Ten Random Things

dc5e3ce4-8330-4823-8b51-5d7ffc340550-efafc1b9-1e8e-498f-bdbf-618b3e5221c5-v1.png

I was nominated by @dreemsteem to do yet another sort of getting to know me challenge: 10 Random Things. This one was initiated by @twodorks and I'm supposed to tell you ten random facts about myself. You can read the initial post here. Now, I know... I know, I know you are tired of hearing about me and I'm tired of telling you about me because quite honestly I'm rather boring. I'll give this a shot and hopefully, will be able to get this out before I die of old age.

coolskulldivider.png

I.

I used to go trawling with my father in law and came across a flying blue crab.

He asked me if I had ever seen a flying crab. Of course, I said no and was instantly curious to see a flying crab. I was young now, so be nice. We pulled up the nets and dumped them and started going through the shrimp and taking out the trash, fish, and other weird things you see in a picking box. I didn't have gloves on because I was stupid. A blue crab grabbed my finger with his claw and I quickly started shaking my hand wanting the damn thing off ... oh the pain, and the crab went flying in the air and back in the water. Therefore... flying blue crab. My father in law thought it was hilarious. I needed a band aid.

II.

I wrecked a three-wheeler.

I don't remember the year but I was a teenager visiting some peeps in Vidalia, Mississippi. I hopped on a three wheeler and got myself out of the yard and on to the road without incident. I was going downhill on a road that started to curve to the right. The road curved, I didn't. I went straight to the other side of the road right into a ditch and flipped the damn thing on top of me.

III.

I sang on stage with a band once.

I only did it once and it was not a packed bar and I was also drunk. Some friends and my brother had a band called Savin' Face and they played Enter Sandman by Metallica. There's a part in the song, they say the prayer "Now I lay me down to sleep"... and then you hear a little girl repeat the words... well, I was the voice of the little girl. My voice was perfect for the part and I could just speak the words so there were no dogs howling.

IV.

I'm part German, part Filipino and part Cajun-French.

You'll just have to trust me when I tell you that my maiden name is enough to point you to my German ancestry... this comes from my father's side. From my mother's side comes the Filipino and Cajun-French. I'm sure there's more to my ancestry, and maybe on day I'll take one of the DNA tests that's becoming so popular. I have found it a bit interesting and would probably love to learn more about where I come from.

V.

I got stepped on by a horse.

I lived with a foster family for a little while and their daughter had a horse. It was a quarter horse named Free Jack. She was getting him ready for his first parade... he was young. She got in the saddle, and I sat behind the saddle. We had ridden him a good way before he decided to buck me off. In the middle of the street and somehow managed to stomp on my lower back, I still have the scar. I had no other choice but to get up and hop back on him to get home.

VI.

I had the incredible experience of petting Bunny.

One year for Thanksgiving I went with my husband and his family up north to Ruston, Louisiana. They hyped up how they couldn't wait for me to meet Bunny. They made it sound like this bunny was magical. It was a six hour ride of me not understanding what could have been so special about this bunny. When we reached our destination and went to the backyard, the cousins starting calling for Bunny and out walked Bambi! A beautiful little deer that could escape at any time but hung around because she wanted to and she even let us pet her. It was amazing and something I will never forget.

VII.

I can change the oil in my car.

My very first car was an old beat up blue 1986 Mustang that I paid $600 for before I even knew how to drive and by the time I was ready to learn, the car needed some work. My father in law helped me work on it and taught me how to change the oil, fix a flat, change the battery and other fundamentals of owning a car. I never do any of it now because I am just lazy but it's nice to know that I could if I wanted to.

VIII.

My nose is pierced.

Just like Dreemie, I had my tongue pierced but after years, I got tired of it and took it out. You can still see where it was. But I have always wanted my nose pierced and for Mother's day a few years ago, my husband took me to our local tattoo and piercing place and I got my nose pierced. The pain wasn't bad. The guy who pierced my nose told me, "You're going to feel a pinch, one tear will roll and there will be just a little blood" He was right. It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be for getting a hole put in my nose.

IX.

I recently met with a medium.

It wasn't too long ago a friend asked if she could use my house because she needed some privacy to meet with her medium and said that if I wanted, I could get a reading as well. I have always been skeptical about this sort of thing. I have never really experienced anything one way or the other to make me believe in ghosts or spirits. I am open to the idea of it but don't really know what to think or how to feel on the subject. Some of her answers were generic, some didn't seem to pertain to me at all and some were kinda spot on. My experience with the medium hasn't swayed me one way or the other but it was still a very interesting thing.

X.

I'm looking for an artist.

