Greenland: The Most Beautiful Sunset I've Ever Seen

in #story6 years ago

I had literally just fallen asleep after crying on the plane. I had been crying (quietly to myself) about how unexplainably beautiful my life has become. Waves of absolute joy and happiness had rolled over my entire body. I thanked the universe for blessing me with the greatest life anyone could ever ask for.

The last thing I had written in my notebook was, “After I recovered from situational depression, I rarely cried for years. Nowadays, I’ve found myself crying so much more. Not because I’m sad but because what I’m experiencing is earth shattering happiness. I could die right now in this moment and I would still be the luckiest person that has ever lived. Ever. Thank you so much. Sometimes I feel like I don’t deserve this life but that mentality honestly disrespects what I have the honor of experiencing. I’m eternally blessed and infinitely grateful. I must have been put on this earth to fully understand the immensity of what life has to offer.”

Then the pilot came on the speaker, he told the passengers to look out the window to the left. I woke up immediately, never being one to miss a good view. I excitedly pulled up the window shade and there it was. The newest most amazing thing I’ve ever seen. The sun setting vibrant orange over a glistening glacial lagoon and vast, jagged snow covered peaks off the coast of Greenland.

I can’t believe what I was seeing. Just today on my bus ride from Oxford to the airport I saw one of the most incredible videos I’ve ever seen on Instagram, I immediately shared to Facebook (which I rarely do). So keep in mind my very last post was of glaciers on the coast of Greenland. I didn’t think I would see Greenland for myself for years, if ever because it isn’t considered a sovereign country and I can’t stray from my goal. However, life seems to have a powerful way of manifesting what I least expect. Now, only a few hours later I’m seeing it for myself, from the air, during sunset.
Speechless, tears of gratitude begin to fill my eyes once again.

Full_Size_Render.jpg

I couldn’t make this up even if I tried. October 25th, 2017.

Sort:  

Wow, that's a stunning image, you have to enlarge it to fully appreciate its beauty.

Your post also reminds me that no matter how dark the place is where you are, there's always a sunset awaiting. I think it's true for life as well.

@fredrikaa Thank you so much, I'm glad you got to appreciate it full screen. I love the imagery in your words and its relation to life; so beautiful. The darkest night leads to the brightest light.

This is beautiful. I hope to visit this place someday! I love the sun, it's good that it's out there.

@hungryhustle I hope you get to see it for yourself as well!

have a safe flyght

Wow beautiful, life is full of wonders and surprises, ups and downs, but life always give happiness inturn to good beings.

Thanks for sharing great post.

Have a great day.

@chireerocks Your words are so true, thank you for this inspiration. I do believe good things happen to good people, I feel so blessed. Have a beautiful day!

Welcome and thank you.

Wow! You seem to be so full of positivity! Every person who has hit the bottom knows the other end of life and begins to appreciate the small things in life and that makes life even more beautiful. That's an amazing writeup with an amazing view Lexie! :D

@wandereronwheels Yes I am bursting with love and positivity in this moment. I have been focusing lately on fully appreciating the small things in life, it all adds up to create the big picture. I also really your feedback thank you so much!

Sometimes you feel that exact moment never ends. I felt it when reading your post.

@fkucukbaltaci I'm so happy to hear this feeling permeated through my words. Thank you

I agree that this is a very beautiful breath-taking sunset.

@rwade102409 I'm glad to share it with you

Stumbled upon you and so happy I did! You seem to have mastered the art of gratitude and manifesting and I was wondering if this was a conscious practice or not? Either way I love your words and images and wish you a long and safe (life) journey. xox

@ldacey-laforge I'm happy you found me! Manifestation has been a highly conscious practice of mine for this past year. I am far from being a master of gratitude, I will spend the rest of my life learning to fully appreciate the gifts I am given.. Thank you so much for your kind words, this means so much to me!

You appear centered and humble in a manner not often found in younger people. Forgive the generalization, but it is usually true.

I encourage you to hold on to these virtues as you find more success in life. Continue to take time to appreciate the moment you are in. Those do not come again.

Safe travels.

@shendai That is such an amazing compliment. I agree with you that young people do not often carry these traits, usually because they have yet to be exposed to situations that humble them and force them to grow. I will work towards deepening these virtues, I believe they are some of the best characteristics a person can have. Thank you for recognizing this in me and encouraging me to live in the moment!

You captured this moment and your experience in it so beautifully. Thank you for sharing.

@saysme Thank you so much! I really appreciate it

Congratulations @lexiealford! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I wish I had a view like that during my cakeday :D lol

Thanks for sharing the one-of-a-kind shot! It's beautiful.

@kevinwong I hope you will get to see a sunset this beautiful one day, on your "cakeday"! You are so welcome and thank you.

It's funny you flew over on that day lol. Awesome stuff always happens on that date :)

Btw @lexialford, you'd be able to claim your rewards on your "Wallet" tab already since posts payout by the 7th day. Feel free to ask anything if you wanna know more about how the platform works etc. There's no chat function on Steemit yet so just drop a comment whenever. Happy travels!

@kevinwong Thank you for the advice since I am still learning about Steemit. You're the best!