Career reflection at 36,000 feet!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

It’s free-write time. I’m somewhere over Utah at 36,000 feet, traveling to Los Angeles. I do this a lot, but this trip, I’m accompanied by @vermillionfox and @guthrie. That has me in a better mood that usual. I’ve undoubted reached the curmudgeon stage of my career. I still love shooting, but I don’t like planes, I don’t like airports, I don’t like being away from home. We’re attempting to make this a work-cation. I have around 10 shoots in 11 days, in two cities, but I did my best to stack them together. Somehow, I managed to pull off three days in a row with no commitments [...other than a brief stop to Gentleman’s Ave podcast tonight to talk about @wcpublishing’s Dark Pinup].

What can I say? I feel like my career took off ten years too late. If I was single, didn’t have a son and didn’t feel the countless hours in small, upright seats as much as I do, I’d be in heaven. In fact, this is the dream job of most artists I know looking to break in. Everyone wants to get paid to travel and create art, right? I may sound a little jaded, but if you came with me for the last 5 years, you may agree. I’m proud of my career and the body of work that represents it, but it’s come at a high personal cost. It’s not as romantic as it sounds [...or looks on social media]. Enough complaining, though. I’m with my family and we have a lot to look forward to on this trip.

I just spent the last hour drawing a funny novelty for my friend, @thomaskuntzart. That’s one of the things I love so very much about him. He has a persisting, youthful love for the juvenile and immature. I remember last year he told me stories about how he and his friends would draw exquisite corpse fold outs on paper, each of them taking a section and coming up with hideous monsters in their respective third of the paper. The thing is, the kind of artists @thomaskuntzart associates with are legends like Bernie Wrightson. I saw a similar fold out on Instagram a few weeks ago and made a mental note to come up with something for him. A 3 1/2 hour flight is the perfect time to do just that [...even though the women next to me seemed thoroughly disgusted].

While I sketched this, it occurred to that I have haven’t drawn on paper in years. I was trying to remember the last time I’d done traditional illustration. It was during the years I barely eked out a living designing t-shirts for MMA and international death match wrestling companies, CZW, wXw and FREEDOM’s in Japan. This whole subculture is where I met my best friends, @mtbmondo [...legendary in the indie wrestling scene, better known as “Sick” Nick Mondo]. I illustrated, designed and printed @mtbmondo’s first shirt. It sold so well that I was approached by other wrestlers and eventually, entire promotions. Thus began a long, stressful work-horse era of my freelance career.

In 2011, I recall flying to Germany. A 6 hour flight, coming up with multiple iterations of the former WWE and ECW wrestler, Raven. I was a diehard ECW mark [...industry term to describe a fan of the business]. Raven actually hired me to design his new t-shirt. On almost no sleep, I sketched face after face, inked and designed this over the top depiction of Raven sitting on a throne of bones. For anyone that is familiar with Raven, you’ll most likely remember he often wrestled wearing Neil Gaiman’s Sandman shirt [...@cryplectibles, I feel that you'll know all about this]. He was a huge comic book enthusiasts, which was incredible for me. What a high point in a budding career! Getting paid to create something for one of your pro wrestling hero’s and being told “Make it look like a comic book. Something like Spawn!”

I finished the artwork in Germany, crashing on a friend’s floor. I did color separations and emailed them to the printer back in Philly, then took a 4 four train to Paris for one of the most memorable shoots of my career. I’ve actually written about it, so check you “Capturing the perfect photo in a Paris hotel!” if you want that story. All in all, I’ve been reflecting on the path that’s lead me to this very trip. In many ways, it doesn’t seem like it was even this life. That’s seems like an unsettling thought, but I take comfort in it. I grew up in Scranton, PA. Nothing happens and most never leave. Really, when I die, I just want to feel like I took the best opportunities when they presented themselves.

Thanks for reading and helping me burn another hour off this flight. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. An enormous benefit in Steemit for me personally is having the chance to write and reflect on my life. Times that seem so far away they’re almost out of sight. It’s therapeutic to dedicate time to remembering those moments [...or marathons]. I post often. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt.

Sort:  

Lol great little drawing! Bernie Wrightson is the man always loved his work, so much life in his concepts and linework. His BnW work in particular always inspired me. Happy travels!

I totally agree @steemitadventure. When @thomaskuntzart told me he was friends with him, I was overtaken with jealousy. He told me stories about how Bernie used to draw zombies on napkins for his friends when they'd pick up the tab for diner hangs.