I have five tattoos. I'm saving my right arm because I would like a sleeve. I've been looking for an artist to draw something up for me. The idea is to have Frankenstein's Monster and his bride in pose that you would see on a romance novel, with a really wicked graveyard background with some wicked trees. I would like the artist that take those elements and run with it. If anyone reading this knows someone or if someone reading this is up to the challenge, let me know. I would be more than happy to pay someone for this artwork.

coolskulldivider.png

Another challenge in the books and here is the part where I'm supposed to answer a question by the person who tagged me but @dreemsteem didn't ask one so now I guess I should tag people to nominate. So, let's see ... how about @mineopoly - I always love getting to know more about you and ummm ...@kchitrah - I haven't seen you in a while and miss you! Here are your questions should you accept the challenge:

@mineopoly - you are a wordsmith so for you I would like to know... What's your favorite word??

@kchitrah - you are awesome, always so loving and kind... If there was one thing you could change about yourself, what would that be?

b258fd57-86bc-42d9-b080-d7cc30127d3b-efafc1b9-1e8e-498f-bdbf-618b3e5221c5-v1.png

coolskulldivider.png

MonchhichiBannerGif.gif

Sort:  

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh i love it!!!!!!!!!!! heheheheheeh i loved them all missy monchie! hehehehehe

thank you for doing this - and yep - of course we both had our tongues pierced ROFLLLLLLLll and yep - you can still see the hole for me too hehehehehe ;)

and the horse - wahhhhhhhh... but at least you got back on! hehehehe

i love you #am3ga!!!!!!

I think the tongue piercing thing is a phase for many. But it would always hit my teeth and I freaking hated that.

That was the last time I got on a horse too, that was enough for me to figure out that I never wanted to do that again.

I love you too #am3ga!!! And miss you much! 🖤🖤🖤

Flying crab! That's too funny, but wow I bet it hurt. I'm super impressed with your motor mechanic skills, you should exchange notes with @saffisara I hear she can change a car wheel in no time!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

😂 Hahaha... Yupp I can change the tires on my car and oil...my friend.
It's the fastest and cheapest way!

Oh @coff33a it hurt alright... I learned quickly to be a little more careful but I absolutely love that memory. My father in law was awesome to teach me as much as he did, and I was never one of those girls who minded getting her hands dirty, quite the opposite in fact.

Its awesome that @saffisara and I have that in common. Maybe one day we could get together and have a good old drag race!

nice to read these... that must have been odd to be told about 'bunny' and meet a deer ... sounds like you keep life interesting and glad to know your father in law did more than get you bit by a crab lol

Thank you @shadowspub! Yes, it was odd... but when the deer walked out it was just breathtaking, I have never been so close to one and to be able to pet her... it was one of those magical moments.

He was always playing pranks on me and making jokes at my expense ... but I loved it and would have it no other way. I think I was just a glutton for punishment lol

my parents had pictures taken during their honeymoon in Alqonquin Park which is a very large mostly forested provincial park in Ontario. They had stopped alongside the highway passing through the park and were feeding the deer. They came right up to them .. that was back in the late 1940s... don't see many these days.

Haha you crack me up with the flying crab!

Oh so you’re my ‘kababayan’ hehehe I’m a filipino too! Do you know some tagalog words?? Have you been in the Philippines? Have you tried the food?? Hehehe sorry got carried away.

Thank you for sharing @monchhichi23 i love the Bitmoji presentation!!! 💕

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @twodorks! I have never had the opportunity to visit the Philippines but my grandmother would cook meals for us and I really wish I could remember what some of it was cause I remember I loved it! And I don't mind you getting carried away maybe you can teach me a thing or two like what's 'kababayan'?

Thanks for this initiative babe, I had fun doing this!

Kababayan is fellowman or countryman. Heheh
Was it sweet??? Maybe your lola (grama) cooked you some "adobo". That’s the most famous dish we have in PH. If you are a beach lover, then you must visit Philippines!! You will fall in love with our beaches over there and falls too!!! Plus the people are very very nice!! I swear you’ll love it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 139 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This is absolutely amazing reading and made me smile Bigtime 😊👍
The blue flying crap made me almost drop my coffe mug... Lol
I had no idea you had your nose pierced... And in your tounge before... I guess you.. Dreamy and me all got piercing then.... I have in my belly button 😜
Awsome writing and great answers. Loved it.
Much Love 💕🌹🤗🤗🌹💕

Lol... I'm glad you weren't taking a sip while reading... sticky phone!! I still have my nose pierced and it didn't surprise me at all that Dreemie had her tongue pierced she and I seem to have live somewhat of a similar life... its crazy the things we find we have in common.... and it doesn't surprise me with you... do you have any tattoos?

Thanks doll! Much love to you beautiful! ❤🤗💕