Marly Travels #1 - The Streets Of Midtown Manhattan New York πŸ“·

in #travel β€’ 7 years ago

It's more than two weeks ago now that I stepped out of my hotel in Manhattan for the very first time.

However, I still remember every single impression as if it was yesterday.

My jetlack sent me on my first discovery tour early in the morning. It was only 8am but the city was already pumping.

It was my dream to travel there, and now it was real. What a feeling!

Happy @surfermarly discovering The 5th Avenue

The Streets Of New York - Living my dream

To a surfer girl who lives on a small island where not even a highway exists, a city like New York is overwhelming in any possible sense.

My hotel was located in the 57th Street between the 6th and 7th Avenue, so absolutely central.

I love to discover places by foot, so this was my plan for Manhattan, too.

Lucky me I sat next to a New York expert on the airplane that took me over the Atlantic Ocean who recommended me some nice spots. We put my city map in front of us and he told me where to draw an "X" :-)

Awesome!

It was clear to me long before starting the trip that the Times Square would be the very first spot to visit.

Times Square moment

What an incredible place!

All the stories about it seem to be true.

It's a wild and magical triangle. When standing in the middle you actually don't know where to look first.

Blinking city lights and giant billboards frame this crazy, colorful traffic tank. People and cars rush and run and honk and head to whatever destination.

Man, this was far beyond all my expectations!

Walking down the Broadway

Ask me about my favorite daytime in New York and I'd say: the early mornings.

I loved to witness this place waking up.

In fact I will do a painting to eternalize my memories. It will show fancily dressed business people with their perfect suits and dresses, headphones and sun glasses, balancing their coffee cups while running from one avenue to the next.

The painting will furthermore show morning sun rays crossing the scene diagonally.

That's urban beauty.

Midtown Manhattan how I'll always remember it

To me New York is one of the most fascinating destinations I've visited so far.

What really surprised me are the social differences.

Beggars and bankers, rich and poor, the elite vs. the forgotten. Wow! These heavy contrasts really touched me.

Whenever I had some bucks left I gave them away, even though I knew that I couldn't make a real difference or change this situation.

And in the middle of all that overwhelming and unreal chaos a little surfer soul felt more unimportant but happy than ever. "Marly - like Bob Marley" she used to say when they asked to put her name on the coffee cup.

The guy who attended me at Starbucks that time totally got the message ;)

Jobs fill your pocket, adventures fill your soul. - Jaime Lyn Beatty

True story, Jaime Lyn!

After only one day in New York I already felt how my horizon started to broaden considerably.

And there were still uncountable experiences to come.

Stay tuned, steemians cause this was only the very first small step of a long and incredibly exciting journey...:-)

Hugs and kisses from Madrid (stopover)

Marl(e)y ❀️

Sort: Β 

omg - the starbucks note.... definately a sign for Steemit Social Club :)

LOL - yeah let's do that 😁✌️

It is time for it!

haha

Big city :-)

P.E.A.C.E.

Hope i can pay a visit someday.

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

New york is amazing, so many things to see,ill probably be posting a backpacking itineary for new york soon stay tuned

I love the place!!! Been there many times and I'll keep coming back :) Thanks for sharing I'm also a traveller. High-five!!!

beautiful place :)

niceπŸ˜€. follow me @dienhassan

Thumbs up babe @surfermarly

Sounds like you are having a blast. I love NY, wish I wasn't always in a rush when I visited and could spend more time enjoying it. Cheers

:O New York looks nice. I've only ever been to Chicago (briefly). Are you there purely on holiday or for work too?

You look so happy and NYC looks like such an amazing place to visit, soon my steem will get me there! Thanks for the post following...

Love to see that you are traveling in the US. I lived in NYC for 3 months, and there is so much to see and do there!

wo du wieder rumrennst......schΓΆnen Abend dir....

Very good travel. Be me as your friend

Ooh Happy Marly ! What a trip you share here...! I can imagine how exotic it must appear in such a giant town, me living in a medium size charming french city, I would be in NY like in a big amusement park with a thousand things to see and thousands of new solicitations, visual and sounds...
300.png

A very desirable tour by me, I also trip out of town. When I see your tour by meeting friends, I myself have been very keingina to go on a tour like you@surfermarly

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

NYC is a great place to visit, and a great place to live. It's my home town. Always something new to see and do. I'm glad you got to visit!

Sounds lovely, I'd love to travel to New York City some time, it really is such a special city.

Love NYC in the early morning too...so glad you had a great time!! I grew up near there so have been a regular visitor all my life.

wow! that's a blissful tour mehn!....you sound much enthusiast and adventurous.i gat to explore NYC some day.

an interesting read, I work in Manhattan so at times it gets a bit of the same old every day but getting out taking photos and looking for new views keeps it interesting

I like you prefer the mornings as well

so many places i'd like to visit there

Wow, what culture shock it must have been for you. NYC is a busy place. I worked in the city for a few years, commuting from NJ. There is a lot going on in that town. Looks like you had a good time!

Crytsal clear 100% upvoted and resteemed :-) Travel safe.

You are really in for great sites and adventures in NYC. Great city.

Here's to adventures 🍺

Dreams can get there

It looks like you had a lot of fun during your vacation! This is all what vacation is about ^^

I have never been to the USA and would always wanted to know if most places the show on tv is really as amazing in real life. Thank you so much for sharing that adventure, streets looks a lot quieter then usually appears on the movies. lol

@surfermarly
In New York,
Concrete jungle where dreams are made of
There's nothin' you can't do
Now you're in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
Big lights will inspire you
Let's hear it for New York, New York, New York
:)
I encourage you to visit Warsaw, the capital of Poland. It's not as big as NY but I am sure you would love it. Just please check my post about streef food:
https://steemit.com/food/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-1-night-market-the-street-food-gem
cheers!

Seems you had much fun there :D I will go to NYC for sure someday :) But the last days I was in Paris maybe you want check it out :)

Well i like to go there, since i watched "friends" :)

amazing post <3 hope to read more of it! i really enjoy the way how you describe everything!!! i have never been in NY City but its definitely on my list! wishing you a great trip!! grüße aus Karlsruhe :-)

Wow, looks like you had a blast! This city is so freaking photogenic, and you look amazing too!

Dream come true! Good for you...

Marly, like Bob Marley

That must have been a moment 😁

You're back! I just saw that you also have some posts about Vegas and Poker, I will definitely checking them out :)
I'm so glad you had a fantastic time my lovely friend, look forward to hearing more!

The wonderful butterfly on your head on the first photo))

Very beautiful pleace and very nice pic

Yes, it is a Big City. Feels good to share to people that can't pay back. It makes a difference to them you gave to. :)

Thanks for sharing your experiences wit us! Glad you've had a great time! @surfermarley

Sehr cooler Reisebericht. Upvoted and resteemed :-)

@surfermarly..Nice post. Last time I was there, huge protest rallies against Mr.TRUMP :) But great place. As you rightly pointed out a city of contrasts.

Amazing city
How did the Vegas poker go ?