ADSactly Travel: Roads and Trips Across Northern Europe - Part 3

in #travel5 years ago


TRIER

This is part 3 of my story about a trip I took with my friend Mark.
We boarded a plane in Ljubljana, landed at airport Charloroi in Belgium, where we caught a bus to the City of Luxembourg.
Marks' friend Ana greeted us there, she gave us accommodation, and not only that, she also gave us her car so we could drive wherever we wanted.

Mark and I woke up early in the morning, made coffee with a smell that irresistibly spread around the apartment and woke Ana up.
Or, one would say, she was woken up by music from a cd player combined with our muted voices discussing which city we should visit. Can you imagine that kind of alarm?

Half asleep she joined the discussion and advised us to go see Trier, one of the oldest towns in Germany.

She briefed us on some historical facts, such as the Romans, led by Julius Ceasar in 1st century B.C. concord Trevere, Germanic Celtic tribe, which lived in the area of nowadays Trier.
They renamed it August Treverorum after its founder. The town became a center of Western Roman Empire, and the people gave it a memorable name; Roma Seconda or Second Rome.

She continued with to tell us that there are many historic buildings dating back to Romans, that UNESCO listed on their list of cultural heritage in 1986.

While she was getting ready for work, we were already on our way to Trier.

A massive dark yellow stone gate, at the city center entrance, took our gaze.
They were Porta Nigra, one of the most preserved roman city gates in the world, built around 186 A.D.

As I was circling around them, my thoughts swarmed. I wondered how the people in ancient times managed to raise these giant stones that made the gates, which techniques they used and why the symbols still remain.

I felt honored when I went through them, watching the tiny details artisans embossed long time ago.

While we were still driving towards the town, I read that the town was in the middle of many army conflicts after the fall of the Western Roman Empire and that it took back its power by establishing the archdiocese, which managed most of the town business.

As the city government schemed to take back more and more authority, many conflicts started escalating in the governing of the city.

Some of the sculptures and buildings that witnessed those turbulent times are situated around the main square of Hauptmarkt.

The square became the main one when in 958 the bishops decided to move in the fair from the banks of river Moselle. As a symbol, they put a cross in its middle.
Today a copy stands there, whilst the original is kept in a museum.

I had decided to look up every mentioned sculpture and building, however the square wasn't that big, so I found them easily.

On a facade of the old city hall I saw two sculptures of armored and armed knights that were facing the Cathedral. At the time it was a warning sign to the church representatives to stay away from their zone of interest.

But it's not the only story, now when I tell you how a rich widow provoked a bishop you'll see how great their bigotry was.

In the middle of their quarrel there was a church of St. Gangolf, whose yellow tower rose above the square.
It was built as a simple and modest building at the end of 13th century and didn't stand out until a wealthy widow donated a part of her savings to the city government for reconstuction of the tower.
That's when the surprise kicked in. Her tower was higher than the Cathedral and so the St. Gangolf church became the highest building in town.

It provoked the bishop in such a way that he heightened the southern tower of the Cathedral as he had no money for bigger reconstruction.

As it is in life, every fight ends somehow sooner or later. This one ended by the end of the 16th century after the archbishops consolidated the dominance.

As a token of reconciliation they made the fountain which shows St. Peter, the patron of the Cathedral and the City standing on the top, surrounded by the four virtues of a solid city government - Justice, Strength, Modesty and Wisdom.

At the time it was a call for collaboration and unity and today it's another nice tourist attraction.

Mark and I continued our walk towards the Church of Our Lady which with the Church of St. Elisabeth in Marburg, is the oldest example of Gothic period in Germany.

It was built in 13th century by builders and artisans from Lorraine, french county known for it highly developed Gothic style.

As I was still walking around it and observing it, Mark had had enough of the sightseeing.
His sight was set on the buffets. He soon found one and ordered two fries with mayonnaise and ketchup. I wasn't aware of how hungry I really was.

When our bellies were satisfied we looked around to see that we were standing in front of Euroshop, as the name says, a shop where everything costs a Euro.

It was full of toiletries, decorations, jewelry as well as screws and bolts. As real tourists we bought something, a little peculiar but necessary - salt and pepper cellars which I use everyday.

