You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Ridicule as a sport, vs constructive criticism: Happy Holidays--and may family gatherings be full of kindness

Someone ridiculed you at a Xmas gathering?! That seems sacrilegious, although one of my sisters did the same to me at my father's funeral. I hope you did not take him (a him? them?) to heart. You're amazing.
Love the quotes! That Chris Jami knows what time it is, but my favorite of all is “Sometimes the universe uses ridicule as a tool to turn you into a titan and tighten up all your loose screws.”
I've read through the comments and see a great many of us have family members who are awful to us. In my case it was first my father and then, after my mother's death, one of my sisters. Neither of them could see that their feelings were unjustified or admit that alcohol was a factor - both resented me for drinking very little. But for my part, I could sometimes respond in kind, no matter how much I tried to be aware. It's as if someone else takes over, and only later can I see I could have had a kinder response myself, or no response at all.
Great post.

Sort:  

Writers do seem to have in common a family member who was awful - but you're all too rare in the insight, I could have had a kinder response myself, or no response at all. That's my most grievous error. Reacting to negative stimuli. Taking the bait. Trying to defend myself, going on the defensive, NEVER works. It's all political and like dealing with toddlers. -_- Thank you for reading and commenting, and I'm sorry you've had family members being awful to you - even if you'd "had it coming," a kinder and gentler come-uppance would do. Ridicule, chastisement, grudge-holding: meh. At Christmas, of all times. At a funeral. No. Grow up, awful ones!