Feet off the ground

in #thoughts5 years ago

Some senior managers from my department are visiting from the US so tomorrow after normal work, we are heading for a meeting, activity and then dinner. The meeting and dinner I can handle, but the activity is indoor climbing.

I haven't lifted myself off the ground in 2 years I think. It has been 23 years since the last time I climbed or rap jumped.

While not in "bad" shape for a 40 year old, I am also not in good shape for a 40 year old either. This means that while once upon a time I could have quite easily done this activity, now I am concerned I am going to not be able to get my feet off the floor without a forklift.

For the first time in over a year, I am clean shaven tonight. I figured it was extra weight I could do without.

Personally, I don't worry about getting older however, I do care about the loss of function - and that seems to be on a steady slope in the wrong direction. My wife has finished her studies now so I think it is time to start some activity again as while I could exercise at home, I don't. I am not disciplined enough for exercise to do it when at home as there are other things to distract me; like food. And Steem.

Perhaps I should quit Steem :D

Of course, this activity doesn't help me for tomorrow and as one of the oldest in my department, I am likely to look more than my age. Does it matter? Probably not to anyone else, yet it does to me.

The last time I was rap jumping was the start of my senior year on a camp with the rest of the year 12s. A girl I hardly knew slipped halfway down the cliff face and was too scared to continue and before the instructor could strap in, I jumped over the edge and down to her Cliffhanger style except, she didn't die. Taking her in my arms I slid to the bottom of the cliff with her.

She followed me around like a puppy for the rest of the year.

I am guessing that tomorrow there will be no such heroics and I will look more fool than fierce, but that is part of getting long in the tooth. Not that my age is the factor, it is that I have essentially not kept up with what I know I should do. While I have a fair few relatively valid excuses, excuses they still are. Perhaps the streamlined face will help.

My daughter doesn't remember me without a beard and I shaved while she was in the bath. I wish I could have captured the look on her face as she saw it for the first time; A look of curiousity, disgust and humour rolled into one. She didn't know if she would laugh or cry. :D

Well, at least tomorrow on the climbing walls I will get a feel for just how unfit I am and maybe the personal shame of it will kick me into gear. Summer is almost here and all the magazines are saying I should have my bikini body ready but, I think I will have to wear an oversized shirt at the beach :D

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone in the dark where I can pretend I am young)

Sort:  

This will be fun to read how it went! Hope you enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am not disciplined enough for exercise to do it when at home as there are other things to distract me; like food. And Steem.

In this we are quite alike, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think there is something with getting to the gym that makes me workout there no issues. I just need to get there :)

Exactly. In the organ world we have a saying that the most difficult thing in organ practice is sitting down on the organ bench, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember as a kid my mother forcing my older brothers to practice their scales. While they might have hated it then, I was never forced to do anything and I think I would have been better off if I had been in many ways. There are benefits to being me too though I guess.

Yes, you grew up to be exactly you. By the way, I can bet 10 Steem that your older brothers are not into crypto blogging?

Posted using Partiko Android

@galenkp is me older brother and I have another here too except he is very inactive of late due to some other life things. :) Keep the 10 :)

Here is another deal: If you can get your other inactive brother start posting here again, I will send both of you 10 Steem each.

Oh how nice to have @galenkp so active on Steem!

You just lost 10! 😆 I reckon my bro will let you keep it though. 🤘

Posted using Partiko Android

He might... haha! He is very generous.

Enjoy your 10 Steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice, indoor climbing! Been thinking of starting doing it, haven't yet though just because it costs money, and I'm cheap :D

Posted using Partiko Android

it should be some fun at least. Try bouldering in the forest :D

Maybe I should. Shouldn't be too hard to find a good spot in Norway :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear they have a mountain or three.

Haha, yes they do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahh i know that look, my then 6 month old (now 14) had a similar expression when I cut the mohawk for the first time XD (from having hair down to my mid back)

I'm sure everything will come back to you when you're on the walls and you'll be spidering around like a pro spider monkey and wowing everyone ;D Have fun!

I'm sure everything will come back to you when you're on the walls and you'll be spidering around like a pro spider monkey and wowing everyone ;D Have fun!

My wife said, "Don't fall".

I think you should make a big stink about how the people at the top make these decisions and that’s it’s not fair that some will be able to climb better then stomp off in a hissyfit while faking concern for your fellow employees. :)

I would but I won't be the worst in the group (I think) so I get to still make fun of someone. It is called "trickle-down embarrassment."

Alright I just don’t want to see a “in hospital from 60 cm freeFall” post

Side note watch the last 10 mins of a movie called “free solo”

60 cm is my height laying flat on my back these days. :D

Maybe you need to do the push-ups challenge of @NathanMars ;)

HaHa, I need a lot more than pushups :D

I am a little older than you and just walking and do push-ups, help me drastically to improve with Actifit.

Well... can you recommend a shirt for me as well :) Unfortunately, my scarce beard won't make a difference at all. Otherwise, I would shave it.

Just go have fun tomorrow. I hope you will have fun and look at the fun side of it all :)

It'll be fun and my colleagues are generally a pretty decent bunch to be around as we take the mickey out of each other a lot. :)

My beard wasn't very viking-y :D

I suggest you spend the whole evening sitting in a corner, looking very pissed and muttering you were not hired as a monkey...
I hate this sort of corporate team-building crap...
... or get very drunk so they'll beg you not to climb...

and muttering you were not hired as a monkey...

I think I was though :D

I hate this sort of corporate team-building crap...

This is a bit different as it is mostly because we talk to each other a fair bit but don't get to see each other often. Getting drunk is on the cards for everyone but--- I am driving :D

You got a 29.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)