Lassen Volcanic National Park 5

in #travel4 years ago

Snow!

This is the 5th in a series of posts dealing with Lassen Volcanic National Park in Northern California. You can find the first post titled Sulfur Works here, the second post also on Volcanic Activity here, the third post called Vegetation here and the fourth post titled Heroic Trees here.

Lassen Volcanic National Park is mostly the remains of a volcanic peak that exploded at least 50,000 years ago leaving only jagged peaks and volcanic debris behind it. In the last ice age (ended about 15,000 years ago) glaciers scoured the whole area.

Lassen currently does not have an active glacier but does have 14 permanant snow fields. The elevation is around 8000 feet (2400m) so there is snow here late in the season. I was in the park near the middle of June and I found lots.

Higher up in the park snow was common even though I was very comfortable in a T Shirt. I live in the desert so snow is a novelty for me even though I grew up in snow country. It's pretty when you don't have to shovel it!

Lassen has not very many year round streams but the park is dotted with small lakes like this one, Helen lake. Obviously very accessible as it is just off the road.

Helen Lake is a delightful little lake that was about one half ice free. I suspect that later on in the year it'll make a terrific reflection lake, and it wasn't bad for that in places.

The photos don't really do the lake justice, but you can see some of the reflective qualities in the glass still water.

I really need to come back to Lassen on my motorcycle. The road featured great pavement with lots of up and down and some serious corners. It would make a great ride, particularly with light traffic.

This is a spectacular place to ride. Connie is begging to go, I think I'll let her...

Thanks for staying all the way to the end. I really do appreciate it. In the next installment we'll take a look at some of the Geology and other features in the park.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All.

@sultnpapper Truth Teller and Poker Player.

@jangle Because Jangle A great writer and serious hustler.

@tarazkp Great writing and lots of it!

Sort:  

Long and winding road has some amazing scenery, as you mentioned would make a terrific ride.

Pieces of ice in the mid summer shows just how cold the area must be. Leaves the imagination open to fantastic reflective photography across quiet water when completely open views.

Remote and unusual history of the land changes, fire and ice combination an understatement for this region.

It's really pretty normal for the Pacific Coastal Mountains. Cascades in the north and Sierra Nevada to the south. The 'ring of fire' passes right down the mountain range and there are many that are relatively active.

I haven't been to Crater Lake in 30 years or so, but we went often when I was young. It's a spectacular cone volcano where the hole in the cone filled with water. I'm really thinking this has to be my path north next year. Lassen to Crater Lake and maybe cheat out to the Coast Highway for some fresh seafood on the Oregon Coast. Sounds like a really good trip to me....

Getting off the beaten track exploring places always entertaining to share, not anything like what we experience over here.

Ring of fire sounds menacing not a place to take lightly, scenery from volcanic life makes it uniquely different in vegetation, water colour and surrounds, always enjoy seeing life over the pond through local lens and story line.

Fresh seafood always sounds good!

The 'ring of fire' is a feature that runs all the way around the Pacific tectonic plate. More or less active Volcanoes from Southern California to Alaska and around to Siberia, Japan, on to the Philippines and Malaysia. Lots of earthquakes on the ring, too. It does make some beautiful scenery...

I was in Newport, Oregon where I met a friend. We had seafood that was swimming yesterday! It was wonderful :)

Ring of fire fault line is massive covering many countries and continents, except Africa.

When we have a shake everyone gets excited, you would swear the end of earth was drawing nigh, yes exceptionally rare event!

Nothing beats a good seafood platter, glad you got to enjoy yours.

About that Helen lake? Is it always like that and why it's half free ice? Snow does not yet arrive in your country, right? It makes me wonder also that beautiful road that has green views?

The Park is in the Sierra Nevada mountains in Northern California. It gets massive amounts of snow. The lake was just melting when I was there. I'm sure it's done by now...

The Sierra Nevada are lush and verdant. Green is the predominant color!

Ah, so that was it, that's why the trees and mountains have those amazing green colours. I also noticed the heights of the mountains. Maybe it's so cold there even if there will be no snow.

The altitude is definitely reflected in the temperature. The higher you go, the cooler it gets. Those peaks aren't terribly high (none over 3000 meters) but still up there.

This post makes me miss the snow and hate it at the same time because it's so cold and it makes me step back from journeys most of the time, lol. But I'm blessed to live in a country where we have all the 4 seasons. I can't imagine living in a place where we only have summer and autumn.

You could always learn fly-tying or tune up your motorcycle in the winter :)

I'm really acclimated to the desert. The seasons are there, you just have to look for them a lot more carefully :) The winter is when I do my big hikes and desert exploration. Go and look for elephant trees if nothing else...

In the summer I try to spend at least a month in cooler places. Like this one in this post.

Wow! I had been so much into the post I didn't notice it has come the the end. It almost felt like I was driving around there myself.

50,000 years ago is huge but the park still look so lovely.

Thank you. I really hope to share a cross section of a wondrous place. I'd never been there and I was just mesmerized by the place.

This kind of life is actually by best - Traveling. I haven't just gotten the access to yet.

It is the best. Nothing I like better than going someplace and seeing something new.

Yep, definitely another spot has been added to my bucket list. It is amazing the difference in ecosystems that exist all in the same park! Beautiful shots! You knocked it out of the park with this one!

I think one more post. I just loved the place, and I mean seriously. I have another 'go back to spot'.

Thanks for all the support. I really appreciate it!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #961.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Beautiful post and photos. One thing that stood out to me is a very Canadian saying...

"It's pretty when you don't have to shovel it" .... Lord, how many times I have said this LOL

I agree absolutely! I may be part Canadian. Well except for the Poutine allergy.

Thanks Janelle. Remember that today is Friday, the @galenkp playday...

I am loving this series, and this post in particular such a beautiful area natures beauty shining out

It was just a glorious fun place! The weather could not have been better and it was so beautiful. I took over 300 frames there :)

Wow even for me thats a lot of shots shows how beautiful it was :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great photography. Your journey would had been highly enjoyable.

Thank you. It was just wonderful. I am really looking forward to taking that road all the way to Crater Lake. That should be really fun.

On this trip I turned west and drove out to the coast. It was a glorious drive, too!

Great shots Tom. This looks like a really fun place to take the bike up to as well.

Thanks Wes. I'm really sure that Connie is pissed at me for not putting her on that road. Maybe next summer we'll fix that. The road goes on, all the way to Crater Lake, Oregon. That ought to be a serious ride...

That would be a beautiful ride. Crater Lake is awesome.

Congratulations @bigtom13! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8500 comments. Your next target is to reach 9000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Simply beautiful Tom , thanks for sharing.
Sult

The photos aren’t doing the lake justice you wrote but it’s so beautiful already. This is so different from here I would love to go and explore

I think being there a month later would have made that just a luscious spot. It was pretty nice the day I was there, but I never trust late season snow so couldn't get right down to it. I'll bet the reflections are just awesome right now! And the meadows should be fully in bloom. They were just starting to grow when I was there.