Low Bugdet Travel Tips #1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

If you are following me then you know I travel as low budget as it comes. If you are still not following me, what are you waiting for? I write about how I am traveling on a budget, spending my dollars only on basic needs and getting the most out of every cent.

I´ve been doing this for a while and I think I am getting the hold of it. Sometimes I struggle with this policy of spending only in the needs and not the wants but I think I am managing it as best as a wannabe nomad can.

So, to keep it simple I gathered some of the info I´ve learned in the past days to share it with you, thses tips are my opinion and are far for the rule, they just have worked very good for me:

1. Get the best price in a hostel

Hostels are cheap, we all know that. Whoever travels on a budget stays in hostels. What most people don´t know is that no matter how busy or desserted is the town you are visiting, there is always going to be a competition with the other hostels. It doesn´t matter if there is only 2 or 20 in the area. If you get to their front desk they are going to do almost anything to make you stay with them. Knowing this, bargain. Always bargain. You will get a better price. If you are on a very low budget like me, ask if you can put your hammock or your tent on the roof. Usually they will let you do it for half the price you would pay for a bed in a dorm.

2. Eat local.

As simple as that. We travelers spend the most money in food. You might think that saving money on accomodation is the most important thing to do but no, if you eat in touristic spots you will end up a lot more in food than in your room/bed. So get away from the tourist trap, get yourself lost in town and eat in a local place. The food will be better, you will be helping a humble local to pay the bills but most importantly, you will get to know the real town, not the image the touristic spots try to get in your head that.

3. Meet people.

Well yeah Eric, duh, that´s a no brainer. Great tip Nomad.

Nope, you are meeting tourists that hang out in hostels and have the same agenda as you and a similar budget. You are doing it wrong. You have to meet local people. They know the place. They know the real prices, not the inflated prices the local store gives you because you look white and foreigner. They know how to get to all of the cool spots without paying for a guide. The thing is, even if you look like me (let´s be honest, I could pass as a local in most of Central America), I am still getting ripped off because of my accent. So meeting locals allows you to get better prices at everything, whether it´s tours, food or even a simple souvenir. So befriend the locals, we all have a lot to learn from them. Oh, and a broken spanish is highly and wildly appreaciated by locals, your effort can open a lot of doors for you.

4. Hitchhike.

This one is tricky. It is not meant for everyone but if you are comfortable enough do it. First of all you have to be careful and cautious. You have to trust your instincts. If you don´t trust the person or think you are heading to a sketchy situation you better get the hell off the car. If you are one woman, you will get picked up very easily but you are more vulnerable. I always recommend hitching in pairs. I do it by myself most of the time but when I can convince someone to do it with me I seize the opportunity with both hands. The fun part? You´ll meet tons of friendly locals (apart from the crazy dude who flirts with you or tries to rob you) and you will have a fun time with them!

But most important, enjoy the trip, it is not about getting places, it is about getting the most of every experience, to put it simple, just

Remember, Be Here Now

Sort:  

Couch surfing is another good one!

Yes!! I´l make sure to add it to the next post! I´ve been traying to do it but haven´t had much luck, just twice and for one night.

This post received a 1.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @anomadsoul! For more information, click here!

Thank you for the tips. I didn't know you can ask to stay on the roof of a hotel. :) I'm excited to hear from you about your future travels.

Yes you can! IIf the hostel has a roof with a bar they will probably ask you to set it up every night but if it is just a roof then you are able to keep it on. Thank you for that! I´ll make sure to go through your blog as well :)

Couldn't agree more bro, I'm having the same experience as you except the fact I always go with my girlfriend.

Yeah! I remmeber you are in the mayan riviera right now huh? Already following bro :D

Super your project. I'm very interested to see what happens next. I will follow your blog because you have the audacity.

Thanks for that my friend, I´ll make sure to go through your blog as well!

That was brilliant! I love your post as I am wanting to travel again. My children are now grown and I have a new sence of freedom. Although I have travelled lots in my younger years but I would like to again not in 5* hotels but with the real people and real life.
I am thankful for your advice and find your post most interesting, would love some recommendation on countries that are cheap and friendly. I have been to Sri Lanka, India and Maldive Islands and other countries. I have yet to do Asia, If anybody could give information on some great places, it would make me very happy.
Also being an old time raver, I would love to go and shake my thing on some party Island before old age sets in. 😁🕉🤘

Ohhh ditch the fivers! The real deal is in the poor side of the tourism (as a way of speaking of staying in hostels hehe)

Central America is believed to be cheap, Ive only done belize and Guatemala but so far they are as expensive as México (for me i have my country to compare but if you are in the states or Europe Im sure you will find Central America cheap as hell).
Party Island in Belize is San Pedro! Also you can do San Blas in Panama! Im sure there are some in Costa Rica, I guess I will finf out when I get there!

Come travel to Portland, OR! I finally posted some street art, did you see? Cause you didn't upvote :P

Oh now I saw them!! It would be awesome to go there and have you there to show me your city! I don´t know if I am planning to go the States soon. I have South America and Asia in my bucket first. But defnitely if I swing around I ill let you know!

I've traveled the entirety of my country 4 times. The northwest is the best, not only is it the most gorgeous part of the country it's also the most liberal, environmentally friendly, and inclusive. I love my homeland but hate my country. Don't bother to go anywhere else in the states. Come here so we can give Americans a good name. Let me know, and you'll have a friend waiting : ) Also LOTs of hiking, natural hotsprings, TONS of waterfalls the NW has it all.

Oh, I think there are a lot of places I want to visit! Not only the NW. I have been to a few states before with my family. Hey listen, I need your opinion on something, do you have steemit.chat or how can I send you something to read.

I don't but you could email me at--> [email protected] I'm out and about and can get back to you quicker that way : )

Done, might be in spam inbox :D

I saw them! Upvoted both ;) I actually love street art, wherever I go I try to get pics of every graffiti I stumble upon.

Dude great stuff! I had never thought about the tent on the roof tip!! Do they make you pack it up each day and re set it at night?

Yes you can! IIf the hostel has a roof with a bar they will probably ask you to set it up every night but if it is just a roof then you are able to keep it on. Thank you for that! I´ll make sure to go through your blog as well :)