Well done... We narration.... I liked it... Go ahead

Lovely foldout picture, not sure why anyone should feel disgusted by it.

HA! I don't know, @scrawly. She was very proper. I don't think that was her taste in art.

Your posts are always so honest and so real. Even if you have gripes about certain things in your life, I can also sense your tenacity and strength. I hope you will be able to enjoy some of your work-cation ! It is always stressing me out when I have to be away from my family, too, so I can relate !

The fold out art is neat :D Haha, it reminds me of those fold out art pages in MAD magazine, very cool :D

I am glad Steemit provide you a chance to sit down, write and reflect. If anything, it is always enjoyable to hear your voice and get to know you through these posts, @kommienezuspadt !

Travel well, and hope to see more from you soon, as always !

Thank you @veryspider. I try to be honest in my writing voice. I imagine a lot of other artists go through the same things I go through. At the very least, maybe my posts are relatable. Yeah, lol. I loved MAD when I was a kid. The fold outs in the back were my favorite. That's the first pencil and paper drawing I've done in years.

You have done so many things in your life! everyone would like to be like you, but as you say, a life like yours has its limitations, it takes time away from your loved ones and you have to do things that you do not like
It's good to let off steam at times like this! and so we know you more, I think your facet as an illustrator of camicetas is incredible, the design is incredible.
How does it feel to take the pencil again @kommienezuspadt?
the pull-down drawing is super I've never tried to do something like that but it should be fun

Thank you @yanes94! I'm grateful for the opportunities I've had to travel, especially with family. Today we went to Santa Monica Pier and it was great. Exhausting, but these trips, especially to LA, feel much emptier without @vermillionfox and @guthrie. You should do a pull out drawing. I'd love to see that! Are you entering the zombie contest?

I have never traveled outside of my country😩! I have not even visited all my country (which has nice places)
It would be incredible to know so many beautiful places and cultures that there are, such as those published by @customnature and @slowwaker. 😊😍
Traveling and enjoying with your family is very nice but when you make many trips and you are away from them it does not feel so good! That is one of the things that your lifestyle has.
One of these days I will try to draw a picture like that @kommienezuspadt, although I do not know how the result will be, I will have to investigate first how it is done.😜😊
If in fact I am working on the first entry of your contest, I have not published much these days, I hope to make the three entries, because I love the theme!😊😍

You shared so much of your life...I agree with your point sometimes we get to do what we always wanted to do...but after a point we get tired off it...
Well most people don't get to do the jobs they love and have to settle for far worse...
You are of the lucky ones...may your life be filled with ever more happiness and thank you for sharing this with us.

Thanks for the kind words, @blog-fictions! I'm grateful. I've had some awful jobs in my day. This is far better on every level. I just use Steemit to vent my frustrations from time to time, but I know how lucky I am. Thanks for the comment.

Your welcome....looking forward to hear more from your life :)

I suppose it can look romantic and desirable to see an artist off jet setting for his passion, but I feel you I don't like flying or airports either and like going somewhere and then being put for months at a time. I've never been one for flying somehwere for a few days, its' the opposite to what I desire

You have amazing work and you definitely desereve all that you have. Maybe in another 10 years we will live so digitally that you can just travel in virtual space and have your bot/digi personna be in the office in CA or NYC whilst you relax in your house in MN, who knows?

I draw so much digitally as well, but I still try to get that pencil on paper most days, they are so interchangeable now, it's become my norm.

Yeah, @donnadavisart! I really hate the waiting, and the crowds and the people, but I genuinely am getting more and more afraid of flying. That really bothers me. Thanks for the kind words about the work. I do hope that day comes. I planned on taking out some of my crypto, staying home, writing and drawing comics for the rest of this year, but the market has crashed and is yet to recover. That's why I'm here. This trip has been great so far, though. I think I needed to vent in this blog, but as of tonight, I can't complain.

It is good to vent and why not make a post about it. Then we often feel better seeing others feel the same and commiserate.

It is too bad about crypto prices, but as long as we keep earning and buying it we hopefully will be rewarded one day, but if not, as long as we can keep trying to earn with what we like to do that's still a pretty good win. Even though it is still work. Sometimes people see 'creatives' job as fluffy easy candy floss sort of life, but that isn't always the case. Hard work is hard work, right?

I hope you arrived safely to your destination! Bisous mon ami!⭐️

We're here @artedellavita. We spent the day at Santa Monica Pier. Any chance you'll be in the area before we leave?

