You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1982: Year of the crossbow - A story from my youth

in #thoughts4 years ago

Your dad served in WWII? What unit?

I'm not a parent but I believe that it's important to expose kids to many things to see what catches their eye. That way they have the ability to pick and choose what they like, are good at or want to develop more. Denying kids things won't keep them away from it; Point in case me.

Sort:  

Not sure, he was in the support area. They recovered and repaired tanks. He was in charge of the trucks that had all their machines in them. He had a tech Sgnt stripes with a hole in them. I asked him why he kept a damaged set of stripes; and he rolled up his sleeve to show me a matching hole....

Apparently, they really hated the guys that recovered damaged tanks, and fixed them; so they had to fight that same tank again!

Smart kids are not to be controlled, only guided! My son is in the 160 range, and is happy as an armed guard at a local Private University (Tulsa University). He gets free tuition that way. My Daughter is an artist (got that from her Momma) and is quite good at it. She also just bought a classic car, and they are rebuilding it.

Kids need to be challenged, and supported.

:)>

Ah ok. Obviously in the firing line considering the hole in stripes and arm. It's interesting to think if that shooter was more accurate (like you and I) or he moved slightly to one side or the other...Everything would have been different from that point. Anyway, he made it and the rest is history.

Sounds like your lad and daughter have things moving in the right direction. I agree, kids need to be challenged - The problem is these days, they are generally not. You gonna tell me what that car is or I gutta guess. :)

Up to that point, I didn't know he had been wounded. He taught my Mom and Aunt to weld submarines, before he joined up.

The car is a 1967 dodge dart with a 318 V8.

dart 4.jpg

dart 2.jpg

Philip is rebuilding a 1973 Mercedes 280SE.

Resized_20191017_191624.jpg

He got if running about a month ago.

:)>

Sounds like there's a lot of history in your family.

Dodge Dart? Cool, I had a similar car. (1970 Valiant 770 coupe with the 318 Fireball engine) damn I miss that car.

There is some, LOL. My wife's Dad told my he didn't qualify for hazard pay on the B29s, because you have to be shor down three times for the extra pay grade. He was only shot down twice, so it wasn't 'hazardous' enough for the extra money....

He got to fly on Fifi, when she came to Tulsa; to coach her flight crew!

My Dad designed, built, and donated the blackout stove to the military. They still use it.

I had a 1964 Valiant that I rebuilt the motor in, when I went to school. I drove it for years....

That is the same engine, they were solid! Her first car was a 1960 Chevy Impala that we rebuilt.

My Son just bought a 2010 Dodge Charger police interceptor, that needs a valve job. He us excited because it has a blower, and will crank 360 HP! But the Mercedea is his Baby, and gets a lot of love....

♡♡♡♡

Lol, on the hazard pay thing...These days one gets it for standing at a road-side work-site with a stop/slow sign. Laughable really. Still, makes for a good story huh? "Oh yeah, I got shot down out of my B29 a couple times...Move along, nothing to see here." Tough and brave bastards.

I saw a special on Fifi only last year...Must have been amazing for him to get a flight...Brought back memories, good and bad, I'm sure. Pretty cool about the blackout stove too! Damn, so cool really! Do you have one the original ones?

I loved my Valiant, no digital images though, it was before digital cameras. I will see if I can dig up some photos and snap a pic of some. The 318 is a cool engine, smooth, a little bit punchy and it sounded good. I loved it.

My brother has a 1957 Plymouth Fury and a 67 Dodge Coronet. Both are pretty special but he built the Fury up from nothing...It's a show-winner in Europe. Here's a few pics of the Coronet. I don't have any good ones of the Fury.

IMG-20191018-WA0006.jpeg

IMG-20191018-WA0002.jpeg

IMG-20191018-WA0005.jpeg

I don't mind a classic car here and there. Doesn't matter what it is, I find something to like...Even if it's just the effort that went into it.

He had his flight manual, and went to visit Fifi. Apparently the flight manuals had been classified and then destroyed, so they had never seen one. So his flight manual is still flying on Fifi, and I bet a copy is on Doc now.

They put him in the flight engineers seat, and had him fly the bird, and filmed him while he did so. He showed them what a bunch of the controls they were unsure of actually did. Showed them how to lean out the engines, and make them run cooler. They had as much fun as he did, and every time Fifi was in Tulsa they sent him a pass.

She sold the Impala for school money. This one will take Years to finish, but it has great bones!

My project car is an 1983 944 that needs a valve job. When she ran she ran FAST, LOL!

These are nice pictures of a beautiful car! He did a great job restoring her.

:)>