Dongdaemun Design Plaza and Zaha Hadid

in #travel7 years ago

20170809

At this time I’d like introduce you DDP in Seoul
DDP is Dongdaemun Design Plaza.
Dongdaemun means East Gate. I already had posted about East Gate.

https://steemit.com/culture/@slowwalker/east-gate-of-seoul-flurish-perfect-virtue-gate

Area around the East Gate was supposed as a underdeveloped place in Seoul. East Gate was believed far from the center of Seoul. I have lived all of my entire life in Seoul. But East gate area seemed to me somewhat underdeveloped area.

I was surprised when I look around the East gate area in this time. There have been still old buildings and old styled marketplace near the East Gate. But this area is changing very quickly compare to other places of Seoul.

You can enjoy historical place. I already posted when it comes to the Walls which was well preserved. Of course you could look around old market place where was not so much changed.
You will understand how koreans were getting through difficult times after Korean war.

What I’ like to introduce to you is the DDP. New York Times had select the DDP the best 52nd place you ever have visited in the world before you die.

DDP was designed by Zaha Hadid. She was one of the great British architect born in Iraq.

DDP was her masterpiece. She show us all her talent in DDP

It is amazing DDP have changed the level of this area dramatically.

I suggest you look around the DDP. You can enjoy the contrast and harmony between the Old and the New.

Here let me show you some photos. But I am sorry I could not take the photos of the DDP properly.
It was out of my ability to draw her masterpiece.

I need to take the photo more times.

Anyway I strongly recommend to look around here, when you visit korea.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

You have taken a lot of time putting all this together this is a fantastic post great pictures and content we love it. Please join our Discord http://discord.me/adsactly

@adsactly i have seen your posts they are superb

Amazeballs! I like the design, very unique. I'm sure Zaha's grandchildren and the grandchildren of her grandchildren will be proud of what their granny did. I can't wait to see it with my own eyes! :D

Zaha is not a person carelessly. The woman who was nicknamed "Queen of Curve" is calculating the true engineering and building structures that he designed, despite having a very futuristic design. Women born in Iraq, 31 October 1950, is always attached to neo-futuristic architecture without angles. I really idolize him. Good post friends.

it seems the The Dongdaemun Design Plaza is a walkable tourist destination with an unique design, @slowwalker.

Often, the use of futuristic architecture can transform a city space into a cultural hub and gathering place. This appears to have happened here.

The plaza features indoor and outdoor spaces and caters to Seoul's commitment to provide car-free zones to encourage pedestrian walkways.

The aerial shot showing the sweeping curve of the structure is magnificent and provides an oasis of green park lawn nestled in the midst of an urban square surrounded by modern buildings.

And again, we do see a vivid contrast between the ancient ruins and the new buildings.

Toronto used a similar concept in designing its new city hall back in the 1960's and we ended up with a flying saucer design set in the midst of an open square, surrounded by clamshell towers.

3994445390_fb23ffa9cc.jpg


So, as you can see, curved design can be quite striking!

Another lovely post, my friend.

In that first pic the building looks like giant tongue. Great design by lady Hadid.

Nice capture. I like the way you captured it on top!! it really beautiful you such a good photographer

This post received a 3.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @lichtblick! For more information, click here!

wow it looks relly great i want to wisit it one day

I hope one day they make a great film about Zaha Hadid. She was a genius who left the world a much better place than she entered it.

I got lost in the first pic, kept staring at it
What a masterpiece

I'm really impressed by the architecture @slowwalker! This is completely different from your earlier post!
Great contrast indeed! We have so much to discover in Seoul!
@progressivechef

Sir, We are very grateful to this. You continue to have success.Please vote for us also. And keep voting. @ahlawat
nice post

Good^^

Visited the building before, it was really the landmark in Dongdaemun and seamlessly connect the different paths of the place. Great #architecture

beautiful photographs

I'm a big fan of Zaha Hadid's work. She's an amazing artist! Thanks for sharing!

Amazing pictures @slowwalker! South Korea seems so enchanting and beautiful. I simply must go there on my next travel.
Dongdaemun Design Plaza is gorgeous! you can see it's build as a masterpiece. Is it easy to get around in Seoul, and how much time do you recommend to have in SK for a good all around trip? upvoted and followed you for sure friend 🙌

Wow))) It's very beautiful))) I've never seen this one))) Thanks, my friend, for the wonderful story!))) My family sends you a greeting from Ukraine))))

This is amazing. Such a shame that neighbour country North Korea is in stone age.

wow, it looks from another world!

wow! Magnificent! It's really a wonderful and impressive plaza! I've never seen something similar, I love it! Thanks for share it with us, @slowwalker ^_^

It's really amazing architecture. You should have taken photos from inside but still the architecture is really nice. I'd love visit here. Apart from historical and archiological location, this one is looking exactly my type. Please next time take photos from the inside.

really she has shown us her talent <3

Maybe one day if i have a journey in your country , i will visit DDP , thanks your sharing !

I never visited this city looks very beautiful thanx for sharing....

Thanks for the interesting story, I liked it. Such beautiful buildings I have not seen.

I would definitely visit that place if i visit korea someday. To see Zaha Hadid's masterpiece in one of the most loveliest countries in Asia would be an experience of a lifetime.

Very Beautiful @slowwalker. That design is unbeliavle. I am sure it looks stunning in person...A drone would be a great way to get that shot. Kinda like the first picture.

UPVOTED mate.

Wow! Dongdaemun Design Plaza is amazing place!

nice. Choi

That's what I call art!

Woww,i like your post @slowwalker

Ooh oohh its luk lika heaven....never seen before this type of architecture

Great shots and beautiful new modern additions. Thank you for sharing.

Oh my god.
This is the work of architectural genius.
It looks absolutely beautiful
Great Photographs @slowwalker

W. O. W..!!!!

woow.. thanks for sharing..
Great shots :)
What a master piece!.. continue please
have a look into my blog, you may like one of my posts :)

That is the most intriguing architecture I have every seen. Wow!!!

WoW! beautiful pictures!

a fun ride thank you

This is amazing

Zaha hadid 💜💜💔😭

Nice photos. Fisheye

What an amazing architect! How true is it the saying that we should not judge a book by its cover. I would have never been able to guess her job or skills!

It is great and is like being there after reading the article and seeing the pictures.

beautiful scenery.
Where the place is. I want to visit ...

There are 2 pages
Pages