Folk Tales from Gascony: The Veiled Man, Part 5.

in #story8 months ago (edited)

THE VEILED MAN

ezgif-1-0318b5099f.jpg


The golden-crowned Flying Serpent spat out the young man, red with blood, and fell dead.

Then the king's son tore off the golden crown of the Flying Serpent, covered his face with the black veil, and set out for his father's castle.

“Hello, King."

“Hello, Veiled Man. What do you want from me?"

“King, I have killed the Flying Serpent. Here is his golden crown."

“Thank you, Veiled Man. You will be paid two hundred thousand pistoles for your service and your golden crown."

"King, I don't work for money. If these two hundred thousand pistoles bother you, you must give them in alms."

"Veiled Man, you act and say like a man of great blood. No doubt you are the son of some king. Show your face."

"King, it's true. I am a man of great blood. I am the son of a king like you. But I am commanded not to show my face."

"Veiled Man, as you wish. Your father is very happy to have a wise, strong, bold son like you. Mine went I don't know where. He's a scoundrel, not worth the rope to hang him with. Listen, Veiled Man. I am old. Stay with me. You will order in my place."

"King, I know your son. Do not be in a hurry to condemn him. He has long since stopped doing bad things, and he is trying to prove it. Do you want me to go and tell him to come back with you, to order in your place?"

"Veiled Man, I don’t think so. If this worthless thing ever comes back, it is I who will recommend it to the executioner."

The king's son bowed to his father and went out. At the castle gate, the queen gave alms to the poor.

“Hello, queen. Help these poor people quickly, and let them go away. I want to speak to you in great secret."

When the poor were assisted and left, the king's son took off his black veil."

“Hello, queen. Do you recognize me?

"You are my son!" You are my son!"

“Silence, Mother. If, unfortunately, the king heard you, he would recommend me to the executioner. However, I have finished doing badly, and I am trying to prove it. Through me, the kingdom is delivered from the Fog Giant and the Flying Serpent crowned with gold. Farewell, mother. May the Good Lord and the Blessed Virgin keep you. My father will never, ever see me again."

The king's son greeted his mother and returned to find the priest in his church.

“Hello, priest. Here is my sword and my black veil. Hide them under the high altar of your church, and return them to me when I come to ask you for them."

"Poor man, I will do as you said."

The king's son returned to his master to tend, from sunrise to sunset, his herd of a hundred pigs, on the edge of the great sea. It lasted a long, long time.

One day, the king's son was sitting on a rock, facing the great sea, thinking, when he heard a voice rising from the depths of the water, crying out in Latin:

"Swineherd! swineherd!"

The king's son spoke Latin like a priest.

“Fish of the great sea, what do you want from me?"

Then there appeared above the great sea a man with a long beard and a fish's tail.

“Swineherd, I know who you are. Swineherd, I am the King of Fish. Swineherd, there was a time when I was a man like you. So, I lived as a fisherman, in the service of Saint Peter. We both sinned for Our Lord Jesus Christ. Unfortunately, I refused baptism. Then Saint Peter launched me into the great sea and made me King of the Fishes. But it is said that my punishment will end. Seven years after I become a Christian, I will die, to go straight to paradise. Swineherd, fetch some spring water, and baptize me, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit."


Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3 - Part 4

Part 6

Sort:  

This thing happening to Swineherd is just like what happened to me when I was younger. His father condemned him just because he was stubborn. Well, I can imagine how his father felt that his son was busy causing chaose in the city and that is not very good as the son of the king but that does not mean that he should be condemned. It does not mean that the father should not care about where his child has been ever since he left home. Kids will always be kids and regardless of what they do, we should always love our children.

I just hope that the King forgives his child and tries to welcome him back home. I think we all need to learn from this. No matter how bad a child is, the child will be good for one thing or the other. Every child has a potential so the fact that the child is not doing something right does not mean he cannot do every other thing right.

Bless up!

Definitely, the king has a lot of resentment on him, even though many years have passed, the king has not been able to forgive his own son, the son has changed and is very patient for that and also very wise, I think that the wisdom he has learned has helped him to be a great man.

The changes that the young prince are good, but who has to see the changes does not realize everything.

I think he has stopped doing bad things so his father, king should forgive him.
But he is a good and kind, great king so that he has to do justice. That's a great thing that we don't find in today's time.
Our government unfortunately don't pay any heed to provide justice to humanity that's why these crisis happens.
Poor peoples got punished and rich peoples saved.
That's not a good thing for a government to be run as if they failed they should leave their seats.
Older times are golden times as their own family members are equal to other ordinary peoples. They have to provide equal justice to all.
King is also a great man. His son inspired him alot but he is still standing against his son.
Its a great decision. What will happened next, still waiting. I think he will forgive his son at the end.

https://leofinance.io/threads/tokutaro22/re-leothreads-2k8guceky
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( tokutaro22 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hmmmmm! The king would have at least given his son benefit of doubt

I am glad that he reviewed himself to his mother

So the Prince went back to his father again after killing the golden-crowned flying serpent. It's so sad that his father didn't even know it's his son. I understand what it feels feel like having a son you're not proud of. No wonder he said he will order the execution of his son if he ever comes back to the kingdom.

I'm glad he unveiled himself to his mother. I wish she'll be able to convince the king on his behalf. Probably he might listen to her and reconsider his decision.
I like the change and humility of the Prince, he still went back to his Master.

This time around he's encountering the king of fishes, I know he is going to help the king of fishes and may e in return he'll receive something that will be beneficial to the kingdom. I wish him well in his next adventure.

~~~ embed:1701399993205006799?t=_DSqGK6LsRagJa1c1zkVTg&s=19 twitter metadata:ZGllZ28xMzE5NDA2NHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9kaWVnbzEzMTk0MDY0L3N0YXR1cy8xNzAxMzk5OTkzMjA1MDA2Nzk5fA== ~~~

This story is a reminder that we all have the power to make a difference in the world. We can all be kind and compassionate, and we can all help others to find redemption.

Despite the strained relationship with his father, the king, he went ahead and fought bravely against the Flying Serpent, freeing the kingdom. I appreciated his humility, refusing the monetary reward and asking for it to be given in alms.

The highlight for me was how this tale is full of redemption, change and the possibility of a new beginning. It left me thinking about how we all have the potential to change, no matter our circumstances.

Source of potential text plagiarism

Direct translation without giving credit to the original author is Plagiarism. Repeated plagiarism is considered fraud. Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise

Please note that direct translations including attribution or source with no original content are considered spam.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.