perfect tutor, coming across as wise and patient following the years of training hundreds of students in the mystical arts. Even Mads Mikkelsen brings with him a strong on-screen persona, finding that fine balance between acting out a stereotypical bad guy and over playing the part. A stellar casting job across the board with this one. The comedic elements, whilst there, are timed well and most importantly "at the correct moments". That's in stark contrast to Guardians of the Galaxy and has always been a pet hate of mine concerning numerous Marvel movies. But not in the case of Doctor Strange by a long shot. If any criticisms are to be cited against it here, well, that would be a tough call indeed. As I've mentioned in my previous reviews, if Marvel just doesn't do it for you then anything they throw at that particular demographic of people will simply never be enough. It "is" a comic book movie at the end of the day and I know some who refuse to ever be converted over. But that's just looking at it through some kind of pedantic tunnel vision. Criticisms to be had? I honestly can't think of any.

I had an absolute blast with Doctor Strange and I struggle to think of a Marvel movie I enjoyed more. It had the heart, the visuals, the sound and the cinematography to culminate in Marvel's strongest offspring so far. I know that this movie was the setup for much largest offerings on the way for this most unique and intriguing of characters. I'm fully on-board and consider it another most outstanding feat from this ingenious studio that just can't seem to put a foot wrong. DC? You certainly have your work cut out.

My Verdict: (9/10)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

*Source: (1,2,3,4)

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

I have nothing to say about the movie but you always amaze me with the way you can string words together. I have not found anyone else here on Steemit that can build an image through their writing more precisely than you.

As I have always told you, you have the gift. From winning the first Steemfest award to consistently creating the best posts and short stories. I am glad to have met you back when we were screaming into the void of steemit chat post promotion.

:D

Oh mate! Heartfelt words that are echoed back to you tenfold. You are "my" role model on this platform when it comes to structured, intelligently written and original posts and my feelings haven't changed one bit in that regard. It's certainly been a ride, my friend... And things are still only just getting started!

Bless you, my brother. Thanks... :)

I loved it and will prob watch it again. Good acting and story line. ;)

I love this film with a passion too. Thanks for dropping by. :)

I agree with every word, as it often goes.

Cumberbatch is perfect for that role, as you've mentioned, and I loved how his version of the unbearably arrogant and pompous surgeon worked from the start. Plus, you can tell he's having a great time portraying Dr. Strange (I loved his cameo in a recent Marvel movie, too). And I guess I agree with the fact that Dr. Strange is somewhat different from the other superheroes, and they managed to let it reflect within the movie. The ending is typical Dr. Strange through and through. This has been one of my favorites from Marvel, also, it reaches levels of brilliance comparable to the first Iron Man.

Keep 'em coming, @ezzy :D

I concur with every word of your great comment. I love that Marvel decided upon a character that doesn't just ground and pound bodies to smitheriens but instead uses intelligent means of strategically taking down the enemy. This movie had everything and I feel I'll be going back to this one for years to come. :)

This is one hell of a movie. The cast, the CGI, the dress up.It's just amazing and gives a complete turn to the MCU. I think Kaecilius is such a relatable villain. You understand and feel his sorrow and the reason behind his goal. Yet you understand that is not the best way to deal with his lost.

Also the inner struggle of Strange understanding Kaecilius and finding the secrets of The Acient One and his own journey. Just a really enjoyable story.

Totally, bud. It's not just the "whizz bang" of amazing special effects but the heart contained within the characters and storyline. You felt thoroughly invested the entire time and for me, those are the hallmarks for a really great production. :)

I saw the movie and also thought it was pretty good. It was fill of sacred geometry symbols and the occult. I need to see it again to remember all the details, but I remember the ending was good also.

Actually, you've pointed out a great little highlight about this movie. The fact that it's got huge rewatchability. :)

It's been awhile since I watched it. My favorite fight scene had to be the one between The Ancient One and Kaecilius, especially when the buildings start to fold inwards due to multiple dimensional planes shifting around. Dormammu being outsmarted by Doctor Strange's infinity stone into a time loop was priceless.

This had to be one of my favorites as well, had no interest in going to it in theaters, didn't see much on it, then blown away after finding it on Netflix... So good

Wow! That's a great way to be introduced to this movie. Neutral expectations only for them to be surpassed in the best ways possible. Glad you liked it, bud. :)

I loved this movie! I would give it a 8, lol!

Close enough, lol!

Here's $20 for supporting Steemit.
Just click the link to Join Monetize Coin

https://monetizecoin.com/?ref=5a566f9c2e4cd

that's cool, my grandmother had a bunch of my uncle's comics from the 60's and I always thought the Doctor Strange ones were awesome.

Yes, the rich history is prevalent in the movies. Another aspect that I love about Doctor Strange.

Very good story and like a director

Awesome review man! I think I'm going to check it out tonight! Thx for the post, I'll be following!

i purely love the character doctor strange it shows the focus and ingenuity of the team, looking for more from doctor strange .

Seconded, bud. :)

Thsnks for the insight ..I will check it out since you rate 9 out of 10.

:o very good

I didn't see that movie, but I watched the Thor movie in the theatre.

