An afternoon in London with added zoology

in #travel6 years ago

Last night I met up with some old work colleagues in Marylebone, so I headed into town a bit early to do some exploring. I started off from Stevenage station that is built around a trio of monoliths that may be aligned with ley lines for all I know.

Station

I'd had a look on the map to see where might be interesting to go and found the Grant Museum of Zoology. This is part of University College London, but it's open to the public. Entry is free, but it's only open on afternoons.

Museum

It's really just one room, but it's crammed with displays of animal specimens dating back two hundred years. They are elephant skulls, skeletons of extinct animals and lots of preserved creatures in jars. This is a typical display case.

Display

Some of them are a little creppy, like this kangaroo, but these may have been the only way scientists back then could study animals from around the world.

Kangaroo

There are some real oddities, such as this 'jar of moles'. There was another of giant centipedes next to it.

Moles

I could have spent more time there, but it was full of students and I needed to get outside. I walked west and came across this [memorial to John F. Kennedy].
It had a bust on top, but it seems it was vandalised last year. It almost looks as if someone shot at it.

(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_F._Kennedy_Memorial%2C_London)

Memorial

From there I went to Regent's Park. I can only wonder at how much some of the houses around there must cost. They even have their own private bit of park, but most of it is open to the public. I sat on a bench and did my Inktober sketch. There were lots of squirrels and pigeons around that seemed very tame. Then I spotted a fox. The picture isn't great as I had to zoom on my phone.

Fox

I had a good evening with some old friends at a typical London pub chatting about old times. I hadn't seen some of them in a few years. Eventually I made my way home via Baker Street. There's a statue of Sherlock Holmes just outside. My band has been playing the Gerry Rafferty song Baker Street, so it made me smile. It's one of the old underground stations.

Baker Street

I did a lot of walking that day with about 15,000 steps according to my fitness watch. I might have logged it on Actifit, but I had my phone on low power mode and it doesn't seem to like that.

Steem on!


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #343. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Is it me or are foxes getting more brazen?

They may be more desperate. We had some in our garden this year, but they don't do any harm. We don't put any food out to encourage them. Those in the parks must have difficulty hiding away. They probably get food that people leave in bins.

That museum does look worth ducking out of work one afternoon to look around.
'twas good to see you again Steve

Looks like an interesting place, I find such places fascinating. I have to admit I've never seen a jar of moles before. I recall we had some snakes in jars when I was in school.

I remember the old museum in Bedford had all sorts of stuffed and preserved animals. This is an old-school museum, but still educational. They sort animals by their types with some info about each.

Have you ever visited Tring Museum - endless amounts of dead stuff there. It was great when the kids arrived as I had the excuse to go more often :)

I haven't, but the kids may have been on a school trip. This may be a smaller version.

I don't think I can much handle that jar of moles! That is pretty creepy!

Hi @steevc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.793 which ranks you at #383 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 381).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=steevc
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=an-afternoon-in-london-with-added-zoology-ce336a853962dest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq