Pautaliya Roman thermal baths and my personal experience

in #travel2 years ago

Hellow folks!

Its being a while since i wrote my last post; crazy situations were happening around me and i am also getting envolved here!

Anyways!

Today i want to talk about the Pautalia Roman Baths of Kyustendil, this is one of most significant monuments remaining from Roman times in Bulgaria. They are second in size only to those of ancient Odessos in present day Varna.

img_0.5828500072728238.jpg

The building was a public bath built in the 2nd century as part of a larger complex used as a healing center called Asclepius, the God of Medicine and Healing. In his honour, the sanctuary "Asclepion" was buit.

img_0.7475387230032237.jpg

An inscription recently found east of the site places construction of the complex during the reign of Emperor Antoninus Pius (138-161).

The Pautalia baths played an important role in Roman urban life. This was a place where people not only bathed, but gathered for all kinds of social interactions, including music, literature, education and sports

img_0.7583292570899146.jpg

(I read The Trajano emperor whent here to heal his skin)

About my personal experience, what i see it was more like a relaxing pool with hot natural water, i really liked it..and i have to admit..(and this is a silly experience)...i thouhgt i was need my swimdress!!!...actually i was using it 🥴...and then i saw all this naked women..instead of feeling daunted, this made me feel more comfortable and liberated, women of all ages, some with babies playing on the water, children and old women also.

img_0.3389164203095707.jpg

I have to say there is nothing similar in my culture but I felt this very natural; there is two pools, I enter into the first one, just closed my eyes and relax, floating for about 20 minutes, then try the hottest pool...but the part what I liked more, and I must accept that I felt invited to do it, was to see people scrub their bodies to remove dead skin, sitting on benches or under the showers...

I knew this was good but I never imagined it was a group practice 🙊

I never saw something similar in my life (and much less participate) but I did so, and I felt a great relief doing it, in fact in a book by Franz Bardon one of his spiritual practices is to scrub your body to remove all the dead skin every day and open the pores to oxygenate and breathe, I found this very healthy and interesting, this practice helps release impurities helping us to regenerate our cells!!

I didn't took a picture of the inside because of the nudity, but i have one in the lockers zone 🤭

img_0.9044163071498574.jpg

I hope it has been liking, any information or experience with thermal baths, can tell me!

Many Blessings 💫

Sort:  

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @cosmic.paradise! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice to see that you are enjoying your time in Bulgaria.