You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More sunshine on the Costa del Sol?

in #travel4 years ago

The verbs and the verb tenses, ufa!!

My old Spanish tutor took the piss right put off me when I didn't know what conjugate a verb was. Lol

Nice win on the hols though!! :0D

Sort:  

I've realised my English grammar is awful and I'm constantly looking up the 'basics', like your example.

To conjugate the present tense verb into the past tense, you typically add -ed to the end. To conjugate into the future tense, you add the word "will" before the verb.

Simple. It's going to take me years to do this in Spanish!

Yeah, that's the ones. It was a sobering experience when I realised that I had no grasps on the very basics of English grammar and my Spanish teacher was better than me and he wasn't even that bright!!!

Yup, I'm going through that experience right now. My 'virtual tutor' is way better at English grammar, it's just boring and seemingly pointless until you try to learn another language.

As you will know from being over there, nothing gets your learning going than attempting to talk to the locals.

I remember so often looking lost when they machine gun talk and hitting out with the puedes hablar mas despacio, por favor? All the bloody time.

One time I thought I was getting good until the barman in the bar that I was talking to tried telling me a joke and for the life of me I just could not get it through the language barrier!!!

That's my favourite line too, although it didn't really help much in the past.

Definitely better to be forced to talk the lingo and be exposed to it - I'm working on it!

Understanding una broma (un chiste!?) though, going to take some time!

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.