Looking for advise from my fellow travelers: best city for digital nomads in South America?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Today, I have a little question for all my travel buddies here on Steemit. I have been to quite a lot of countries and places here in Central America but I actually have not been to South America yet and now I am thinking about moving down there to spend a couple of months at some cool place over there :)

P1151444.JPG

Illustrative photo. That´s me pretending to work on my laptop by the beach in Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain. I can guarantee no digital nomad works like this in real life but we all have this kind of cool photos for illustrative purposes in posts such as this one :D

I haven´t really done any significant research on the topic yet but before I start googling things out, I would like to know what the Steemit travel community have to say about it. So the question for you guys is simple:

What place/city in South America do you consider the best for digital nomads/expats and why?

As for our preferences, we usually go for what I would call the "digital nomad classic" - reliable internet, reasonable prices, safety, pleasant climate, (preferably) seaside area and some activities/things to do and see around.

IMG_20171214_162232.jpg

Illustrative photo. That´s me working (for real!) on the terrace of our apartment in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. As you can see, photos capturing the real life of digital nomads do not look that cool, which is why we have those fake beach shots :D By the way, Playa del Carmen is definitely one of the best locations in Latin America for digital nomads and expats.

As I already mentioned, I have not checked anything yet but some ideas have already popped up in my mind, such as Medellin or Cartagena (both Colombia), Quito (Ecuador) or some cities in Peru, Chile or Bolivia. What do you think about it? I would really appreciate if you could share some tips, opinions, recommendations and experiences with me :) Most valuable comments will be upvoted.

Thank you so much everyone and be safe on your travels!



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

I loved Playa del Carmen too, but only visited it a few days. :) I lived in Chile and traveled pretty extensively in South America. There are still lots of places on my bucket list of course, but just FYI Petr - when it comes to the picks for digital nomads, among those ones I visited, my personal favorites are Medellin of Colombia and Cuenca of Ecuador (seems Medellin is more popular for digital nomads and Cuenca more for retired expats). =)

Awesome, thank you so much for your contribution to this topic Donica :) I am giving Medellin some extra points then :D

Yeah, @itchyfeetdonica always knows the best ;)

Hahaha poradit neporadim ale ta druha ilustrativna a realna foto vyzera podla mna lepsie :D resp lakavejsie :D z tej prvej ma az sem boli chrbat :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Jo tak to jsi odhadl správně - nepohodlné sezení, slunko ti pere přímo do monitoru, omezená výdrž baterky, slabý nebo žádný internetový signál, vlhkost a sůl ničící elektroniku atd. atp. :D Jak říkám - kdykoliv uvidíš podobnou fotku á la "kouzlo digitálního nomádství", je to fake! :D

Be sure to check out Uruguay! Awesome place and beautiful people down here. I'm visiting until February. The following are some photos I've taken while down here. :)

IMG_0281.jpg

IMG_0282.jpg

IMG_0120.jpg

IMG_0326.jpg

IMG_0312.jpg

Cool! The photos look great. Any particular tips on cities/places? How are the prices over there?

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thanks again guys!!! (I would love to trade the upvote for resteem this time though as I would really like to get some response from your community here but I totally understand you only resteem the best posts of the day and that certainly is not the case of this post haha ;)

You should sign up again for Discord and join our server. We have a channel for travel questions!!!!

That sounds like a great idea! Thank you :)

Haha I love the explanation under the first picture, so real! Working outside on a laptop is near impossible anyways, unless you have proper shade. It’s seems like a dream to be poolside with working on a laptop, but the reality is that the work is usually done inside a boring Airbnb 😅

Exactly! :DD Well, inside a boring, hermetically sealed Airbnb in my case as I really need to suppress all kinds of distractions to be able to get some work done :D Cheers to the mundane reality of the nomadic lifestyle :D

On the other hand, as soon as the work is done, the beach is always there waiting for you so I wouldn´t change... ;)

I think it's good that you bring out this side of nomadic lifestyle and working from what most people will consider as a paradise, which it mostly is, but it doesn't matter where you are when you have to work. Work is still work.

https://digitalninomadstvi.cz/cestovani/
Nevím, jestli ti to pomůže, ale tenhle web je to jediné, co znám ;-)

Díky, většinu těchto stránek znám ;) Šlo mi spíš o to, aby se steemiťáčtí cestovatelé podělili o své autentické zkušenosti a zážitky.

Určitě se ti nějací ozvou ;-)

I have never been to South America but I am excited to hear suggestions.

Me too! :) What country would you visit first there?

Ecuador. I have a friend there keeps telling me I should go.He keeps telling me how amazing it is.

Nice! I am also thinking about Ecuador :)

Cuzco :)) A ještě říkali i Arequipa .)

Jo Peru mě láká hodně ale nevím, jak to tam cenově vychází (např. dlouhodobé nájmy) a taky bych asi trochu válčil s altitude sickness :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=looking-for-advise-from-my-fellow-travelers-best-city-for-digital-nomads-in-south-america


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love the pictures! I saw this in the app. I would like to invite you in Crete, Greece to be a digital nomad 😊😊