Friend till what day will you be in town? You are approximately 2.5 hours away not too far :)

Finally had a clear head moment to read this post properly. It’s actually one of my favorite of yours, so I’ll resteem a picture of a ticket, even though I prefer to hang other people’s art on my page...like that very cool Raven t-shirt design. 😛

No expectation for reply, this is as much thanking you for your unexpected but much appreciated support, and also for sharing a piece of your past in this post. It was a wonderful read.

I enjoyed the novelty folding art. Time does fly quicker when you’re sketching and I have you to thank for that too. But I’ve gone on about that enough in the past. I actually bring my iPad and stylus with me to work now, just in case I feel like doing some sketching at lunch or on the train . Traditional pencil and paper drawing would not work so well with all the jostling and jolting on public transport. I ❤️ you, digital eraser! Lol

I do think you have an exciting career, but one you’ve worked hard for. Luck comes to those who work for it.

This sentence made the post for me:

Really, when I die, I just want to feel like I took the best opportunities when they presented themselves.

And hey, if I was single, I’d love to hang out with all the gorgeous people, have a reason to explore different locations and be surrounded with interesting conversations, all with the goal of creating something beautiful. That’s the glamour. But I wouldn’t think your job is easy. I think being an artist is exhausting. To have to constantly project from within to be noticed. Not sure if that makes sense, but it’s a thought that occurred to me as I wrote this. So you have my respect that you have climbed your way to where you are. So don’t be unsettled, it should feel like it was another lifetime. You’ve travelled far.

Anyway, I get it about hating the flights. I’ve never enjoyed the travel aspect of my role in the past. When my company sent me to the US for a few months, I cried when I arrived at LAX. It hit me how far away I was from my then-boyfriend-now-husband. Called him on a pay phone in a puddle of pathetic tears. Lol.

It’s tough when our careers take us away from our families. I didn’t go on in my post about this, but another reason I am grateful for my current role was that it would be primarily Melbourne-based. I had expected on wanting to transition back into a full time role in a client-facing position, I’d be forced to travel. For now, I’m relieved it’s not my reality. I wrote this on and off since 4 AM, I seem to be developing a habit of falling asleep doing stuff for Steemit lately. But my 8 y.o daughter came in our room frightened from her nightmare. So she was snuggled up next to me most of the time. She left at some point, and as is typical of this little one, she left a gift on her pillow for me to wake up to. I was still tapping my response, when I turned and saw it. Between your post and her, I’m reminded of how much I love being available for my children. I hope you and your family catch up on some quality time and make valuable memories.

Thank you. ❤️

Here’s her gift. :)
CB866220-1842-4DE8-81E3-8FB678DF0E2A.jpeg

(Yeah, I almost wrote a longer post than yours, consider it a blog within a blog. 🤣)

I think you're never too old to do what you love, plus you're accompanied by your girlfriend and son! What better than that? Nothing really, you enjoy what you do and that way you do not get bored of your work, you are lucky to do what you do and leave Mark to be an excellent photographer :)

Hello! If you try to analyze you are super lucky, you have a family and you are also traveling, the most stimulating is that you travel and make art, I feel happy for you.
For all the anecdotes that ceuntas in this post, I think it's great the adventures that you could have had in your professional artistic life.
Let me introduce myself, my name is Javier Semprun @javisem, I am a portrait artist and I am incurring in other kinds of drawings, to participate in your contest I made a zombie (the first in fact, I had never made one) the drawing you made of the explosive head I liked it a lot, you've won a faithful admirer. Thank you for the support given to my drawing an embrace and fraternal greeting.

Understand very well what you are saying about the other side of success.

Back in the nineties I had to fly a lot. With my main business in Germany and living in Chicago part time, flying became such a drag for me, that I avoid it at all cost today. My bike determines my radius now.. which is quite alright, considering that I could even reach almost all of Asia on land too, if I wanted to..

I still compliment you for creating such a meaningful life for you and consequently for your family. Your career, even with the price tag attached makes their life circumstances better too in the end... just imagine, your son had to live in a place without inspiration, opportunity and perspective. Not saying you wouldn't be a loving father, but money sure makes a lot of things easier :-)

Absolutely love your drawings. Great exquisite corpse by the way. We used to play that all the time. For a while there was a group of artists on deviantart and we'd send our drawings all around the globe to cooperate. The founder of the group was a brilliant drafts... ahm.. woman? I even had her in a (fine)art show here in Germany. Unfortunately it turned out, that she is a complete lunatic. But in a way that was funny too.

Your photos are brilliant, no doubt. But what I really like are your drawings. Tried to find more.. is there a place where you post more of these?