Dr. Strange was also in that movie, and I really liked his character, even though he was in there pretty short time.

After reading your reaction to the movie, I'll definitely watch it.

Thor is good, but for me, nothing compared to the brilliance contained in Doctor Strange. Give it a whirl and tell me what you think. :)

9/10 is pretty high rating. Sounds like you convinced me to take a look at “Doctor Strange”
Thank you for you review!
Resteemed!

Hope you enjoy it even half as much as I did, buddy. :)

Always liked this guy, was future, ancient and science ll rolled into 1.

Many interesting facets made up the main character. I loved that about this movie. :)

I like the movie doktor stroge

hola amigo buenas noches excelente post, tienes mi voto, te invito en cuanto tengas tiempo y te des un paseo por mi blog quizas y te guste algo.saludos

Good job, im vote.

I really enjoyed the movie, Dr. Strange is one of my favorite superheroes mostly because he's is different by far. Loved all the effects and acting. Thank you for sharing.

Yes, the diversity to this character is off the chain! Love it...

besides couple visuals which were quite amazings i was exepcting better

That was a totally epic movies and I really enjoyed it.

I too loved it very much! Nice review, and very well written! Resteemed!

One of my marvel's favorites movies too , I think it was different from other marvel characters

We upvote this pic

Dr. Strange to present this film to someone is ridiculous. If you are following up to now, you have already lost a lot. Continue to lose. (Damn this movie is great) Marvel Studios is the best and most intelligent movie I think. Okay, there's science fiction, but it's so simplified. That's a great detail. Benedict Cumberbatch (SHERLOCK) is a great player. I would like to thank all of you who have the hard work in this film. Thaks @ezzy

Wow...another beautiful one you shared..its a nice illustration @ezzy

I have this thing for movies, am always there when I hear a nice movie name, this is a nice post

While I enjoy Marvel movies, I'm not the biggest fan of them. I like superheroes with more "magical" powers, such as Doctor Strange (this movie was my favorite). One thing apart from the story I loved was the effects. I watched it in a cinema in 3D and it was so cool (especially the beginning and the end). Like you said, the visuals are amazing, the acting was great and so was the sound.

I'm hoping we get to see a bit more of Doctor Strange in the upcoming movie, Avengers: Infinity War and looking forward to the future Doctor Strange movies.

Great post!

We'll be seeing much more from Doctor Strange in upcoming movies within MCU. Looking forward to that greatly. :)

The instant I saw 'Dr Strange' I thought of 'Dr Strangelove'

When you're ready to move on from cartoon characters to hardcore psychoses take the trip

5345475.png

()

dr_strangelove_bomb.jpg

All images - "Dr Strangelove"
All rights remain with the original
copyright owners

Watched it at the cinema in 3D. Knowing the movie is based on the magical side of marvel comics, one expected to see mind-bending visuals, the type of cgi you thought was least possible, which they did give us of course. My only problem was the cast. Cumberbatch just wasn't guy for the role, i mean he is funny and all but everything else, null. He had the least presentable face, was way too skinny. What happened to hitting the gym to fit a role. Even the famous white streaks on Strange's hair went missing. Any Dr Strange fan would be unhappy . That aside, it was a great movie....

permit reestem @ezzy !!

I still haven't seen this one! Which is surprising because Benedict Cumberpatch is my guilty pleasure! lol I will defo be downloading this now, thank you for the review and the reminder that I need a Benedict fix hehe xD

Como una cinefila nata y fanática del Universo Cinematográfico de Marvel podría decir que Doctor Strange es un films que como bien dices vino a refrescar,
a mostrarnos un mundo diferente y que ademas lleva un mensaje por el hecho de como era la personalidad del protagonista y como cambio su vida de la noche a la mañana ... muy buena y acertada opinion @ezzy

I love this movie , and also how you describe it

it's amazing film, are it action film?
this is very interseting for me, you're the best @ezzy

if you have time, Let's visit my blog @bangmimi

Great write up, summed up the movie quite beautifully

i rather enjoyed doctor strange but had a minor grievance that the "sorceror supreme" was killed so easily with a vaporblade stab to the belly and then a kick through a portal

she showed great martial prowess right up until the point where she gets taken out in the manner you would take out a minor henchman <sad>

and of course the villain for the next movie in the series, mordo, decides at the end that using powers is bad despite himself using powers all along :P

meh, i just expected a little more effort to tie everything together i guess

the visuals in this movie were jaw dropping though. god damn

I really don't get why people dismiss this as a magical rehash of Iron Man. Sure, Tony and Stephen look a bit alike in the facial hair department, and they're both arrogant savants at the top of their field, and they dismiss their romantic counterparts, and an accident forced them to reevaluate their lives, and they come out stronger and with a different purpose. Beyond all of that, the stories are far from formulaic.

I still do feel like they should've stretched the use of magic even further. Dr Strange could do so much than what he's given in the film. His cameo on Thor Ragnarok is hopefully an indication for the path they're heading with the character in the sequel. I think this movie even set the precedent for what we saw in Ragnarok, with the seemingly unbeatable villains going head to head with each other. Overall, this was a great intro to the magical realm in the MCU. We're only beginning to scratch the surface!