I NEED ONE MORE RED WORM FOR MY SISTER

in #story7 years ago

IMG_8258.JPG

Before smart phones and the internet, growing up was quite simple. I was the middle child of three kids.

After school we were told to change our school clothes, which consisted of traditionally old fashioned dresses and bobby socks. After we changed into our play clothes , out the door we went!

We didn't have many toys but we always found plenty to do. Digging for worms and looking for rolly polly bugs were enough for two little girls for an afternoon.

Our digging would include of a few pieces of mama's flatware, a spoon, and fork; all would do nicely for what we needed to have a simple, yet fun time!

We would dig for what seemed like hours, each collecting our afternoon find in a separate buckets. I was a little over 3 years older than my sister so my digging skills were somewhat perfected compared to hers.

By the end of the day, we counted what we had collected and if the count wasn't even, we would cut the worms for an even split.

We didn't fish , so the worms weren't valuable except for just playing with them and watching them wiggle around.
I still look back and laugh at how little it took to entertain us.

Before I knew it, we could hear Mama calling that supper was ready. Time to discard the worms and join the family for a home cooked meal.

Tomorrow was another day, maybe making mud pies would be on the agenda or climbing the tallest trees we could find.

The simple life I lived as a child is now replaced by technology. But do we have a better world now? I don't know. I have my smart phone, computer, ipad and all the other gadgets it supposedly takes to makes this world go 'round, so we think. All this to stay "connected".

Back in those days, I was living life at its best and was the way I felt. Find that kind of happiness on Facebook or Pinterest! You won't find it, because it's stored in my memory book along with a thousand other ordinary days and stories.

Today, my sister and I text like a couple teenagers. When we sign off we usually do so by adding 🐛🐛 emoticons of a couple worms. Maybe one day there will be an emoticon of red worms.

I hope you enjoyed this simple but true story of my life during childhood .

I'm not a red worm but they say I'm a minnow.

That's ok for now 'cause on my bucket list is swimming with the dolphins... and one day, I will be all grown up and will be a mama whale.

When I do, I won't forget my minnow friends as they too need a worm tossed to them now and then.

Sort:  

Nice

Wonderful sweet post. Really enjoyed the reminder of our simple healthy childhoods playing outside in the sunshine surrounded by nature.

Thank you for your reply. Yes, I think that's what is missing today is time in nature.

It's amazing how things have changed. And life was more simpler. And even with all this technology don't feel as connected as we use to. Sometimes to I just like to watch some old movies.

Singing in the Rain, one I personally like to watch. Great post.

Singing in the rain was a good one😊 I agree, I don't feel as connected as I did before technology. Times change so we go with the flow.

but with the technology we do get a chance to meet people that never would have - but so true that connection is just not there like it use to be.

This is true. Both times have their advantages. Thanks for replying!

What an inspiring story of childhood and the memories we hold dear! Thank you for sharing this as there are many life lessons to be learned here!
@suziescorner

@breakingtonight
Thank you! I appreciate your comment. I think childhood is a time we gain our values than can follow us through life.

You're welcome, @suziescorner
Such a valid point you make and I definitely agree! :)

Very good job dear friend @ suziescorner thank you very much for sharing

@jlufer Thank you, my friend. ..I appreciate your reply!

So true! I was born in '80, and I played outside. We were not connected to the web... unless it was an actual spider web that we came across. My sisters and I grew up spending real, quality time together. I think that is one thing that kids today don't get to the same degree of "quality"... even though it is nice to be able to "stay connected" with people... most of the time. The best thing is to find a balance between both worlds. :)

You are so right, learning to balance both worlds will make a difference in the way we see life. I know a girl that is stuck in the past because of a situation she encountered. She only embraces modern technology in a limited way..

Experiences really impact personal perspectives...

This is so true! Thanks for your imput..