Do you have the habit of buying souvenirs, jewelry or clothes when you're on vacation?

Authored by @lufcija

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this trip. Historical data and anecdotes are very important in the art of narrating and you use it very well to describe this journey. The photographs make one feel like another companion on the way, and invites us to look at the different architectural styles with blue or gray skies but summarized in beautiful postcards.
When I can travel I like to go through the local market and buy souvenir keychains allusive to the city. If it's about clothes I like t-shirts with the name of the city or something light like a foulard. Greetings @lufcija and @adsactly, let's continue traveling and learning.

Great Vacation.
you have nice journey and I am so proud to know you. By this post we know more about you destination. You explain them well. The church and the public place which very fascinating. I imagine some day i can go there and enjoy the trip.
Any way I am so amazed that you just buy your daily need such salt and pepper cellar. It a lesson for the reader who always buy souvenir or clothes even jewelry.
I can agree with you. you buy something that need everyday. You are so wise to spend your money wisely.
Or may be you will buy something unique from you travel.
Thank you @lufcija
Thank you @adsactly
thank you steemit
Warm regard from Indonesia

I want to give thіs post MORE THAN 100%. I KNOW that when people are gifted and not coerced, the response that returns іs a magnification of energy, of love, of posіtivіty and abundance. I'm already quietly workіng towards a similar idea that would іncorporate a learnіng center for my іndigenous іnterns and іnclude space for teachіng the general public (іn very limіted, controlled and on-my-terms ways!), communіty and the conscious production of my herbal products. We should talk some....! LOL.
I was happy to іncrease my delegation to @adsactly yesterday (as I do most Mondays) and feel WONDERFUL knowіng that when I upvote the work of others and put іn endless unseen hours commentіng, that actually I am creatіng a future!! I shall be tacklіng my commentіng duties wіth renewed vigor a lіttle later. !!
I really like the way you're suggestіng that the blockchaіn, tokens and upvotіng tat we're all so familiar wіth іn Steem actually has a NAME - Direct Democracy. haha.... great tіtle for another ebook!
LOVE thіs post. On board wіth you 15000%. Resteemed and standіng beside you to hold thіs vіsion until іt manifests. And manifest іt will!

This walk through Trier or New Rome, as you say they call it, is very pleasant and instructive. When I travel I also like to visit (and photograph) the churches, squares, castles and other monuments of the place, as well as the natural and recreational areas. I was attracted to the photos of the churches of San Gangolf and Nuetra Señora (if I'm not mistaken). Of the first its imposing yellow tower, and of the other the combination between the Romanesque and the Gothic style.
Likewise, I love buying local things or other practical use that are for sale there. Following your trip, @lufcija.
PS: If you allow me a suggestion, a little legend would be appropriate under the photo that identifies the place, when it is worth it.

I'm usually one of those people who buy a lot of gifts on trips. I usually carry a separate backpack to put things I can buy. I usually try to buy local crafts that I can show my friends later and that are interesting. That one euro shop looks amazing! I think I would take a lot of things from there. I also like to visit historical sites on my travels and eat local food. One of the places I visit are the markets, I like to meet people, what they consume and there are usually lower prices and fresher produce in these places. The photos are amazing and the narration is enjoyable. Thank you for continuing to tell us about your adventures. I'm still watching your trip, @lufcija

It is much easier if you have a backpack on trips , I use it constantley. Thank you Nancy, I am glad you like it :)

A whole adventure of enjoyment and learning, @lufcija. The photographs are incredible, a great sample of architecture and history. Well, when I go on a trip I like to buy details to have souvenirs of the place and also to give away. I also like to buy in discount stores, many times good things are found among the offers. Keep enjoying, @lufcija. Here, watch out to see what else you can tell us about your trip. Thanks to @adsactly for allowing us to know places in the world through these publications.

The city looks so beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

The city looks so beautifowl


I am a bot. I turn comments into owl related puns.

beautiful building, neatly arranged,nice post @adsactly

Thank you.

Hi, @adsactly!

You just got a 0.32% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Northen europe i had great desire to visit here

Posted using Partiko iOS