Return to the Scene - Thracian Cult Complex - Outside Zlatograd, Bulgaria

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In my last post, I spoke about the "energy and an inexplicable sense of belonging" I feel when I am in southern Bulgaria. Today, I am taking you to the place, just outside Zlatograd, where I first experienced those feelings. Last fall, I traveled the country with @brentssanders, and we stumbled upon this Thracian cult complex. The rock formations are fascinating, the views are sublime and there is a bit of creepiness thrown in for extra interest. This year, our travels were supposed to cover new ground but we found ourselves back here and I was thrilled!

We were in search of a baby turtle that Brent had found/rescued last time we were there. Obviously, finding this little guy was a long shot but why not try? We had had enough serendipitous moments in our travels that it seemed completely possible...at least in my mind.

Let's take a look at what we discovered this go round.

OZ 7.jpg
This is the rock that stands out the most in my mind when I think of this place. It looks like a turtle to me but it is billed as a crocodile according to the signage (see next photo).


OZ 11.jpg
I have scoured the internet in hopes of learning more about this site to no avail. If any of you have any knowledge of this place, I would love for you to leave a comment below.


OZ 3.jpg
These rocks look like waves to me. This whole area is filled with similar geological features that have a layer of softer stone below that is more prone to erosion which can result in some pretty spectacular shapes. Here is one of my previous posts where you can see a stone mushroom.


OZ 2.jpg
Here is Brent's advertisement for Primator's EPA...the pale ale for those with discriminating taste. 🍺


Outside Zlatograd.jpg
This is a shot from my previous visit. I wanted you to get a of glimpse across the beautiful valley with the river running through it.


The next few shots will be my journey into the abstract which is where I seem most comfortable.

OZ 1.jpg
More waves of stone here, lapping one on top of the other. The lichen and the creeping vine add to the Mother Nature's spectacular artistry...she is a master of mixed media.


OZ 6.jpg
The forbidden dance!


OZ 8.jpg
Lines and shapes, thick and thin. Those dried flowers captured my attention...so delicate and beautiful to the very end.



Now, here's where things turn a little dark. Well, maybe not dark but, the circle of life is very apparent here. As it was the last time we were here, the hillsides were littered with the bones of various critters that once called this place home.

OZ 10.jpg
Mandible of a dog? A _____________ (fill in the blank). If any of you know what animal this was, please leave me a comment below. Inquiring minds want to know!


OZ 4.jpg
This is the underside of a skull of a bird...possibly a raven. For the life of me, I can't figure out why the heck I didn't get a shot of it flipped upright. Trust me, it was cool!


OZ 5.jpg
This little guy was strewn over a few meters. I brought all of his pieces together to get a better look. I was happy to have found the scales (which I don't think is the correct term) that had popped off the shell.

This one photo has sent me off into a intense study of the anatomy of turtle shells. From what I understand, each "scale" has it's own name but, en masse, they are called keratinous scutes. I've learned something new today.


OZ 9.jpg
Our time here had come to an end and it was time to get down the road. Some others had the same idea. This one moment helped spark a brilliant video game idea with the theme of driving in Bulgaria. You'll be one of the first to know if this idea comes to fruition. 🚗🚒🐎🚕🐢



While we did not find the baby turtle here, we did encounter this handsome little fella walking in the road on our way to another village. Our excursions are becoming so turtlecentric!

Turtle 1.jpg
I got to experience the sharpness of those back claws as I carried him back to where we found him.


Turtle 2.jpg
He was ready for his close-up.


Turtle 3.jpg
Even closer still. Look at those keratinous scutes! Nature is so damn cool!!!


So there you have it...our fantastic return to this place that has such personal significance for me. I have been told that I have lived a past life here and that is why I feel this strong connection. Honestly, I have no idea and am content living in the swirl of mystery (pardon my over-dramatization). It is my hope to return to this place one day, sit on that ridge overlooking the valley and just breathe it all in. I belong there.


!steemitworldmap 41.387363 lat 25.127582 long Thracian Complex Outside Zlatograd, Bulgaria d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

I think it depends from which angle you are looking at the rock. From your photo it really looks like a turtle. From the sign it looks like a combination of a crocodile and turtle :) Not sure how I would call it, a crocotle? :D

All these bones and skulls, yikes! Not for me!

I'm sorry that you didn't find the turtle that you were looking for but at least you saved another one! :)

Thank you for sharing!

Turtodile? :D

All the bones were a bit unsettling. The first time we visited, the bones looked fresh...that kept me looking over my shoulder. The beauty of the place far outweighed the creepiness.

Thank you for taking the time to read my article and leave such a thoughtful comment!

Hi samanthajbarnes,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

What a fantastic surprise! Thank you so much!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=return-to-the-scene-thracian-cult-complex-outside-zlatograd-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Thank you so much for your continued support!

You must be love that place very much for your second visit. The first picture of the rock, it really look like turtle. Felt lucky you have found it and shared it with us. From the pictures you shown, tt seems a hot and sunny day. A day suitable for you to explore the surrounding and found a little turtle. wow.. first time i saw the keratinous scutes, it really fascinating. I wonder will it get deeper or changed when it get older? Thank you for sharing us all these pictures. I do not like hot sun personally, I won't knew there were such place around if you didn't share with us @samanthajbarnes

It was a hot day this time. I usually wilt in that kind of heat but I was so excited to be there that I hardly noticed it. Your questions about the keratinous scutes warrant further investigation. I am guessing they grow and change as the turtle grows.

Thank you for your comment. It is truly my pleasure to share this place with all of you!

Those rocks looks really nice there shapes are something I haven't seen before, quite interesting, especially that one that looks like a turtle and crocodile all together... 😃

The remains of those animals are a bit much, hope you didn't freak out when you saw them?.

I have never had a close up view of the turtle scutes but they have a nice shape, a whole lot of stuff going on there. I can imagine how hard that is.... Great post!

Thank you for the great comment! The rocks are something! This place did remind me a bit of a place back in California. Maybe that is another reason why I felt so at home there.

Since it wasn't the first time I encountered remains there, I managed not to freak out. There were so many though...I can't imagine what goes on there at night!

The close-up view of the shell is really nice. I love macro...it's like it exposes a whole other world that we might otherwise miss.

Oh yeah... That could be the reason, it's always feels great to find places we somewhat feel a connection towards.

I really can't imagine it too, better not to go there when it starts getting dark...

Oh yes, it does give a new perspective to things which we once thought we knew, I am glad I got to see these photos.

I will certainly heed your advice about not going there after dark.

I'm so glad you enjoyed my post!

Thank you for taking into such nice journey, I have never heard that place Thracian cult complex so it was really interesting to see the pictures of unique natural complex, the rocks and stones really reflect the features of reptile, I believe it really depends on us what we could recognize in those stones. I would say for me it also looks more like a turtle but not a crocodile. With all those little bones of animals looks like you could make a scary movie filming in night with a torch light.

I like that little passenger you found, seems like there are plenty of them there. That pattern on the shield of turtles always amazed me because like our finger prints they all have different pattern too.

Beautiful pictures and interesting place, nice for hiking, thank you for your post :)

You are very welcome! Thanks for taking the time to check out my post.

I like how different people see different things in rock formations and clouds, etc. Keeps life interesting. I think I will leave the scary movie making to braver souls. ;)

Our turtle friend was really beautiful. I am glad to have Brent as a travel buddy. He is so comfortable with animals which has given me opportunities to see them up close. I have learned a lot!