Abandoned Railroad Tunnel: Entrance to a Private, Natural Water Park!

in #travel2 years ago (edited)


A few days ago I posted about the waterfalls in my area, and it occurred to me that I had taken video on many of these occasions. Photos are great, but videos are a lot more immersive (0:

So much fun walking down memory lane! I just realized that in addition to my extensive photo albums, I have turned my YouTube into a video album.

Which is pretty freaking cool :)

This place is so hidden from the public, that unless you know someone local, you would never find it. Even if you are local there's a decent chance you've never been here. It's the privacy for me that makes this absolute magic.

And since it is Wednesday, this is definitely the perfect Walk to contribute to @tattoodjay 's #wednesdaywalk initiative!


This first one is about four minutes long, generally I try to keep these to a minute or less for modern day attention spans, but I have to say I'm glad I made an exception...such a cool place! It's unbelievable that people built this by hand... 250 years ago!! That alone is worth the hike to see it, but the paradise that has grown up around it is the stuff of fairy tales :)


Checking out the tunnel; humming the titanic theme song...gotta love those acoustics! Such Colton quotes as "It's cold on my heinie butt!" And The foreshadowing of Bella's accidental slide down the falls XD


Bella's accidental slide


Quick clip; Sophia takes the GoPro under the falls


Natural waterslide begins!


Quick clip; Close-up on Phi sliding :)*


Quick clip; Splash fight!


My turn to slide, woohoo! Super fun, despite the stubbed toe and losing my shorts hahaha!

Watch this one if you want the long version, 5 minutes- hiking from the tunnel and falls to the slide


The one thing I've noticed as I'm rewatching all of this, I grew way more comfortable speaking behind the camera since then. It's cringy listening to myself ha, not natural to the point where I'm surprised the littles didn't comment on it (far too distracted with our private, and Free, water park)

I actually recall the period when I started to work on that exact thing, I'll have to dig out that clip by the lake on another day :)


I hope you enjoyed this Wednesday Walk, definitely check out the other walks from around the world by clicking this #wednesdaywalk hashtag!


Love you Hive! Peace! ✌️

Sort:  

Off to check the videos out

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

It was a truly inspired idea Jay! I feel the exact same way!

👍🙂👍

have a great day

Given that kids grow up on Youtube in the same way that any of us with tvs grew up with cartoons before school and on Saturday mornings, you talking to yourself/for the camera was probably nothing unusual XP

I'm guessing the rocks must be nice and smooth if you can slither down them :D

I may not get back to watch the videos, I do try for the most part but sometimes that requires rigging up headphones and I'm lazy

Now that's very true, didn't think of that :)

They were smooth, but now you just reminded me that we all ended up having a kind of "roadrash", the water was cold so we didn't notice all the grit until our red legs told the story later haha!

*If you are interested to see any of it, I would recommend just the quick clips they're just a few seconds ;0)