My Personal Thoughts on "Independence Day: Resurgence"

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Back in 1996, the sci-fi/extraterrestrial genre was taken by storm with the release of Independence Day. I remember it well. Those chilling iconic scenes of the White House being blown to smithereens or the fifteen mile wide alien mothership that just happened to plonk themselves over key cities all over the world. It was something we hadn’t as yet witnessed before on the big screen and thus now Independence Day has gained something of a cult following worldwide. But considering the film’s hugely successful cinematic run, it surprisingly took exactly two decades for a sequel to arrive. Originally intended to be shot as two separate movie sequels, Will Smith’s departure from the project factored in to opting for just a solo production. So was the wait worth it or had the innovative spark of yesteryear run its course ultimately delivering too little too late.

1.jpg


The threat upon Earth having been eradicated led to a long period of rebuilding all that was destroyed in the invasion. Captain Steven Hiller, the marine F/A-18 pilot who helped save the day by nuking the mega-mothership during the first attack, has since died. Instead his son, Dylan Hiller (played by Jessie Usher) now follows in his father’s footstep as an aviation top gun. Twenty years on, the UN has helped in creating the ESD (Earth Space Defense) using the same alien technology that was originally pitted against them. David Levinson (reprised once more by Jeff Goldblum) is now the acting Director for ESD. He soon discovers that right before the alien’s defeat, a secret distress call was dispatched, presumably back to their home world of origin. AsDavid** and his team frantically attempt to decipher what is actually happening, a huge mothership is seen looming it’s way toward Earth. The enormity of the craft this time is such that it even manages to dwarf those during the first war twenty years ago. Hence begins a global struggle for the survival of mankind again, bringing with it dangerous adversaries the likes of which no one has never witnessed before.

I had high hopes for this one. Call it a nostalgic hopefulness or just plain desperation to somehow reconnect with the same feelings I had when I initially watched the first movie. But alas, it was not meant to be. This movie was a travesty almost from start to finish. We have a cast who offer up some absolutely abysmal performances. With a selection of the leads comprising of Liam Hemsworth and Jeff Goldblum, you’d to forgiven for wondering why they even bothered signing up to this production, considering their calibre of acting in regards to past works. Sometimes I was amazed the sleepy-eyed Goldblum managed to even stay awake at times. Yes, it was that bad. And concerning the other on-screen actors (with Bill Pullman making a surprise return as the former president), it’s just a cringe worthy train-wreck that begs the question of why they took so long to produce this drivel given all that time they had on their hands.

“If” (and that is one ginormous mothership of an “If”) there is any entertainment value to be had, it could be the action set-pieces as our heroes fly through cities being literally turned on their head. But even this is enjoyment on the very basest of levels. The ship ducks and dives past plumes of fire and debris, narrowly missing a messy demise each and every time. It’s all stuff you’ve seen a thousand times before and comes with the same eye-rolling reaction it garnered back then. The aliens make another uninvited entrance upon their second run to destroy humanity once and for all. However it's all been seen and done before, albeit much better. The themed order of the day is the same with the extraterrestrial nasties as it is with the movie in general. Bigger is better. Humongous spaceships that cover almost a quarter of our planet's surface. Super-villains that wouldn’t look out of place in some video game boss battle. It’s all stuff pertaining to a childish dream (or nightmare, depending on how you look at it).

Sadly, this should mark the end of a possible beginning to a long franchise. The poor ratings and reception it received upon release were all rightfully earned. It irked me more than usual this time as the hype bandwagon for a sequel to the original was alive and well for many years. Though when the full circle finally came around, nobody seems to care. It was a mistimed, calculated mess that even the likes of Laurel and Hardy would have chuckled at. A terrible movie through to its core, saved from absolute scrap-worthiness by a few notable, yet clichéd, action sequences and the odd okayish special effects sprinkled here and there. One for the bargain basement… Or lower.

