You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Ridicule as a sport, vs constructive criticism: Happy Holidays--and may family gatherings be full of kindness

Wow...what a collection of quotes. Can't top that, although I do find @dierdyweirdy's Oscar Wilde quote entertaining.

I don't really agree entirely with Wilde, witty though he be. Ridicule reveals nothing about the target, but a great deal about the perpetrator. It is a mean and self-loathing character that seeks to elevate self by disparaging others.

Sorry about your father...that leaves a mark, one you can proudly grow beyond.

Wishing you a peaceful holiday season and a truly happy New Year.

Sort:  

thank you so much - and you're right about ridicule revealing more about the perp than the subject of ridicule. I'm ok with constructive criticism, but I don't need to be mocked, reviled, or laughed at to get to the point. Funny thing. I saw my dad on Christmas Day and he didn't have a single negative thing to say to me about me - in fact he was positive - and that was one of the best gifts ever!!!

thanks again and all good wishes to you too!