My Verdict: (4/10)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

*Source: (1,2,3,4)

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Hey look, we are in alignment again! :D

Like you I really wanted to like this movie. I grew up with the first one and, in hindsight, it wasn't an irreplaceable masterpiece. Its plot, script, dialogues were all a little over-the-top, but it had heart. American glorious entertainment at its best. The new one is just...empty.

I'm glad to hear we're back on track. I absolutely love the first movie and must have watched it many more times than I should have, lol! It was a big old "patriot-fest" but one that was well done from start to finish. What a shame about the shambles that came after...

Thanks for stopping by, buddy. :)

Really wanted to love this film. Unfortunately, it fell extremely short of that goal. The scenes were scattered without logical cohesion; It was put together in a sort of quickly-built Frankenstein of a movie that everyone hoped would somehow miraculously spring into some kind of life. Where was the mystery? The anticipation? The call to arms across the screen into the hearts of the audience?!? sigh 2 out of 10? 2.5?

I'm with you, man. I actually really loved the original so I small part of my soul "so" wanted this to be at least watchable. But really, what a hash they made of it. The only reason it doesn't get an even lower rating than that is because of the so-so action set pieces. I found them mildly entertaining. But other than right, I think we can both agree this was not a good movie by a long shot. :)

I love this video, the first day I watched it, but I was trying to get what they were up-to, what really got my attention was the video quality

Sad times when such a promise of a story continuation devolves to baseless "eye-candy" as its only saving grace.

Still, I can put this abomination out of my mind and think happily back to my teenage years when I saw the first one in theaters. The second is so out of place that it holds no link to the first one, IMO.

I know, man. What in the world were they thinking. It never fails to amaze me how film production teams can allow stuff like this to pass by "green lit". I mean, do they secretly hope the general public won't "notice" how bad these movies are?

Lol... A crazy world. :)

I really think there was actually a good idea, somewhere hidden between all the FAIL that was this movie.

And it kinda hurts, you know? The first one is one of my favorite movies on its own improbable, cheese and no-complexes fun glory.

Bring on the first with extra helpings of cheese and all! I love it and now the only problem being to trying and erase the memory of this new abomination from my mind, lol! :)

I watched it in a theatre, and I think that CGI and effects are great.

And the movie itself is nothing special in my opinion.

The one from 1996 with Will Smith was way better.

I' m with you all the way. Apart from those scant few glimmers of "okayness", the rest is pretty much trash.

Are you reading my mind? the same as our movie likes. absolutely must be watched. if we think that the first film was released in 1996. a wonderful fiction from the past. @ezzy

I love the original one. I remember being blown away by how epic it was in scale. I'd never seen anything like it before. Therefore, I will try to push the sequel out of my mind slowly but surely, lol! :)

My mom was trying to comfort me cause I cried a lot after watching that worst stinkiest crap. All of my hopes were broken completely. And that was very sad.

Lol! Well, this movie almost brought me to tears too. :)

The alien queen was fooled too easily. The solution to the problem was more aliens coming to help out. The ending is bait for a sequel series ala Stargate. This movie was smelling cashgrab from miles away.

Agreed. But then again the whole movie reeked of "fool", lol. I wouldn't hold my breath for a sequel, uless it's a chop-shop production cobbled together by Asylum! :)

That's funny I had to think hard about if had seen this or not, because it was that forgettable.

Lol. Yes, that was pretty much how many felt about it.

your thinking is amazing <3 what a way you write it is just awsome <3 thank you for sharing this i wanna see more in future :) have a great day man I am following you

Many thanks, @ayun. :)

I would give this a 3, lol. It wasn't as good as the first one.

Yeah, bud. It deserves a low rating without a doubt. :)

gotta watch this movie, thanks for sharing your thoughts about this movie.. :)

Did you read the article??

Beautiful piece.sure enjoyed it

One of my favorite movie. Thanks for the nice post @ezzy

Sorry this is very bad film :( it has no logical story inside.

Could be better, but... Sigh...
Maybe they will make another remake in a couple of years that will be good.

That's to be expected. Imaginative people seem to be an endangered species.

Post yang Luar biasa @ezzy

So disapointing when compared to the origional!

Thanks for the warning. I will avoid it.